? Griff updates

Status
Not open for further replies.

primalkitty

Member Since 2017
Hello All,

It has been a long time since I posted, so sorry, life through me a couple of curve balls. But, I have been getting Griff balanced, so to speak. We are at 7 units now (sorry, haven't kept up with the spreadsheet....) his pre-shot blood sugar was 112 tonite before dinner.

I don't think I should give him insulin, but wanted to ask the experts :bighug:

Thank you!!

Jessie
 
Additional info: I do have the saved BS numbers in my tester. Will post them tomorrow. Right now, I am burning a very late dinner:oops:
 
Jessie, I'm so sorry, but without recent data, I can't really advise on that. Sometimes you can shoot a full dose on a lower number, and other times it can be terribly dangerous (seizures or worse). Is there any way you can fill in at least the past week of data so we can see what has been happening recently?
 
Jessie, I'm so sorry, but without recent data, I can't really advise on that. Sometimes you can shoot a full dose on a lower number, and other times it can be terribly dangerous (seizures or worse). Is there any way you can fill in at least the past week of data so we can see what has been happening recently?
Sorry for my ineptitude! I have posted the data from 4/15 till now. And, 117 was tonights reading, oops.
 
If he's been at 7u for the non-green cycles, then I think I would give a BCS dose (Big Chicken Shot ;)). That's usually half of the regular dose. I would also really recommend that you get a test around +2 or +3 if at all possible to get a sense of how he's doing and make sure he's safe.

If my assumption that he's been at 7u this whole time is wrong, please post again and let me know what the doses have been.
 
If you skip completely, then based on the green skips, he'll likely be pink or red in the morning. If you give a BCS dose (in this case around 3-3.5u) then he'll still be high, but probably not as high. In addition, if you retest him now, he's likely higher. It's been awhile since we started this conversation. ;)
 
I think I'd still go with the BCS dose and see how he does, but it's entirely up to you. If you'd rather skip, it's okay. You hold the syringe and need to make the decision you feel best about.

You've been doing a great job with the reductions over the past few days. That's letting you get closer to two shootable numbers for AM/PM. You'll hopefully need to go to 6.5u soon. Fingers crossed he keeps heading in this direction!
 
I think I'd still go with the BCS dose and see how he does, but it's entirely up to you. If you'd rather skip, it's okay. You hold the syringe and need to make the decision you feel best about.

You've been doing a great job with the reductions over the past few days. That's letting you get closer to two shootable numbers for AM/PM. You'll hopefully need to go to 6.5u soon. Fingers crossed he keeps heading in this direction!
Will do! Thank you so much, you rock!!!! I am so happy to be going down in numbers.....finally! I will do 3.0 right now
 
Normally I would look at those numbers and assume that he needed closer to the full dose and you would have been okay just reducing by a unit or two. However, given his overall lower trend, there is a possibility that he went lower overnight and those high numbers are from his liver dumping glucose. My hunch is he's high because it wasn't enough insulin, but we can't really know for sure without those oh-so-not-fun middle of the night tests.

I'll be curious to see what he does from here!
 
Normally I would look at those numbers and assume that he needed closer to the full dose and you would have been okay just reducing by a unit or two. However, given his overall lower trend, there is a possibility that he went lower overnight and those high numbers are from his liver dumping glucose. My hunch is he's high because it wasn't enough insulin, but we can't really know for sure without those oh-so-not-fun middle of the night tests.

I'll be curious to see what he does from here!

187 last night and 313 this morning. Will see if I can drag myself outta bed to do a night time. How many hours post shot? Thank you Djamila!!!!
 
Well, pink is better than black at least! Sometimes after a missed or BCS dose, it can take a cat a few cycles to get back to normal. Hopefully he'll settle back down for your soon!
 
So, Giffy Giff's numbers are kinda all over the place. I have not been able to do in between tests...........it's spring on the farm, so much to do. Are there any key times I should shoot for and I will make a point to do the tests??!!!

On the upside, Giffy is really acting like his old self again. He now asks (ummm, demands) to be picked up and carried around. He hasn't done that in over a year!!! :cat:
 
Wow...he really is all over the place, huh? Typically nadir is +4 to +7, so usually you want to concentrate on those hours. Given how bouncy he’s being, I think anything you can get would be helpful data.
 
One more little house-keeping nudge: could you put the doses in the light blue columns like you were doing earlier in the spreadsheet? It's a lot easier to compare the dose to the impact (BG numbers) when they are over there. I know, I know,...picky, picky :rolleyes:. You don't need to go back and re-do the old info, just going forward would be great!
 
One more little house-keeping nudge: could you put the doses in the light blue columns like you were doing earlier in the spreadsheet? It's a lot easier to compare the dose to the impact (BG numbers) when they are over there. I know, I know,...picky, picky :rolleyes:. You don't need to go back and re-do the old info, just going forward would be great!
Ooops, I did go back and add the info in. :D He is staying in the blue in the 180's.
 
Fingers crossed those big swings are settling down, and so nice to see his dose coming down too! Keep going, Griffith, you're headed in the right direction! :cool:
 
Yay! That's a fantastic +6. Way to go, Griff! (and way to go Jessie sneaking away from the farm duties!). I was just over near Spokane about a week ago and things are definitely busy around there! Do you get bison babies?
 
Yay! That's a fantastic +6. Way to go, Griff! (and way to go Jessie sneaking away from the farm duties!). I was just over near Spokane about a week ago and things are definitely busy around there! Do you get bison babies?

Yes! So happy for Griff! And, yes, we have 4 baby bison so far. Love the babies :D
 
Pictures? I bet baby bison are adorable!

Of course I have pictures!! This is Puddin' our head cow with her calf a few hours old :joyful:
 

Attachments

  • puddin and calf2 sm.jpg
    puddin and calf2 sm.jpg
    152.5 KB · Views: 295
Oh my gosh! I'm dying! She is so cute!!! Look at those wobbly little legs! And they're so tiny compared to the full grown mamas!

What makes Puddin' the "head cow"? Do all the cows take a vote and elect a leader? ;)
 
Oh my gosh! I'm dying! She is so cute!!! Look at those wobbly little legs! And they're so tiny compared to the full grown mamas!

What makes Puddin' the "head cow"? Do all the cows take a vote and elect a leader? ;)
I know, they are so flippin' cute! It is fun to see them run around and play!

Puddin' decided she would be head cow, voted for herself and forced everyone to vote for her. Hers was a landslide victory!:p
 
Dang it! :banghead: We were doing so good. On 5/5 evening, Griff got startled when I was getting ready to inject. I wasn't sure how much, if any insulin was administered. Clearly none. =( Numbers are way up now.

Should I increase insulin or ride through the bounce?

PS I changed the title of the post to reflect current situation.
 
Dang it! :banghead: We were doing so good. On 5/5 evening, Griff got startled when I was getting ready to inject. I wasn't sure how much, if any insulin was administered. Clearly none. =( Numbers are way up now.

Should I increase insulin or ride through the bounce?

PS I changed the title of the post to reflect current situation.
Ride out the bounce and try hard for an evening test or two. You saw what 6.5 u can do (green) and you want to know if that has been or will be repeated. Broken record: PSs alone aren't enough to assess a dose. ;)
 
This is a tough one. A few days ago, 6.5u was almost looking like too much with that 59. I'm gonig to think out loud here for a minute, so this might get rambly....

Sooooo.....he is either:
A) getting too much insulin and bouncing by the PS's
B) not getting enough insulin so his PS's are rising

How's that for helpful? It's either too much or too little :smuggrin:

Today's cycle could be a flat cycle after going too low. And your PS numbers could be looking ugly because he's dropping hard in the middle of a cycle somewhere and then dumping glucose to keep himself safe - which gives those ugly PS's.

Or....those reductions were just some little wobble in his journey and he needs you to raise the dose up again.

Or....those reductions were real, but something new has cropped up like a bad tooth or a UTI that has all of a sudden pushed his numbers back up.

My hunch is that he needs more insulin. The reason I'm leaning that way is that on the earlier cycles when you were at 8u, then 7.5, etc., you could see hints that it was too much insulin with the PS numbers going up and down. Right now they are just steadily going up. There's some variation, but not much.

It does seem weird that he'd be going down for a little while, and then suddenly reverse course though. Which leads me to think there might be something going on with his health in some other arena that is impacting this. But again, it might just be one of those things. Cats are weird sometimes. :cat:

So what should you do? I think there are two main choices right now:
1. You could try moving him back to 7u and see how he does. If it's too much insulin he should start to get wonky PS numbers again.
2. You could wait a couple more days, and keep getting mid-cycle numbers from a few cycles in a row to try to either catch a sneaky low number, or "prove" that the mid-cycles are all too high.

The safer option is #2, but in the middle of farming season, I don't think #1 is a terrible choice, as long as you leave some food out for him while you're away all day.
 
This is a tough one. A few days ago, 6.5u was almost looking like too much with that 59. I'm gonig to think out loud here for a minute, so this might get rambly....

Sooooo.....he is either:
A) getting too much insulin and bouncing by the PS's
B) not getting enough insulin so his PS's are rising

How's that for helpful? It's either too much or too little :smuggrin:

Today's cycle could be a flat cycle after going too low. And your PS numbers could be looking ugly because he's dropping hard in the middle of a cycle somewhere and then dumping glucose to keep himself safe - which gives those ugly PS's.

Or....those reductions were just some little wobble in his journey and he needs you to raise the dose up again.

Or....those reductions were real, but something new has cropped up like a bad tooth or a UTI that has all of a sudden pushed his numbers back up.

My hunch is that he needs more insulin. The reason I'm leaning that way is that on the earlier cycles when you were at 8u, then 7.5, etc., you could see hints that it was too much insulin with the PS numbers going up and down. Right now they are just steadily going up. There's some variation, but not much.

It does seem weird that he'd be going down for a little while, and then suddenly reverse course though. Which leads me to think there might be something going on with his health in some other arena that is impacting this. But again, it might just be one of those things. Cats are weird sometimes. :cat:

So what should you do? I think there are two main choices right now:
1. You could try moving him back to 7u and see how he does. If it's too much insulin he should start to get wonky PS numbers again.
2. You could wait a couple more days, and keep getting mid-cycle numbers from a few cycles in a row to try to either catch a sneaky low number, or "prove" that the mid-cycles are all too high.

The safer option is #2, but in the middle of farming season, I don't think #1 is a terrible choice, as long as you leave some food out for him while you're away all day.
Well, I don't think there is anything else going on. I looked at his teeth, fine. He is peeing normally and acting normal.

I will go with option 2. I will be around a lot since we are getting ready for tours. I have an alarm scheduled to get the +4 and +7 during the day. I will try to get some middle of the night, too.

Thanks so much Djamila!
 
Wow those numbers last night are ugly. If he doesn't show a lower blue or green number during the day today, I'd go ahead and increase to 6.75 or 7u tonight.

For the tests today, it can be anytime between +4 and +7, so if +5 or +6 is easier, those are fine too.
 
Wow those numbers last night are ugly. If he doesn't show a lower blue or green number during the day today, I'd go ahead and increase to 6.75 or 7u tonight.

For the tests today, it can be anytime between +4 and +7, so if +5 or +6 is easier, those are fine too.
Yeah, I was not happy about those numbers. I will get some numbers today.

Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top