Grayson 3/26 - 3/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Very Active Member
I awoke this morning to the sounds of a STARVING kitty! CLEARLY I'm abusing him by making him wait for breakfast! Anyways, he's about 3/4 through 1.5 cans of FF.

AMPS 419 Shot 4.5

Maybe the larger b'fast will hold him more though the day... maybe!
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

Grayson & Lu said:
Maybe the larger b'fast will hold him more though the day... maybe!

:lol: Good luck with that ;-) My cats would eat like my son, if I'd let them. One day I asked what he eats for breakfast and he said sometimes he skips it, but when he eats an example is a bowl (or two) of oatmeal, sausage gravy and biscuits, bacon and eggs! :o

Have a great day!
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

Come DOWN Grayson! You have been too Flat and High for TOO long!
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

Well, he did good initially... but still not outa the pinks.

AMPS 419 Shot 4.5
ATE 1 can FF (fed 1.5 can)
+4 328
+5 328 (broken record?)
+6 331
+7 312
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

He's lovin' him some pancakes today!
+7.5 311
PMPS 325 Shot 4.5
Fed FF Turkey

Pretty much no movement all day other than the initial drop!

He's clearly told me that he MUST HAVE food mid cycle. I came into the kitchen and he's tried to get into EVERYTHING! Well, everything but the green beans on the stove I probably would've let him have! He had the container out w/ pet meds, dumped all over the floor. Fortunately he didn't eat the dogs' heartworm meds! or open the child proof pill bottles!

Bo (the attack guard cat that hangs out on the front porch - grrrrr! - acheived the middle name "Houdini" after his TNR failure... trap, neuter, ESCAPE - before being released. He got out of a large dog crate about 6 hours before being "sprung" and stayed away for 2 weeks. Apparently he decided he didn't like to hunt so much, and since there was still food/water for him on the porch, he decided perhaps he should become my guard kitty! Anyways, Grayson must've felt left out, not having a middle name and all, so he's working on one... He has learned a new trick... and this one is a problem. I have glass jar canisters w/ the metal ring that holds down on a rubber gasket - like old timey canning jars. Everything in them from spaghetti to Milk Bones. He rolled one onto its side today and opened the latch for the top! I think he's developing opposable thumbs!

Need suggestions for a middle name!
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

Grayson your'e one smart dude, unlatching the lock on the glass canister to try to get some goodies.
How bout Grayson HH (Harry Houdini) ?
Thats so funny about guard kitty on the porch, Instead of TNR, its trap, neuter, escape. Too funny.
My grandma has 3 kitties that live outside that my mother and I TNR'd a few years ago.
One of them a little gray and white tabby she calls "Sassy".
Sassy was not eating much like her mouth was bothering her about a year ago, and my mother took her in for our vet to look at. Now Sassy is friendly and will let you pet her while shes eating and she would come in the back door while grandma was sitting there to eat canned food.
We had trapped her to get her to Operation Catnip for her spay, vacs and ear tip, so she had not been confined since then. On the way to the vet we thought she would burst out of the carrier.
When we got there, they took her out and she got away from them in the room and went WILD..she actually was tearing glass jars off shelves and pictures off the wall, and everyone was ducking, when they caught her the vet says to my mom, run Mrs. Sheely, run to the other room. It looked like a tornado had gone through the room. She scratched the vet, and she had had her rabies shot when she was TNR'd but it had been several years so the vet gave herself a rabies shot.
My mom was embarrased and offered to pay for damages but our vet said no, it was just because she was scared. Hard to believe a 7lb. "Sassy" girl could destroy a room.
Mom gets a card in the mail saying its time for Sassy's annual exam; so far she ignoring it. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

It is so amazing the things they can do when they put their minds to it
or when they feel that you are starving them!
poor Grayson!
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

Well, he didn't convince the dogs to help him get the lid off his Pyrex dish! I thought that was a given, when I didn't see it. ;-)

PMPS 325 Shot 4.5
Fed FF Turkey 1.5 cans
+3 385
+5 321
+6.5 357
+6.75 288 - I'm inclined to believe this... thinking time for a back-up meter!
+6.8 372

100 mL SubQs
Fed FF Cod/Sole & Shrimp 1 can

Grayson is lounging on a diningroom chair, washing his face, wagging his happy little tail, knowing that there's food in his belly - THANK GOD!!! There was such a risk of starvation, you know!
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

hi - i saw your post on the high dose forum about you thinking grayson might have a high dose condition. took a look at grayson's ss. i don't know pzi dosing, so maybe i'm off on this, but on the off-chance that it's helpful to you i thought i'd throw some thoughts out anyway.

as well as high dose conditions, any cat can develop what's called glucose toxicity. it's basically a tolerance to insulin that's caused by the cat being in too high of BG numbers for too long. the more grayson is in high numbers, the more resistant to insulin he might become. that's not the same as iaa, which is when the body develops anti-bodies to the insulin.

just now bumped up the post on glucose toxicity so you can do some reading about it. whether or not grayson has a high dose condition, the basic tactic would be to become more aggressive on dose increases so that his BG gets knocked down into better ranges. there is some evidence that by keeping a cat's BG in lower numbers, it may keep the dose down. i can see you're increasing his dose, and as i said, i don't know PZI dosing so don't know if that's aggressive or not. if you were using lantus or lev, following the protocol, with grayson's current BG numbers, we'd suggest increasing by .5u every 4 cycles until we were seeing some green numbers. then we would slow down with the increases.

i don't want to butt in - every insulin support group has their own way of doing things, but because i saw your post over in the high dose forum (which is basically inactive) i thought i'd chase you down and post. there are several of us with high dose kitties using both lev and lantus in the TR forum. if you want help, just say so. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Grayson 3/26

julie & punkin said:
hi - i saw your post on the high dose forum about you thinking grayson might have a high dose condition. took a look at grayson's ss. i don't know pzi dosing, so maybe i'm off on this, but on the off-chance that it's helpful to you i thought i'd throw some thoughts out anyway.

as well as high dose conditions, any cat can develop what's called glucose toxicity. it's basically a tolerance to insulin that's caused by the cat being in too high of BG numbers for too long. the more grayson is in high numbers, the more resistant to insulin he might become. that's not the same as iaa, which is when the body develops anti-bodies to the insulin.

just now bumped up the post on glucose toxicity so you can do some reading about it. whether or not grayson has a high dose condition, the basic tactic would be to become more aggressive on dose increases so that his BG gets knocked down into better ranges. there is some evidence that by keeping a cat's BG in lower numbers, it may keep the dose down. i can see you're increasing his dose, and as i said, i don't know PZI dosing so don't know if that's aggressive or not. if you were using lantus or lev, following the protocol, with grayson's current BG numbers, we'd suggest increasing by .5u every 4 cycles until we were seeing some green numbers. then we would slow down with the increases.

i don't want to butt in - every insulin support group has their own way of doing things, but because i saw your post over in the high dose forum (which is basically inactive) i thought i'd chase you down and post. there are several of us with high dose kitties using both lev and lantus in the TR forum. if you want help, just say so. :YMHUG:

Thanks! I've finally made it back to work after several days out w/ an ear infection and sinus infection, so I've not even had time to post his numbers today. Will be around later tonight... I'm leaving shortly to meet a grade school-high school friend who's son goes to college here - 1000 miles from where we grew up! Just found out he's here, and she just happens to be visiting! Crazy small world.


AMPS 311/331 Shot 4.5 (couldn't believe it was this low!)
Fed 1.5 can FF Chicken
+3 292
+6 234

Lu-Ann
 
Lu, I have followed Julie and Punkin and can tell you she is very knowledgeable about FD and high dose conditions. I had not actually thought about glucose toxicity and the correlation to larger increases, but I agree with Julie. I have told you that Kitty was very similar to Grayson in the high doses without a lot of response, but it was when I started increasing at larger increments and using tid that we started seeing decent movement. I think she has given you good advice. Some in PZI refer to the large increase as a BAM dose. Maybe this weekend when you can be around all day to monitor you could make a larger increase, test the cycle and see what happens.

I encourage you to continue to reach out to Julie and others and seek their advice-- even if it means starting a new insulin that they are more familiar with and can help you with.

Good Luck!
 
Grayson's middle name needs to be Sherlock- for figuring things out.

My cat sitter has a cat who is old, looks decrepit, his ears are dry and shriveled up, has been run over (by accident- ran under the tires when backing out AND continues to do so), is a mean, ornery old cuss who you don't know if he will hiss at you, glare balefully, or snuggle up to you for cautious petting. Her sons tell Trouble "If you see a light- go toward it!" He once chased a large, adult raccoon into a trapping cage and the animal control people said that raccoon was terrified, grasping the top of the cage at one end while Trouble was curled up sleeping at the other.

Now that's a cat the vet is afraid of :lol: .
 
Well, HE may have things figured out, but he constantly leaves me scratching my head!!! grr_red It's one thing to get an iffy reading and retest, getting something +/- say, 30 points. It's a whole nother ball game to get an 85 point margin! I'm starting to question my meter, so on a wild hare (or is it hair?) I took off for Wally World. Thought we'd get one like Hershey's - his seems to give low numbers :lol: - but am having problems w/ the strip sipping the blood. Hmmmmm... operator error you're thinking? Well, Hershey and I never had any problem w/ his, so maybe it IS the strips. Nonetheless, I'll look at it with clear eyes - maybe at lunch tomorrow and see what I'm doing wrong. In the meantime, Grayson is tired of being poked!!!

Tuesday 3/27 in review:
AMPS 311/331 Shot 4.5u
Fed 1.5 can FF Chicken
+3 292
+7 234 (correction - not +6)
PMPS 359/304/335 Shot 4.5u (I'm calling the 335 as official #)
Fed 1.5 can FF Chicken
+4 390/305 HUH??? Getting new meter...
+5 341

kse said:
Some in PZI refer to the large increase as a BAM dose. Maybe this weekend when you can be around all day to monitor you could make a larger increase, test the cycle and see what happens.

At this point, what would constitute a BAM dose - a full unit? .5? MORE?
 
hmjohnston said:
Grayson's middle name needs to be Sherlock- for figuring things out.

My cat sitter has a cat who is old, looks decrepit, his ears are dry and shriveled up, has been run over (by accident- ran under the tires when backing out AND continues to do so), is a mean, ornery old cuss who you don't know if he will hiss at you, glare balefully, or snuggle up to you for cautious petting. Her sons tell Trouble "If you see a light- go toward it!" He once chased a large, adult raccoon into a trapping cage and the animal control people said that raccoon was terrified, grasping the top of the cage at one end while Trouble was curled up sleeping at the other.

Now that's a cat the vet is afraid of :lol: .


haha_smiley


How is Grayson today? I see his numbers the AM doesnt look to bad.
 
He's being a little bit "piss & vinegar" - I just had a chat with him about why he's so wiggly lately. He implied that he prefers meals throughout the day... not just big ones at shot time - although he likes those too!

I'm really pooped tonight... full day at work, long walk w/ dogs & my old friend, and dinner w/ her & her son. Ironically, she told me that she had had a diabetic cat as well. Said it was on an insulin that was discontinued a few years ago. Vetsulin maybe?

Did a rundown of the day in the last post. Haven't touched SS today.
 
Thats a fun evening. And of coarse you told your friend about FDMB right?

I have to get to bed...tomorrow is my very early morning. 5:30 & Im not a very good morning person. :twisted:

Goodnight. Grayson you have good numbers tomorrow..ok!
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Thats a fun evening. And of coarse you told your friend about FDMB right?

How can one of us have a conversation WITHOUT mentioning FDMB? Of course I shared with her what a godsend this board has been! She thought my vet had recommended it. Unfortunately, while she was dealing w/ her cat's diabetes, she was unaware of it.

Great to pick up w/ an old friend right where you left off - HOW MANY years ago???!!! :o And to see so many parallels in our lives, particularly as they relate to our pets - it was really nice to reconnect! I think last time I saw her was briefly at our 20th HS reunion... in 2000. ...my how time flies when life happens! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top