George's Ear Pricks and Numbers

She has given him insulin for me before. I showed her how much but I plan to run through things with her again before I leave. I try to split his meals evenly between 3 or 4 meals a day when I'm not working. Unfortunately some days I don't have a choice but to give him 2x day. His weight seems to have stabilized at 360kcal a day.
I try to space out the meals evenly. So he'll get fed ever 4 hours during the day cycle when possible.
 
Is your roommate familiar with giving the insulin shots. Are you sure that your roommate can accurately draw the dose of insulin. Could you leave a syringe that is filled with colored water (food coloring in the water) and is drawn to the correct dose?will the roommate be available to give food snacks during the cycle?

I am not sure exactly when you are feeding George during the cycles when you are at home— but I highly recommend feeding small amounts of food at +2 and +4.
I unfortunately cannot feed them the same time every day unless I do 2 feedings, one after amps and one after pmps. I try to write down when I do feedings in the notes section of George's spreadsheet. I was out today and couldn't test his numbers until +10 today, but I tested him at +10 and his number was 8.3 (149). I have usually been testing just the one ear on him and decided to try testing with the other one and the few times I have, the numbers seemed lower so I tested the usual ear and it was even lower at 6.8 (122). With these lower numbers, how should I proceed with dosing?
 
I would not worry too much about the difference in the numbers. All glucometers are allowed to have a variance of about 20-25 percent - so the difference between 149 and 122 is within allowable meter variance. You can even see these differences with a single drop of blood. Let me look at the spreadsheet now and see what’s been going on.
 
I unfortunately cannot feed them the same time every day unless I do 2 feedings, one after amps and one after pmps. I try to write down when I do feedings in the notes
Yes. I am talking about feeding George every single day at rwo hours after his shot and four hours after his shot — both morning and night. Many people use automatic feeders to help with this.
 
She has given him insulin for me before. I showed her how much but I plan to run through things with her again before I leave. I try to split his meals evenly between 3 or 4 meals a day when I'm not working. Unfortunately some days I don't have a choice but to give him 2x day. His weight seems to have stabilized at 360kcal a day.
Okay. I understand that usually you can feed the mid-cycle snacks, but sometimes you cannot. I would recommend an automatic feeder because George eating only at AMPS or PMPS could definitely cause his numbers to drop too low.
 
I was running low on test strips and had to get more I was limiting the testing since I needed to wait for pay day. I will be doing more testing after my trip. I'll be gone for 7 starting Sunday so the sheet will be pretty sparse in turns of day time/night time testing. I'm hoping to get my roommate comfortable enough to at least test before shooting but I don't know if she'll get there.
Yes. A pre-shot test would be very good. If his BG was really low, perhaps she should skip the shot. It’s not optimal, but George must be kept safe.
 
I unfortunately cannot feed them the same time every day unless I do 2 feedings, one after amps and one after pmps. I try to write down when I do feedings in the notes section of George's spreadsheet. I was out today and couldn't test his numbers until +10 today, but I tested him at +10 and his number was 8.3 (149). I have usually been testing just the one ear on him and decided to try testing with the other one and the few times I have, the numbers seemed lower so I tested the usual ear and it was even lower at 6.8 (122). With these lower numbers, how should I proceed with dosing?
It’s fantastic to see some blue numbers on his spreadsheet. Those are all very much within the safe zone. It looks like, unless something changes before you leave, his current dose will be safe to continue with.
 
What will your roommate’s availability be during the cycles. Will she be at home to keep an eye on George?
she works from home everyday except Monday's and Wednesday's. I've asked her to to do 4 feedings evenly spaced (amps, +4, +8, and pmps) that's what I do when I am home all day. I'm going to try to get her comfortable testing amps and pmps. an autofeeder is on my list but not affordable right now...do you have any suggestions on which ones are good? I was looking on amazon but none of them have good reviews... a lot of them say they were returned a lot.
 
she works from home everyday except Monday's and Wednesday's. I've asked her to to do 4 feedings evenly spaced (amps, +4, +8, and pmps) that's what I do when I am home all day. I'm going to try to get her comfortable testing amps and pmps. an autofeeder is on my list but not affordable right now...do you have any suggestions on which ones are good? I was looking on amazon but none of them have good reviews... a lot of them say they were returned a lot.
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA which auto feeders do a lot of our members use? PetMate? Others?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Hello! I'm back from my trip and have updated Georges spreadsheet with his AMPS and PMPS that my roommate manages to get while I was gone. His numbers seem to have held steadying in the purple colour range so last night I decided to up his dosage to 2.5. his AMPS today was 17.4 (313). I gave him the 2.5 dose and retested at +5 and he in the blue at 5.8 (104)! regular testing to restart as of today!
 
Hello! Yes, that dose of 2.25 was held too long (but we needed to because you would not be home.) I am confused though. You said at +5 he was 104, but on the spreadsheet, it is in the cell for +8.
 
Get a few tests tonight! Let me know about the timing of the 104. If at +5 then that’s close to nadir probably. If it occurred at +8 then it’s possible that nadir was green and his numbers came up after that — so you see it makes a difference.
 
Hello! Yes, that dose of 2.25 was held too long (but we needed to because you would not be home.) I am confused though. You said at +5 he was 104, but on the spreadsheet, it is in the cell for +8.
That's strange that it's showing up as +8 when you look because when I do it shows +5
I got one test tonight at +2 after pmps. I haven't added those numbers yet.
 
I've just added the rest of today's numbers. I'm also slowly switching him over to a lower carb food. I'm starting with 70% of his regular food and 25% of the new stuff and will stay there for 1 week then reduce to 50/50 for a week then 25/75 for a week and then switch over completely. He'll be going from 6g carb per carton to 0g carbs per can. So I will monitor him closely while I do this.
 
That's strange that it's showing up as +8 when you look because when I do it shows +5
I got one test tonight at +2 after pmps. I haven't added those numbers yet.
I see. You have your spreadsheet set up in half hour increments, which I have not seen done before— so it was confusing to me. I have to scroll back up to the top and see what hour/half hour each cell is. It’s not too bad now but would be a nightmare towards the middle to end of this year when the spreadsheet gets really long. You are correct about the time, of course. So if I don’t remember and say something wacky you may have to remind me about the half hour increments. :)
 
can. So I will monitor him closely while I do this.
Good because you should see a downward trend in his numbers. I don’t see mid-cycle tests for the last few days (daytime). You must have been working all day? Do you ever get home in time for a +9 or +10 test?
 
Ah yes. Sorry about that. I had been reading through some of the threads in the spreadsheets section and one mentioned that you should do that if you read at strange times because if you switch between the US and the world sheets if you do the # @ time it'll show up as #value and not show a number. I'm not sure if I can find the thread again.
 
I'm.home most of the day. I tested at 12 , just haven't gotten to putting it in his sheet. I have somewhere to be at 430 but will be home shortly after.
 
Ah yes. Sorry about that. I had been reading through some of the threads in the spreadsheets section and one mentioned that you should do that if you read at strange times because if you switch between the US and the world sheets if you do the # @ time it'll show up as #value and not show a number. I'm not sure if I can find the thread again.
And definitely don’t worry about finding the thread. It’s all good.
 
Back
Top