Gandalf 5/5 & 5/6 ~ 1.4U

Status
Not open for further replies.
He was still higher yesterday, riding around 300. And again this AM. Not a typo on spreadsheet - his PMPS last night was 301 and it was 301 this AMPS. I've seen that before, but when I've rechecked it, the meter comes up maybe 1 or 2 points different, so it's not a meter issue.

I increased his dose to 1.4U last night. I don't know how much movement he's getting. I only gave fluids in the AM yesterday, would he have been lower this AM if I had given them? Possibly. I gave the 100ml this AM because I saw him drink a fair amount last night. HIs BUN was also higher than usual on his bloodwork the other morning, indicating some dehydration, so I will try to do 75ml a day or 50 Am & PM, which would probably be better, but it's not always possible for me to do fluids BID.

I tried to brush him this AM, which makes him mad. And with acu today, his BGs will probably remain above 250.
 
Yeah, I quizzed the vet about it because I knew from here that it was akin to high carb food and at 66 he did not need HC to me, but she said after anesthesia insulin usage is affected differently. As we have previously concluded, vets are too leery of hypos. But better to be cautious than reckless.

At +10.5 today he was only 90. I didn't get any other tests so don't know if it was lower than that or not. I will return to 1.3U I guess. Hopefully the stresses have alleviated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top