Glucose curve freestyle libre2 readings

Dennisten

Member Since 2026
Dennis had a libre fitted ten days ago. Three years ago we injected Dennis for ten months. Then went on to senvelgo for two years and now we have been instructed that is no longer working. We had a high fructosamin reading but normal thyroid kidney and urine test.
We just started on 1 unit of prozinc which after 24 hours gave Dennis a very low red reading in the libre graph of 3. We gave Dennis some sugar and food and he quickly recovered. He had not shown any worrying symptoms. Vet instructed to lower dosage to 0.5 which made him more stable but high readings , from 9 to 19 through the next three days. Then we went back up to 1unit which has made him in the too low 3 readings again this is on average 6 hours after the injection. He does bounce back but the graph is very wide from 3 - 19. Does anyone have any advice as we are very concerned for the little fella. Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1729.png
    IMG_1729.png
    148.6 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_1730.png
    IMG_1730.png
    147.1 KB · Views: 10
Welcome to FDMB
We are happy to have you, ProZinc is an excellent insulin for cats it is a 12-hour insulin and gentle on the cat, It takes approximately 2 cycles (2 days) for the dose given to take effect in the system, we recommend increases and decreases in doses of 0.25 units at a time. The CGM is a great tool, however it always read low numbers lower than reality, so we recommend for you to retest with a human meter when this happens, and take the human reading as value, most members use the ReliOn Premier human meter and strips, or any human meter. You do not need a pet meter, too expensive.
Diabetic cats need to have a diet of wet can food between 0-10% carbs, most members feed up to 5%, most members use FANCY FEAST PATES, what country are you from, a feeding schedule is also recommended to keep the insulin in check, feeding 3-4 meals or snack during the day plus the two main meals prior to shot, so since you have the CGM, checking the BG 1-2 hours prior to shot is important to avoid hypoglycemia, if you are not home during the day, a wet food feeder is good, some come with chips and cameras. A non-diabetic cats' glucose level is between 50-120, With ProZinc you can stall the shot up to 2 hours, so it is best way to NOT skip a shot is to check BG prior to shot if the BG is too low, 70 or less, stall, feed 1tsp of low carb food, check BG, and repeat the process until it is safe to shoot, since ProZinc is a 12 hour insulin you will have to adjust the next shot to the same time of the first shot, Giving too much carbs on low BG will cause a bounce and some cats are very sensitive to carbs
If you are feeding high carbs like kibbles and free feeding, you will not get a true BG reading prior to shot, therefore, Dennis should NOT feed two hour before shot. so grazing is not an option
We are very numbers oriented, so we can all be on the same page so we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet, links below, in the spreadsheet, since you are using the CGM, you do not have to place in the cells all BG number, inserting the prior to shot BGs and the 2 hours after shot, and at least 3-4 BGs. is good, this way we can all see how the insulin is working is Dennis's system, ProZinc take about 2 hours to kick in the system, so checking the BG 2 hours after shot is important

You may want to see Corky's spreadsheet link below in blue, Corky he uses ProZinc, he is very tightly regulated, but a lifetime diabetic, and I shoot on low numbers, but that takes time to achieve, you can scroll to the left on the spreadsheet, and you can get an idea what I feed, when and how much, Corky is a very big cat he weights 16.5lbs also, since he eats 4 time a day I feed 1/2 can in each meal, If you give snacks make sure they are also low carb 🫶 Please keep posting, we can assist you in all your concerns including dosing advice

0-10% low carbs / 11-15% medium carbs / 16-24% high carbs

you should also have a HYPO KIT on hand link below, also a food list Is included below we are looking for DRY CARB MATTER CARBS

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Links to FOOD CHARTS
Sticky - jojo and bunny's HYPO TOOL BOX
 
Last edited:
Back
Top