HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi (GA 5/05-3/14)

Active Member
Hi all!
I REALLY need to head to bed (start the new job tomorrow!) but Sushi's #s are concerning me. We're already at 101 @ +4.5. Are we headed for trouble?
Thank you all!
 
Re: HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~

you can feed a bit and test in 30 minutes to see if that gets Sushi surfing.
 
Re: HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~

Libby's right - feed and I expect she'll start surfing. Good luck!

Good luck too with the new job, How exciting!
 
Re: HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~

Hi ashley - no crystal ball to let you know that for sure!

but you've bounced all over to heck and back with sushi's dose - and these crazy numbers are the repercussions of it. He's had 3 skipped shots in 7 days and you've changed the dose from 5.0-5.5-5.25 . . . and the times have moved around too. i know you've had craziness with the new job and all, but there's nothing i can suggest that's going to make the lantus not act like the lantus acts, if ya know what i mean! ;-)

normally you could look at the ss and see the trends/patterns for how sushi might go from +4.5 - +8, but with all the changes i just really don't know what to predict. you can set an alarm and get up to test - i don't know what else to suggest.

but good luck with your new job tomorrow!
 
Re: HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~

I've been chasing him around the house for hours doing all sorts of dances and tricks to get him to eat...he's pretty much been grazing this entire time. Should I give him some dry food just to be safe?
 
Re: HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~

Is it okay for me to move him back to 5u? This is just too much craziness for a cat sitter to deal with...
 
Re: HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~

i don't know. he needs more insulin, but he really needs consistency. it might be better if you dropped it back until you're able to be taking care of him yourself. i don't really feel experienced enough to suggest doses . . . i do know it's better to have a lower dose and do it consistently than to skip and change the doses.

perhaps lowering it to 5 until you're stable and then increasing him to get his numbers into more green range . . . i am just not sure about it, ashley.

i also don't know about the dry food. dry food will raise up his BG and it will be long-lasting, even tomorrow, i would guess, that they'll stay high.

a number in the 100's isn't low. you might be able to just give him some low carb canned and he might surf.
 
Re: HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~

julie1220 said:
perhaps lowering it to 5 until you're stable and then increasing him to get his numbers into more green range . . . i am just not sure about it, ashley.
That's what I was thinking.

Should I give him a little bit of dry food? Would that help our current situation?
I've GOT to go to bed! I'm looking at 5 hours of sleep at best right now, when I have an hour+ commute and I'm starting a new job tomorrow!!
 
Re: HEADED FOR TROUBLE? 8/17 Sushi: PMPS~261|+3.5~106 |+4.5~

Hi Ashley, I haven't see a post in a couple of days. ow are things going and how is the new job? I know this is a hectic time for you and you are doing the best you can for Sushi.

I think Julie is right, it may be best to let Sushi stabilize at a safer dose when you have to depend on the cat sitter, then work on lowering the BGs when you can handle things. %u might be right for now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top