Hard time regulating at 0.1U

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveL

Member Since 2023
Crazy how far this cat has come!! Started in the 700s 5 months ago and I am at 0.1Units now. My range is 50-130 currently.

I have been at this dosage about 4 days now but he has fallen under 50 twice already. It seems to be a lot of babysitting now and I have to continuously give him a high carb treat to bring him back up at that number. Are there any tips at this stage that you can give me? What normally occurs when a cat gets to this dosage?

I am also having a bit of trouble measuring this small of dosage. I have seen the image that several people have sent me but it is still somewhat difficult to measure. I get my syringe to 0.25 and then inch several more drops out of it to try and bring it down to 0.1U but it doesn't seem to be consistent..
 
With those drops under 50 you need to reduce the dose of insulin.
Your next dose is a drop.
To get a drop you press down the barrel of the syringe and put the needle into the bottle. Then let go of the barrel and it should draw up a drop. You will need to test it out a few times before giving.
So try a drop for both cycles and see how that goes.
I would also suggest you give a snack of low carb food at +9 for both the cycles to see if that will bring down the preshot BGs which are still blue. The theory behind that is that if the pancreas is starting to produce insulin, if you give some food, it should stimulate the pancreas to produce some insulin and that should bring down the preshots.
I would also suggest you start to post over on the lantus page where you will get more help.
 
Thank you @Bron and Sheba (GA). The drop did work this morning and i tested it several times. I will try the treat at +9 to try and bring down his preshot BGs. I was posting on the Lantus forum but was not getting a response.
 
Well it doesn't seem like the drop was enough of insulin.. Maybe it is just the first day, I will continue to try this dosage and see if these numbers come down..


AMPS 134
+3 103
+5 110
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top