Got Sophie's results back from Michigan

Status
Not open for further replies.

sbluhrs

Member Since 2012
Don't have the indepth analysis, but her numbers are back. IGF-1 - 293, with 12-92 being normal range, and IAA 61, with <= 20 being normal range.

So, she is both Acro and Insulin resistant. Not news to me, but this confirms my suspicions. The vet we saw today remarked on her small teeth for such a big girl. Looked in her mouth myself, and she's got the typical acro wide tooth spacings. This, with her big paws, weight gain even though her numbers are not controlled (BG in the low 300s to high 200s with 6.5 U levemir) just pointed to this for me. Nice to see the numbers confirm this.

Should have the more indepth analysis from Michigan later in the week and then we decide how to proceed.

Took about a week to get the numbers back, in case anyone was wondering.
 
She is also a huge snorer. Didn't connect that with the Acro until just now. Gee, the things you learn.
 
Sorry about the results, but at least know you have an answer and can move forward. I don't expect you'll hear anything more from MSU. The numbers say it all. My girl had both IAA and acromegaly too. There are things you can do to treat acromegaly, but not the IAA. The IAA should resolve over time, approximately around a year. The antibodies do mean you'll need to be a bit more aggressive around dose increases, and cautious when she earns reductions. Are you following any particular dosing methods? A majority of the acro and/or IAA kitties here follow one of the two methods listed in the Lantus/Levemir forum. Those methods, especially the Tight Regulation Protocol if you can follow it, will help get Sophie's blood sugar numbers into a better range relatively quickly.

For acromegaly, not all people will treat medically. Some just manage with getting to an appropriate insulin dose so that she is spending most of her time under renal threshold. And also manage any side effects of the growth hormone as they show up. Make sure your vet pays attention to her heart health. There are some treatment options, drug treatments, radiation, and surgery that will impact the pituitary tumour itself. Keep reading and learning. Ask questions and hopefully we can help you help Sophie. :bighug:
 
Sorry to hear the results. Acro can be very challenging. Per my signature, Leo had/has Acro and got SRT in Sept 2016. He is very hard to regulate. So my target is to get him nadirs in the 120-150 range and shy away from hypos.
 
She is also a huge snorer. Didn't connect that with the Acro until just now. Gee, the things you learn.
Hindsight is 20/20 for sure. I am in the medical field (human though), and I couldn't believe I did not see Cushing's disease in Frosty before the ER vet mentioned it. Like, it was right there in front of me, staring me right in the face!! :arghh: But it's not always easy to see in your own pet. That's why they recommend medical professionals don't treat themselves or their family! (too many biases).

Anyway, I am sorry to hear about the diagnosis, but at least you have some treatment options now that will hopefully help get his sugar under control. I'll let the Acro experts take it from here... but I'm here for moral support! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top