TanyaG
Member Since 2016
Hi all,
I guess I'm looking for some encouragement and perhaps some mutual understanding. I just had a really frustrating conversation with my vet who said I should never be changing the dose after 4 days. She says you only change every 10 days minimum. I told I am following the TR method and belong to this forum. I also said that I'm being safe by taking min 4 BG per day. She said im micro managing my cat and changing the dose like that is wrong, basically that TR method is wrong She's not bothered if I take BG's often and says its unnessasary. She'd basically just supports a one day curve and then random spot checks and you stick with one dose for 10 days at a time. Her and her colleague would have been shoot without knowing tinka's BG which is just crazy. I told her I'm not comfortable doing that and I want to check 4 times a day so I have data and know what she's at before shooting. She seems to think that changing dose that often on TR method means we can't reliably see what affect the insulin is having as she says lots of things can affect BG outside of food and insulin so if you change that often the body doesn't have time to adjust.
Anyways I'm obviously not going to follow her advise. But I'm wondering why she has such an issue with me changing the dose every 6-8 cycles. I told her im changing it as per TR method as Tinkas nadirs are above 200 and under 300. Prior to this I did do about 7 days as she was new to nadirs under 200. See my updated SS. My point is im not being flippent and Im working hard to do TR method as I want best chance of remission for Tinka and it's just disappointing and frustrating getting told off by my vet. She was really annoyed at me. But it's my cat and I trust this forum and feel safe in what I have been doing and posting for advise here, I'm well supported so I'd rather stick to following TR and being on this forum then just randomly sitting at a dose for 10 days while tinkas BG gets out of control and I rarely monitor. That does not seem right to me. Has anyone else had similar issues with their vets? Do vets not know about the TR method?
I'm also switching from pred (steroids) to apoquel and my understanding was she wanted Tinka weaned of pred asap as that's what she said a few days ago but now today she tells me there's no rush to get her off pred and best to get itch under control. I agree with the latter but it is affecting her BG and she just says if Tinka needs higher doses of insulin that's fine. Well that's exactly why im doing TR method becayse she us currently requiring higher insulin levels as we've seen a big increase in her BG from the steroids. She says apoquel can take a week to a month to work so Tinka is now on both apoquel and steroid for coast few days. So now I have to increase the pred again apparently till she has no itch and then maintain dose then taper slowly which will take quite a while prob like 3 weeks. So that's rather disappointing too that she'll have to be on pred a while longer. Anyways if you've read this far thanks for the support!
I guess I'm looking for some encouragement and perhaps some mutual understanding. I just had a really frustrating conversation with my vet who said I should never be changing the dose after 4 days. She says you only change every 10 days minimum. I told I am following the TR method and belong to this forum. I also said that I'm being safe by taking min 4 BG per day. She said im micro managing my cat and changing the dose like that is wrong, basically that TR method is wrong She's not bothered if I take BG's often and says its unnessasary. She'd basically just supports a one day curve and then random spot checks and you stick with one dose for 10 days at a time. Her and her colleague would have been shoot without knowing tinka's BG which is just crazy. I told her I'm not comfortable doing that and I want to check 4 times a day so I have data and know what she's at before shooting. She seems to think that changing dose that often on TR method means we can't reliably see what affect the insulin is having as she says lots of things can affect BG outside of food and insulin so if you change that often the body doesn't have time to adjust.
Anyways I'm obviously not going to follow her advise. But I'm wondering why she has such an issue with me changing the dose every 6-8 cycles. I told her im changing it as per TR method as Tinkas nadirs are above 200 and under 300. Prior to this I did do about 7 days as she was new to nadirs under 200. See my updated SS. My point is im not being flippent and Im working hard to do TR method as I want best chance of remission for Tinka and it's just disappointing and frustrating getting told off by my vet. She was really annoyed at me. But it's my cat and I trust this forum and feel safe in what I have been doing and posting for advise here, I'm well supported so I'd rather stick to following TR and being on this forum then just randomly sitting at a dose for 10 days while tinkas BG gets out of control and I rarely monitor. That does not seem right to me. Has anyone else had similar issues with their vets? Do vets not know about the TR method?
I'm also switching from pred (steroids) to apoquel and my understanding was she wanted Tinka weaned of pred asap as that's what she said a few days ago but now today she tells me there's no rush to get her off pred and best to get itch under control. I agree with the latter but it is affecting her BG and she just says if Tinka needs higher doses of insulin that's fine. Well that's exactly why im doing TR method becayse she us currently requiring higher insulin levels as we've seen a big increase in her BG from the steroids. She says apoquel can take a week to a month to work so Tinka is now on both apoquel and steroid for coast few days. So now I have to increase the pred again apparently till she has no itch and then maintain dose then taper slowly which will take quite a while prob like 3 weeks. So that's rather disappointing too that she'll have to be on pred a while longer. Anyways if you've read this far thanks for the support!
