Grayson 4/7 BAM! - NO EFFECT - any advice from Bammers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
Good morning -

Yesterday I started the new vial instead of doing the BAM! increase of .5u. Today... it's done! Grayson is working on his second can of FF, but didn't even flinch when I shot him with more than I've ever done before. Plus I usually did increases of .2 - so .5 is HUGE for me. Maybe today we'll see more than a flash of high yellow...

We got up at +9, cuz someone [Baxter & Hershey] sent subliminal messages to wake us up (dogs wanted out), since their people had been up! Got some interesting numbers. REALLY high 439/440 and RC 387 BG tests.... then Grayson went to the litter box, took care of all his business, and 10 minutes later registered at 389. Normally I'd have accepted the first and second number - which were really high for him at +9, but this time, I'm inclined to believe the 389. Anyone notice numbers changing from a LB visit? Then also, even though it wasn't much food, to have 1/2 can and then a reduction 3 hours later? Did we actually see a little :mrgreen: ??? Not sure if I'd recognize him, but the writing sure looks like his on the wall! So here's the last 4 hours...

+9 439/440/389 RC 387
NEG ketones (!)
fed FF-Chicken .5 can
AMPS 360 RC365 - Shot 5.0
Fed FF-C 2 cans

Hopefully the kick of a new vial, AND an increased dose, will lead to some movement from the IHOP!
 
Re: Grayson 4/7 Got the BAM! w/ new vial...

Thanks! At least I think we're off on the right foot, as he's had several REALLY red preshots lately. A mid/upper pink is a good starting place. I think back to the vet saying to do a 1u increase when he was at 3.4. I wonder if I'd have seen anything doing that or two .5u increases instead of the gradual increase I did. She didn't explain that that was what she was going for, if she had, I think I might have been more receptive.
 
Re: Grayson 4/7 Got the BAM! w/ new vial...

I think that with the higher flatter cycles that Grayson has he can handle 1/2 unit increases to get things moving.

If it proves to be too much of an increase you can always back down some.

Don't second guess yourself now, you are making the best decisions for Grayson's safety. You are a great fur mom and he is one lucky guy to have you.
 
Re: Grayson 4/7 Got the BAM! w/ new vial...

+2 335 RC339

Hard to believe 2 hours after eating 2 cans of FF, but, I'll take it!!!
 
Re: Grayson 4/7 Got the BAM! w/ new vial...

Okay... still getting some wonky numbers... color-coding the readings I'm actually believing.

+9 439/440/389 RC 387
NEG ketones (!)
fed FF-Chicken .5 can
AMPS 360 RC365 - Shot 5.0
Fed FF-C 2 cans
+2 335 RC339
+3 348 RC342
+4 326/320 RC278/507 (???)
 
Re: Grayson 4/7 Got the BAM! w/ new vial...

+6 348 RC345

Okay, so we're nadiring early..

So I'm thinking about this "BAM!" I'm not seeing any better numbers at 5.0 w/ a new vial as I did w/ 4.5 of the old one. I'm wondering... when most people do a BAM! are they beginning from, say 1 or 2 units? ...where it truly would be like a 50-25% increase - something to make their systems wake up & say WOW!??? As opposed to at this point it's about a 10% increase? I was at least hoping to see blue, but GEEZ! Not even leaving the pinks???
 
Not a bad day, but I know you had wanted more, and dont blame you
I would watch him tonight because there have been times that they dont react initially
but the second cycle is where they drop.....
 
You might have something with the half not being enough of a bam for the higher dose, if you don't get anything then maybe go with the Vet and go one unit
 
I don't know about the others, but the ss looks like a sea of pink.
I am glad you finally increased the dose; I was wondering why you waited so long before increasing.

One thing to keep in mind when you increase is that you may have increase by a large amount of .5u, if you think of the percentage, it was not as big as your smaller increases when you were at a much lower dose..

If you increase from 1u to 1.5u, that's a 50% increase, but if you increase from 2u to 2.5u, it's only 25% and from 5u to 5.5u, it's even less.
 
Just checking in between presents and supper/cake/ice cream! Wish I could offer you some advice, but you're wayyy out of my league; I never know what Hershey will do on a DOSE of .5u, forget an INCREASE of .5u! :lol: But, your thoughts are making a lot of sense as far as comparing by %.

You're doing great looking at all of the possible variables...making my head hurt...or, it could be all the SWEETS I've had the last few days!!!! :lol: :lol:


Disclaimer: I can not be held accountable for the subliminal messages sent out by furry persons living in my house
 
I agree with what Gayle and Cathy said. Today's increase was an 11% increase. Like going up from 1.0 to 1.1 roughly. It's hard to BAM a 4.5 normal dose without freaking out, because a 33% increase, for instance, would have you shooting 6.0u.

I usually look at everything in terms of percentages - increases, decreases, PS to nadir numbers, etc. To me, it's easier than focusing on the specific numbers.
I also look at "colors" rather than numbers, and seeing how many bands of the BG rainbow a kitty crosses during a cycle. Too many different colors in a day seem to cause too much bouncing.


Carl
 
Carl & Bob in SC said:
I also look at "colors" rather than numbers, and seeing how many bands of the BG rainbow a kitty crosses during a cycle. Too many different colors in a day seem to cause too much bouncing.

Well, clearly my monochromatic kitty doesn't have to worry about bouncing!

Doug N Libby said:
Disclaimer: I can not be held accountable for the subliminal messages sent out by furry persons living in my house

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Missed a few tests - taking advantage of great weather for some much-needed yardwork. Here's what I have gotten:

+9 364
fed .5 FF C
PMPS 390/379 RC 346
Fed 2.0 FF C
+1.5 NEGATIVE ketones

I don't usually test til +2, and it's +1.5 now so we'll see if he does better on the second dose of 5.0u. His eyes are big, but otherwise he's looking/acting normal. Just not sure I can stay up too late with him... may have to set the alarm for +4 or +5 and see where he is... Maybe he'll make it all the way to "peach" (301). :roll:
 
+2 362 RC370

Still amazed with that drop 2 hours after 2 cans FF...if nothing else, it's good to see the food clearing before +4. So I AM seeing SOMETHING after all.. it's just crazy that he insists on staying at the IHOP!

Think I'll pick up some seafood flavors tomorrow and see where to set the limbo pole! He'll be thrilled!!! I'm sure he's tired of chicken & turkey/giblets!!!
 
Too much science for my tired brain...Things are winding down here. Jessica is working on a paper for school...Joseph is building the Star Wars LEGO set he got for his birthday...brownies for tomorrow are in the oven...Doug has disappeared somewhere (probably in a SUGAR coma!) and I'm checking up on y'all before getting things together for tomorrow.

I hope you get some rest tonight and have a wonderful EASTER!!!
 
Well, apparently I didn't get up with the alarm (YIKES!), and he may have actually seen at least yellow last night... Dang! I wasn't thinking about it kicking in on the second dose... too much yard work - slept w/o an Excedrin Back & Body... I'll still be feeling it in the morning - but for now, I'm good! Here's his numbers (geez, so close!):

+7.5 305 RC 312 - practically peach!
100 mL SubQs
Fed FFC 1.0
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top