HANK- 6 MOS. OTJ!!!- BG- 69 :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

bettyandhank

Member Since 2010
Hi Everybody!
Well it’s hard to believe but today is 6 mos. OTJ for Hank!! dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
He seems to be doing great. Somewhere along the way he went from worrying me NOT eating enough when he was first DX’d and we transitioned from dry, …to eating like a hoover vacuum cleaner. Seriously his appetite picked up somewhere along the way, and while he didn’t seem to put on weight, he often now wolfs his food so fast he hardly knows he ate then looks for more. Seems worse lately...always seems hungry.
There have been a few times he’s had me worried, and last night was one. He inexplicably pooped on the bedroom floor right in front of me…when his box is accessible one room away. This is NOT like him. He’s always been such a good boy. He pooped a time or two before in the living room, but had gotten stuck on that side of the house without access to his box. The only other time I am aware of him doing anything like this was when he was obviously sick but hadn’t yet been DX with FD and peed in front of me on the carpet. So of course I was worried…between this and his appetite, was something wrong? But we tested today and he was 69! So eases my mind a bit.
As soon as I got the poop cleaned up last night, he was up on the bed sitting close, loving on me and chilled out as usual..like nothing ever happened. He does not seem sick. What else could it be?

Anyway, we are grateful for this time…for what I hope is his continued good health. I don’t want to take it for granted. I still haven’t been successful getting my civvie off dry but he will at least eat a little canned on occasion now, so happy for that little progress. Hank still eats better than I do and keeping him in it is still a full time job. I’ve kept up with the mini-meals, which I really think make a difference. But there are times he wants a round in the middle of the night so have created a monster in that regard. I do wonder how I will ever be able to leave (haven’t yet) when he eats 5-7 times a day. We still test once or twice a month and so far so good.

Anyway, we are so thankful to everyone for all the support,...we wouldn’t be here without you. The whole thing was a whirlwind & I know we were fortunate.
I still check on you and visit condos when I can even if I lurk more than post. Want to keep up and see how the kitties are doing. Lots of new faces, and sadly not some of the old. I was wrecked hearing about Stu who I adored, and Latte, etc.. We miss everyone.
Just wanted to share this day with ya’ll. It’s a milestone and I am proud of Hank.

Love & hugs to all the kitties,

Betty & hank
 
You should be very proud of Hank! I can't believe it's been 6 mos. already!! So congrats on continuing the good life at the Falls.
 
Hi Betty and Hank! So happy you guys have made it to the 6 month mark! Woo Hoo! It is amazing how time flies!
We are currently coming upon our 5th month which I can't believe.
Who knows what is going on with the pooping, maybe he was pissed about something? If it keeps happening then I would start worrying.
Take care and congrats again! Love you guys!
 
Greetings from Captain Donovan.
He has thrown a few blues at me recently, but otherwise doing OK. Still testing him 3 times a week.

MJ&Donovan
 
No. REALLY?? Six months?!?!? Time flies at the Falls! So happy for your great news, Betty. Give Hank a scritch and an atta-boy for us!
 
Gandolf, recently dx'd with FD, extends a round of a-paws in sincere congratulations. He's thinks that is just what he would like to do too. He would like to ask Hank's bean, if you don't mind, would you expound a bit on the statement:
I’ve kept up with the mini-meals, which I really think make a difference.



What difference, do you think, did mini-meals make? Thank you so much.

Cee & Gandolf
 
Has it really been 6 months??? It just seems like yesterday. It is good to read that hank continues to do well. So very nice! Here's to many more Hank - AWESOME JOB!
 
Congratulations to you guys on reaching your 6 months otj!!! That is great....ummm...would you mind sending Hank over to talk to Spot? I think Spot needs to hear it from as many kitties as possible that he is aloud to be otj for more than a month at a time ;-) ! Thanks so very much in advance :-D
 
Betty,
Happy 6 months OTJ for Hank.
I am so glad to hear that the 2 of you are doing so well.
I got my days mixed up. I don't know why I was thinking Max was the 6th
(probably because his party was the 16th) so I forgot to post his condo :sad:
I'll post one for him tomorrow.
Lots of Hugs and Scritches from us way up in Canada.
Max is having a good time at the falls with Hank.
 
Congratulations on 6 months OTJ! Time does fly by fast. I know what you mean with the mini meals and creating a monster. Maggie still get me up around 3 am even though I've left food overnight for her. I hope you find out what's up with Hank using the bedroom floor as a bathroom. Maybe he just had one of those gotta go really bad episodes.
Take care and have a good week and congratulations, :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Oh hi!
Nice report Betty!
Congrats on reaching that special 6 months milestone Hank!
All the best to you guys!
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT



PS in case these were not answered for the newbies:
What's OTJ? Off the Juice/Remission/diet controlled diabetic kitty :razz:
What's a mini meal? Mini meals are da bomb!
Small meals spread out thru the cycles, ex: AMPS breakfast, +1, +2, +3, +6, +9 small snacks & repeat for PMPS
 
Congratulations, Hank & Betty (Elvis too)!!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Awesomely Amazing... Baby, Sadi & I are cheering you all on!! I agree..... mini meals are da bomb :mrgreen: I feed every 2-3 hours when I am able!!
Cheers to this special day & hope the poo issues clear up soon!!
 
Thanks everybody for the well wishes! :-D I realized last night I'd screwed up and jumped the gun a day (thinking yesterday was the 4th) and TODAY is the actual Annifursary. Was technically still legitimate as we stopped shots PM on 3rd, but didn't officially start counting until next full day when trial began. Either way....this bumps us to his ACTUAL day today...so guess we are milking it! :)
It is our first oldtimer report in LL since we've been at the falls and was so great to hear from our old friends. We can't have an OTJ anniversary without thinking of MAX who was our fellow Whiskateer trial-mate. Looked for you Randi!! (PS..SO EXCITING about your new kitty- congrats!) I keep up with a few kitties on FB but miss hearing the day to day of our old pals. I will tell Hank how great everyone is doing.

I know Sienne, & Michelle & (other) Michelle..6 mos seems to have flown by...& Scrabble is right behind us!
MJ..so glad Donovan is still doing great...and your testing is down from every 5 minutes...ha!
Kathy we miss Kitty & Nicole we miss Baby (& Sadi)..and ya'll are right behind us too!

Glad Ronnie got some of the questions..and yes Cee, to elaborate: I feed Hank mini-meals and have since we were DX & off dry. Nothing precise or exact..but I simply feed smaller amounts several times a day. I think it is better for him & easier on his Pancreas to process smaller amounts at a time. I know when I do the same for myself..eat smaller but more frequent meals, I feel better and helps my weight. He typically gets a round of breakfast when we first wake up, then a 2nd round a couple hours later. In the afternoon he gets 1-2 meals, then same in the eve/night. I am guessing total between 5-8 meals per 24 hour period. When he was first DX and sick his appetitie wasn't great, so I would put food down and he would eat some then graze on the leftovers throughout the day. I would refill pretty much when it was empty. Now he wolfs it down like a hoover, so I just space it and feed him periodically..no set time. I used to leave him overnight food after his last feeding before bed, which he would eat sometime during the night. NOW he would eat that as soon as it goes down. So I just feed late as possible and hope he lets me sleep through the night. That works maybe 50% of time. I do not measure but all in all think he eats on average 1 can a day...up to maybe 1 1/4 cans tops. He would eat more if it were up to him. I add a little warm water to his food..and he NEVER drinks water from a bowl anymore..gets plenty in his food. His fur became lustrous and he lost weight. While I can't be certain, I sense this has made a difference and wouldn't want to rock the boat. Thanks for the congrats and best of luck with Gandolf. You are in the best spot to get the wisdom and support you need to help your baby. There is lots of 'smarts' on this board. Sometimes it didn't make sense to me...and I was scared and in information overload. But they saw where Hank was headed and guided us accordingly. You are in good paws.

Ginger's mommy- you got your answer from Ronnie, but yes..OTJ= off the juice. Ditto above...you are in the best hands here.

SPOTTY...we saw you were back. Yes oh please Deb, let's have them get together for a play date. Hank hardly gets to fly anywhere anymore. Maybe he can share his tips with Spot...lord only knows he holds the key..it's all a guessing game from my perspective. (can't they just TELL us if something hurts, did you eat the wrong thing..etc..) So get with the program Spot, if we can figure out what the program is. We're ready anytime, just say 'when'.

Thanks again to you and all the rest for the Congrats & for sharing with us. We miss you & are rooting for all the kitties.

OOO's
betty & hank


PS: this was fun...we may have to open a condo more often than once every 6 mos! ;-)
 
Hi Betty-

Yay Hank! Good going, dude. It's nice to come back to Lantus and see happy updates. Hank is very lucky to have a Mom who worked so hard to help him get better.
xoxo
 
Betty,
thank you for taking the time out to elaborate on the mini meals for Hank, this is good info for our newbies!
We hope to see you again for your next milestone - LL will always be your home!
:YMHUG:
 
Soooo, am I fashionably late enough for the party? This is such a happy condo and I'm glad to find Hank's anniversary condo. BigMac is purring in agreement and wants some of the cake even though it is low carb. (Who ever heard of a low carb cake?) :lol:

I'm now remembering how funny it was to get you to stop shooting and it makes me smile. Hee, hee. Once you figured out all this insulin stuff and the protocol, you wanted to make sure Hank was REALLY ready for his trial. He was ready... and ready ... and ready. Finally you were ready too and put away the insulin syringe. Of course it was a perfect OTJ trial. Betty you did great and we are so happy for you and handsome Hank.

Hang around and play in the condos, all doors are open for OTJ kitties. It is great encouragement for your buddies here and newbies too. See ya' around and I'll try not to be so late for the next party.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top