? Griff updates

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last night 302
This a.m. 453???

Last night his shot was about 1/2 hour-45 minutes late. Had a high risk cow giving birth so had to keep a watch. She did fine. But, could that be the reason his numbers are a little wonky?
 
First of all, I'm so glad the cow is okay. Does that mean you have another new baby? :)

I don't think being a little late on the shot is the culprit. I think Griff is just a little out of sorts for whatever reason and is needing more insulin. As much as you can, keep trying to grab a test somewhere during the cycles - since he's shown he can do well on less insulin (at least for a little while), you'll want to keep an eye on him - keep moving his dose up as he shows those higher mid-cycle tests, but be watching for when he wants to go back down again.
 
First of all, I'm so glad the cow is okay. Does that mean you have another new baby? :)

I don't think being a little late on the shot is the culprit. I think Griff is just a little out of sorts for whatever reason and is needing more insulin. As much as you can, keep trying to grab a test somewhere during the cycles - since he's shown he can do well on less insulin (at least for a little while), you'll want to keep an eye on him - keep moving his dose up as he shows those higher mid-cycle tests, but be watching for when he wants to go back down again.
Yes, another new baby!! Love the babies.

406 just now. Will watch him closely for the next few days and do more mid-cycle tests. Today was hectic since we opened for our tour season.
I think I will do 7 units tonite. As always, thank you, Djamila!!!
 
Hooray! So good to see some happier colors on his spreadsheet! How is he doing other than numbers? And how are the rest of your critters and tourists?
 
Hooray! So good to see some happier colors on his spreadsheet! How is he doing other than numbers? And how are the rest of your critters and tourists?
He is doing paw-some! In fact, he is trying to get my attention as I type.....yah, so helpful!! We have 6 calves now, all doing fantastic! And, have been super busy with tours. I hope the next time you are in Spokane you might consider a trip up to visit to meet Griffy and the bison, would love to meet you and thank you in person.:) We are only about 45 minutes from Spokane.
 
That would be so much fun! I'll definitely let you know next time I'm heading that direction. I don't have any trips planned over there in the near future, but if I wait long enough, I might be able to say I'm visiting the new state of Liberty! :)

http://komonews.com/news/local/wash-representatives-want-to-make-eastern-washington-its-own-state

Yes, please do! yah, not sure about that Liberty state thing...... :confused:

So, this morning got a 60 reading. Did not give insulin. I am sure he will spike tonite. Should I lower his dose a bit?
 
I just did a +6 and it is 404. I wasn't sure if I should have given him a small dose this morning. 60 scared me!
 
Shooting Prozinc on a 60 would have been rather risky. I think I would have recommended feeding him, waiting an hour, and then testing and shooting a little late. That way he doesn't have to go the whole cycle without insulin, but you can shoot on a safer number (assuming he rose after he ate).

Yes, I would lower the dose a bit. He's probably going to be a little wonky for a few cycles after the NS today, so don't be surprised if he runs high for a day or two.

It's curious that he's going up and down on his dosing needs right now. Thank goodness you're monitoring him!
 
Shooting Prozinc on a 60 would have been rather risky. I think I would have recommended feeding him, waiting an hour, and then testing and shooting a little late. That way he doesn't have to go the whole cycle without insulin, but you can shoot on a safer number (assuming he rose after he ate).

Yes, I would lower the dose a bit. He's probably going to be a little wonky for a few cycles after the NS today, so don't be surprised if he runs high for a day or two.

It's curious that he's going up and down on his dosing needs right now. Thank goodness you're monitoring him!

Shoot, I should have tried getting a test after breakfast. Didn't even think about it:banghead: Yah, I cannot figure out why he is up and down. It is driving me cwazy!! I will keep monitoring! Thank you!
 
Well, did get some spikes yesterday as you thought. A.M. pre-shot was 180 and +4 48 Yikes! I lowered insulin to 6.75. Need to go lower. Should I go to 6.5 or lower? I am feeding him now and will re-test to make sure he doesn't go any lower
 
How much did you give last night? It's hard to say if you need to drop down to 6.5u since the missed shot might just be making things wonky right now. Although two low AMPS numbers in a row...hmmm....yes, I think I'd go to 6.5u and then just keep monitoring.

Maybe Griff is just causing drama because he's jealous of all the attention the baby bison are getting ;)
 
How much did you give last night? It's hard to say if you need to drop down to 6.5u since the missed shot might just be making things wonky right now. Although two low AMPS numbers in a row...hmmm....yes, I think I'd go to 6.5u and then just keep monitoring.

Maybe Griff is just causing drama because he's jealous of all the attention the baby bison are getting ;)
Hahahaha, that is too funny! :)

I did 7 units last night since he was in the 500's, then 6.75 this morning. I will go with 6.5 tonite, thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top