Grayson 5/1-5/2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
Hello friends -

Grayson has decided to stay in the upper pinks & lower reds today, so I've been trying to catch him early to shoot. Was going for the 10 /10 / 10, but it's looking more like TID. I did a slight reduction from his 3.0 down to 2.2, and will probably go lower at the next shot to offset the increased number of shots.

Unfortunately, I didn't get home earlier, so I've got no mid-cycle tests to report. He's resting quietly by my feet - temp has increased here, and although there's storms forecast, nothing to show for it yet. He doesn't seem too phased by the weather...I'm glad about that!

AMPS: 393 RU389 Shot 2.2u: fed FFT-1.0
MDPS: 410 RU406 Shot 2.2u: fed FFC-1.0
+2.3 393 RU360
+4 362 RU372
+4 100 mL SubQs; fed FFT-1.0
+6 389 RU397

Patiently ( :roll: ) waiting to hear back on his tests... hopefully this week.
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Hi Lu,
I called the vet on the Friday Klinger's blood samples were sent in and they have the acro results back. I had to wait until Monday for the IAA results to come back.
Sorry Grayson's seeing pinks and reds...
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Thanks for checking in. Patience is NOT my strong suit, so we'll see what their turnaround time is. Did yours go to Michigan State or Colorado? Is it any less stressful once you get the diagnosis?
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Michigan - I think they are the only ones that perform the tests. I felt relieved once we got the results back. I finally was able to give myself a break for not having a "normal" diabetic. I stopped driving myself nuts with all of those what if I...changed his food, shot in a different location, should I increase or reboot. Ugh. All of the stress that goes with those second guesses just melted away. My only regret is that I waited as long as I did to have the tests done. It was a heck of a lot cheaper to get the tests done than getting a dental done to see if that would fix everything. ohmygod_smile Live and learn....
Good news is that it's already Tuesday night. :-D
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Marcy & Klinger said:
I finally was able to give myself a break for not having a "normal" diabetic. I stopped driving myself nuts with all of those what if I...changed his food, shot in a different location, should I increase or reboot. Ugh. All of the stress that goes with those second guesses just melted away. My only regret is that I waited as long as I did to have the tests done. It was a heck of a lot cheaper to get the tests done than getting a dental done to see if that would fix everything. ohmygod_smile Live and learn....
Good news is that it's already Tuesday night. :-D

Good to know - hopefully I'll have something to hang my hat on... and explain some of the craziness in my world!

I looked over your spreadsheets - I can't imagine seeing 5 colors in such a short period of time! I'm usually excited to see a yellow! Hopefully we'll get there! Hopefully Klinger is doing well since his dental experience... Vet checked out Grayson's teeth yesterday, and said that although they could use a cleaning, they weren't bad. Knowing what you went through, I'm kinda leary about it for him. Is he back to what you consider "normal" now?
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Unfortunately, Klinger's not feeling very well right now. He was back to his old self up until Sunday...his vision was back and he was his purring self again.
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

That's encouraging - he's had such a time. I know you're grateful he pulled through - every day is priceless with them! (and yes, I remember my first PM) :oops:

Thanks for keeping an eye on us!
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

+4 362 RU372
+4 fluids & fed FFT-1.0
+6 389 RU397

There's my food spike - hopefully it will be clearing faster than the BG will be rising. Fingers crossed!
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

PMPS (+8) 409 RU414; Shot 1.8
Fed FFT 1.0
NEGATIVE ketones! dancing_cat

Not much of a climb since the food at +4. And in spite of those fluids and food, he still had about a 50 point drop.... which looks flat to most folks. For him, however, it's the low end of average. So, for the most part, this TID test (that started as 10/10/10 test) looks to be so far/so good. Had I realized he wouldn't make it 10 hrs, I'd have cut the dose sooner.

I have to say, the numbers on the ReliOn Ultima have been looking good on these past few days of tests. If only it had been this good last Friday! ;-)

I think Grayson likes getting 3 "meals" a day, + his can w/ fluids. Life is good! He's been sneaky about his litter box visits today - very stealthy!. Hopefully I'll catch him shortly... then call it a night! .... Woo Hoo!!! Negative!!! That has made my night!!!

dancing_cat
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Negative ketones is always great news!
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Woo-hoo for Negative ketones and a 50 point drop! I'll be glad when you get the results back, I KNOW you'll be GLAD!
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Maybe one day soon I can think about seeing green! :mrgreen: In the meantime, it's those little victories we celebrate - just like you said!

Have a good night - don't stay up too late (and Hershey, no crazy low numbers - OKAY???!!!)! My boys are crashed all around me! Time to say good night!
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Looks like Grayson is doing pretty well
Waiting for the test results.....patiently?
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Every night I have high hopes of not staying up too late...and every night I find myself trying to convince Jessica that she needs to get to bed so I can get a nap before testing. But, she's had a lot of papers, projects to get done... :YMSIGH: Making for a build-up of cobwebs in my head!

Sounds like y'all avoided last night's storms. Skies were awfully dark and weird looking in Durham. Our 'storm' was strange and short-lived...not much rain and gone quickly...sometimes that's good, sometimes not so good.

Take care -
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Sounds like TID may be agreeing with Grayson. A 50 point drop for Grayson is good.
Its always hard to wait on test results, it is for me anyway, for myself or furkids, esp. hard if your'e a hypochondriac. :smile:
Hopefully, they will be in soon and you will know one way or another and can proceed from there.
Its hot here too, about 90, but no storms in sight ( Henry says Yay) but very dry, drought-like, so when it finally rains there will probably be some bad boomers.
 
Re: Grayson 5/1

Hey Lu,

Been away for awhile. Looks like grayson is still running high. Sorry to hear this. Did you test for agro? Is this the test you are waiting to find out about? Hope you know soon!

lori
 
No need to start a new thread... Grayson's had a really high day today... can't imagine I gave a fur shot, but it's surely a possibility... or he just refuses to react to anything less than 2u. I reduced from 2.2 to 1.8 last night so as to balance out the 6 total units/day he'd been getting - then shot 1.8 again this morning... apparently unsuccessfully! From here on out, we'll stick w/ the 2.2 or so. I haven't seen a black in AGES!!! This is DEFINITELY the wrong way!

Tuesday
PMPS 409 Shot 1.8

Wednesday
AMPS 397 Shot 1.8
+3 419 (???)
MDPS 501 ?????????? Shot 2.5
 
So after the day started out with what appears to have been a fur shot, Grayson has dropped 130 points. For him - that's HUGE!!! So I guess BGs are like the weather in Portland. If you don't like it, wait 5 minutes (or til the next cycle) and it will change! Hopefully this downward shift (albeit only one cycle) is going to be a trend, and maybe we can get his preshot numbers back down into the lower 300s or God Forbid...YELLOWS!!!

The brightest side of the coin is that he tested NEGATIVE for ketones! Again, this is huge for him. And we're celebrating every little victory! Because of scheduling and his high mid-day numbers, he got the shot rather than the fluids (as was planned). So instead of sticking with the 10 hr schedule, he too is running TID. That wasn't going to be the goal, but we'll see where it takes us! For now, DOWN is the goal!

Wednesday
AMPS 397 Shot 1.8u
+3 419 (???)

MDPS (+8) 501 RU 484 - NOT a mistake. YIKES!!! Shot 2.4u
+4 370/393 RU429/410 Ave=400

PMPS (+8) 371 RU376 Shot 2.4u
NEGATIVE KETONES!!!

No word from the vet RE: tests... I will post as soon as I hear something!

Lu-Ann
 
NEG ketones is more than a little victory! And, dropping 130 is huge for any of our kitties - atta-boy, Grayson! (and Lu, too!!)
 
Summer has arrived in NC, and after putting it off for several warm days, I finally turned the air on today. Grayson is laying right by the register, looking VERY happy!!! The chorus of other kitties is singing "It's about time Mom!!!"
 
Uummm....you got something to share with us yet?
Oops hold on Baxter is right here & wants to tell Grayson something.

Hi Grayson...did you break up with that 2 timing waitress cat(2)_steam at IHop yet? I told you she isnt nice. You really should find a kitty like my girlfriend Hello Kitty. My girlfriend makes lots of money. That waitress girlfriend of yours only make a couple of dollars. Mom said people don't leave tips at IHop just like Sonic. Mom said I have to go. I'm in trouble now. She said I'm not being nice. Bye Grayson I will see you at Waffle House soon. It's the new hang out.
 
They need to get on the ball; don't they know we're waiting patiently to hear some results???
waiting-bored-waiting-boy-smiley-emoticon-000413-large.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top