GA Fructosamine question

Donnalama65

Member
Hi All,
Question: How can fructosamine be low and my daily checks are high? Fructosamine checks average from last few weeks right? Can it be low because he's just crossed the thresholdinto active DM?
 
I don't know if any member can answer that question without you setting up our spreadsheet so they can see your cats BG numbers

Can you set up our spreadsheet here is the link it will also tell you how to use it

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

Also can you set up your signature

Can you please fill out your signature
Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Hi All,
Question: How can fructosamine be low and my daily checks are high? Fructosamine checks average from last few weeks right? Can it be low because he's just crossed the thresholdinto active DM?
Do you have a spreadsheet we can look at to see some BG data. It’s very hard to answer properly questions without seeing data.
A fructosamine test is just the average of the past couple of weeks. The BGs could have been very high and very low. You might just be catching the high BGs….without a spreadsheet to look at we can only guess.
 
@Donnalama65
I see you changed the spreadsheet , the only thing you need to change are the last 2 color codes up top to reflect that you are using a human meter
The dark green should be 50-99
The lime green should be BG<50
You can change them yourself :cat:
Also add SLGS to your spreadsheet up top where it asks you

You definitely need to get some tests in after his PMPS , as of now you are only seeing half the picture . Try and get some more tests in during the day cycle also, you want to see if you can catch how low he is dropping , the nadir

Have you read about Vetsulin
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/I see you are giving Elura , which I never heard d of it , does Ruedi have kidney disease ? If so please add that to your signature . I read on your introduction post you said he has a heart murmur if so I would add that also

Curious what does Away FIP 100 mg SID mean in your signature
I was reading about it and it said



It can raise blood glucose levels


Yes, the appetite stimulant Entyce (capromorelin) can potentially raise blood glucose levels in cats, particularly in healthy cats, and may not be suitable for diabetic cats.
Here's a more detailed explanation:
  • How it works:
    Capromorelin, the active ingredient in Entyce, stimulates appetite by acting on the ghrelin receptor, which is involved in hunger and satiety signals.
  • Effects on glucose:
    Studies have shown that capromorelin can disrupt glucose homeostasis in cats, leading to:
    • Blunted first-phase insulin responses: This means the body's initial response to a rise in blood sugar is reduced.
    • Increased glycemic variability: Blood glucose levels become more unstable and fluctuate more.
    • Impaired glucose tolerance: The body struggles to process and utilize glucose effectively.
  • Specific findings:
    In a study of healthy cats, capromorelin treatment led to a decline in insulin secretion and glycemic control, with an increase in glucose variability early in treatment.
  • Caution for diabetic cats:
    Because of the potential for increased blood glucose, capromorelin may not be a suitable choice for cats with diabetes or a history of diabetes.
  • Other potential side effects:
    Besides glucose-related issues, other potential side effects of capromorelin in cats include increased body weight, hypersalivation, vomiting, and lethargy.
  • Use with caution:
    If your cat has liver or kidney disease, heart disease, or a history of pancreatitis, use capromorelin with caution and consult with your veterinarian.
Capromorelin, sold under the brand names Entyce and Elura, is a medication used for the management of weight loss in cats and dogs.

Just wanted you to be aware of what it said


I wonder if there is any other med to give to stimulate his appetite
 
Last edited:
@Donnalama65
I see you changed the spreadsheet , the only thing you need to change are the last 2 color codes up top to reflect that you are using a human meter
The dark green should be 50-99
The lime green should be BG<50
You can change them yourself :cat:
Also add SLGS to your spreadsheet up top where it asks you

You definitely need to get some tests in after his PMPS , as of now you are only seeing half the picture . Try and get some more tests in during the day cycle also, you want to see if you can catch how low he is dropping , the nadir

Have you read about Vetsulin
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/I see you are giving Elura , which I never heard d of it , does Ruedi have kidney disease ? If so please add that to your signature . I read on your introduction post you said he has a heart murmur if so I would add that also

Curious what does Away FIP 100 mg SID mean in your signature
I was reading about it and it said



It can raise blood glucose levels


Yes, the appetite stimulant Entyce (capromorelin) can potentially raise blood glucose levels in cats, particularly in healthy cats, and may not be suitable for diabetic cats.
Here's a more detailed explanation:
  • How it works:
    Capromorelin, the active ingredient in Entyce, stimulates appetite by acting on the ghrelin receptor, which is involved in hunger and satiety signals.
  • Effects on glucose:
    Studies have shown that capromorelin can disrupt glucose homeostasis in cats, leading to:
    • Blunted first-phase insulin responses: This means the body's initial response to a rise in blood sugar is reduced.
    • Increased glycemic variability: Blood glucose levels become more unstable and fluctuate more.
    • Impaired glucose tolerance: The body struggles to process and utilize glucose effectively.
  • Specific findings:
    In a study of healthy cats, capromorelin treatment led to a decline in insulin secretion and glycemic control, with an increase in glucose variability early in treatment.
  • Caution for diabetic cats:
    Because of the potential for increased blood glucose, capromorelin may not be a suitable choice for cats with diabetes or a history of diabetes.
  • Other potential side effects:
    Besides glucose-related issues, other potential side effects of capromorelin in cats include increased body weight, hypersalivation, vomiting, and lethargy.
  • Use with caution:
    If your cat has liver or kidney disease, heart disease, or a history of pancreatitis, use capromorelin with caution and consult with your veterinarian.
Capromorelin, sold under the brand names Entyce and Elura, is a medication used for the management of weight loss in cats and dogs.

Just wanted you to be aware of what it said


I wonder if there is any other med to give to stimulate his appetite


Hi Diane-

Thank you for the information. He is currently in ICU at the ER as of yesterday, 4 vets and 2k later, they still can't figure out what's going on with him. Considering Euth today if no improvement. He's been on Away FIP since we had a cat die of FIP in Jan and he had some symptoms. It's hard to diagnose and often the tx can be diagnostic in and of itself. He has infiltrates on Lung rads, is wasting physically, no appetite, thrombocytopenic, but bw is pretty unremarkable otherwise, U/S unremarkable, all vets concur that BG and fructosamine are not necessarily pointing to DM. He's had little to no response to Vetsulin yet, BG has not gone above 312 even w/o insulin and they have to account for an hr car ride and being in the hospital and being poked, proded etc. They were going to give mirtazapine last night to see if they could get him to eat. Waiting for vet to call and give me and update. he's on fluids and they were doing a BG curve last night. Could be some other sort of endocrine dz. , pituitary mass possibly.
Thank you for your insight and concern. I'll keep you all posted.
 
Last edited:
Hi Diane-

Thank you for the information. He is currently in ICU at the ER as of yesterday, 4 vets and 2k later, they still can't figure out what's going on with him. Considering Euth today if no improvement. He's been on Away FIP since we had a cat die of FIP in Jan and he had some symptoms. It's hard to diagnose and often the tx can be diagnostic in and of itself. He has infiltrates on Lung rads, is wasting physically, no appetite, thrombocytopenic, but bw is pretty unremarkable otherwise, U/S unremarkable, all vets concur that BG and fructosamine are not necessarily pointing to DM. He's had little to no response to Vetsulin yet, BG has not gone above 312 even w/o insulin and they have to account for an hr car ride and being in the hospital and being poked, proded etc. They were going to give mirtazapine last night to see if they could get him to eat. Waiting for vet to call and give me and update. he's on fluids and they were doing a BG curve last night. Could be some other sort of endocrine dz. , pituitary mass possibly.
Thank you for your insight and concern. I'll keep you all posted.
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Sorry to hear your kitty is in the ER.:bighug:. I hope they run more thyroid tests on him. On the previous thread it mentioned the one thing I've heard for low fructosamine, which is hyperT. Not all hyperT cats are ravenous. It does not sound like a pituitary mass - which my kitty had, and lived with for 5 years.

FYI, the spreadsheet you used is for use with a pet meter, like the AlphaTrak. For a human meter, like the Relion you are using, there is a separate spreadsheet. At the moment it's not a big deal, as long as people notice you are using a human meter.
 
@Donnalama65
Oh Donna I'm so very sorry. I know you did everything you could. He couldn't have asked for a better mom. I did the same with my Tyler and his brother Perry but I had to let them go also.
We hate to let them go but we don't want to see them suffer. I hope Ruedi is chasing butterflies with all the other kitties that have passed.
Fly high sweet Ruedi you will be missed but never forgotten.
Take care of yourself Donna :bighug::bighug::bighug::rb_icon:cat_wings>o
 
I’m so very sorry to read this sad news that you had to let your beloved Ruedi go. He was such an adorable boy; I can see that from the photo. He had a lot of complicated things going on. It’s so unfair. He was way too young to pass away. I am really really sorry.
 
@Donnalama65
Oh Donna I'm so very sorry. I know you did everything you could. He couldn't have asked for a better mom. I did the same with my Tyler and his brother Perry but I had to let them go also.
We hate to let them go but we don't want to see them suffer. I hope Ruedi is chasing butterflies with all the other kitties that have passed.
Fly high sweet Ruedi you will be missed but never forgotten.
Take care of yourself Donna :bighug::bighug::bighug::rb_icon:cat_wings>o
Thank you.
 
Back
Top