primalkitty
Active Member
Got a blue! Yay. Raised to 6.75 last night.
Pre-shot last night 296
This AM 393
+4 188
Pre-shot last night 296
This AM 393
+4 188
Yes, another new baby!! Love the babies.First of all, I'm so glad the cow is okay. Does that mean you have another new baby?
I don't think being a little late on the shot is the culprit. I think Griff is just a little out of sorts for whatever reason and is needing more insulin. As much as you can, keep trying to grab a test somewhere during the cycles - since he's shown he can do well on less insulin (at least for a little while), you'll want to keep an eye on him - keep moving his dose up as he shows those higher mid-cycle tests, but be watching for when he wants to go back down again.
He is doing paw-some! In fact, he is trying to get my attention as I type.....yah, so helpful!! We have 6 calves now, all doing fantastic! And, have been super busy with tours. I hope the next time you are in Spokane you might consider a trip up to visit to meet Griffy and the bison, would love to meet you and thank you in person.Hooray! So good to see some happier colors on his spreadsheet! How is he doing other than numbers? And how are the rest of your critters and tourists?
That would be so much fun! I'll definitely let you know next time I'm heading that direction. I don't have any trips planned over there in the near future, but if I wait long enough, I might be able to say I'm visiting the new state of Liberty!
http://komonews.com/news/local/wash-representatives-want-to-make-eastern-washington-its-own-state
Shooting Prozinc on a 60 would have been rather risky. I think I would have recommended feeding him, waiting an hour, and then testing and shooting a little late. That way he doesn't have to go the whole cycle without insulin, but you can shoot on a safer number (assuming he rose after he ate).
Yes, I would lower the dose a bit. He's probably going to be a little wonky for a few cycles after the NS today, so don't be surprised if he runs high for a day or two.
It's curious that he's going up and down on his dosing needs right now. Thank goodness you're monitoring him!
Hahahaha, that is too funny!How much did you give last night? It's hard to say if you need to drop down to 6.5u since the missed shot might just be making things wonky right now. Although two low AMPS numbers in a row...hmmm....yes, I think I'd go to 6.5u and then just keep monitoring.
Maybe Griff is just causing drama because he's jealous of all the attention the baby bison are getting![]()
Will do, thank you!I agree, try 6.5 and see what that gets you. You can always go up again if needed.