Freya's ProZinc Saga, Vol. II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aw she is so adorable! I love her little box fort!

I'm with Djamila here...I think holding the dose for a few cycles might be a good idea. I'd just like to see what happens with that as right now it gave you at least one nice preshot...
 
Well, so much for that. :eek: It's worse than even I expected and I'm a pessimist. 346 (19.2) at +2. :arghh: I'll check her again tonight, but do you think I should go ahead and increase, given this new development?
 
I think I was getting a little too optimistic. Of course see where she goes tonight and tomorrow's morning numbers, but all things being normal, yes, I think you can go ahead.

If she goes lower at mid-cycle though....(I'm just so determined to be optimistic here!).
 
Dang! I was hoping this was going to be our breakthrough. Let's see where she goes tonight...maybe this was just a food spike??
 
Well, I was apparently so wiped out that I slept through the entire night, including the alarm to test her at +6. I have insomnia so this is really unusual for me. o_O I think I'm just drained lately.

It seemed like people were curious what the 4.5u would do last night -- as was I, though I really doubt she got as low as she did during the day. As a compromise between that and 4.75u, she got a fat 4.5u this morning. She's also trying the Smilla kitten food for the first time today at +4, so I'm curious to see how that goes too. If I don't see anything interesting this cycle, she might get an increase to 4.75u tonight.

Dang! I was hoping this was going to be our breakthrough. Let's see where she goes tonight...maybe this was just a food spike??
It would be odd since that Smilla variety hasn't tended to spike her in the past, like she's gone from yellows to greens on it. :confused: Very weird. I wonder if it was just some kind of violent bounce since she hasn't hit blues for that long in ages. I mean that was probably more than seven hours of blues in a row.

I still think today was good progress :)
Yeah, at least she spent several hours out of those yellows. I wonder if the fat dose today will do anything different.
 
Teasel tends to wobble around nicer numbers as I get closer to his good dose for a given point in time. If I'm too far from the good dose he might throw the odd nice number but spends much more time in high bounce numbers. How short/long his bounce episodes are is an indicator of how close I am to a good dose. Yes, he's on Lantus and that might be a factor but I think it's a trend that bouncers in general will follow.
 
This +4 is looking much more like it should! I hope her new food doesn't screw it up... :nailbiting: Guess I should get to the store quick so I can test her again in an hour and find out. It's weird, part of me almost hopes she doesn't get too far into greens all at once, as that tends to send her bouncing like mad and "sticking", as @Kris & Teasel put it. I wonder if gradually working cats like this down to blues and then to greens would keep them from bouncing to those high flats. :bookworm: So confusing. Still, looks like it could be a good day!
 
The food doesn't appear to have caused any major issues. I'll have to experiment with it vs others some more. :bookworm: It's good to see two days with blues, even some mid-blues; maybe she'll be able to come down from those a bit smoother than the high yellows. My current plan is to give her another fat 4.5u tonight, since that did seem to bring her down some compared to the regular 4.5u previously. Then maybe 4.75u in the AM, depending on how that goes. Though I do wonder if I should try to keep her at these numbers for a couple cycles longer, to see if that helps her system acclimate itself to sub-2oo ranges after being higher for so long? ugh idk, just trying to figure out what's likely to be best and keep her from the sticky bounces.

Update: And she's back to her usual pattern of late. 274 (15.2) at +8.
 
Last edited:
Yes, one of those plans is good. I don't know which one either though :):bighug::p

On one hand I'd say keep moving with the dose since holding still seems to feed into the stuck-ness. But you're absolutely right that moving too fast could send her bouncing. But she's so close to getting a nice mid-cycle drop that I'd be inclined to press forward anyway. But...

So going back to my original thought: yup, one of the plans is good. But which one is anybody's guess!

Sometimes you just have to look at your kitty and go with your gut. I know that's not much help. :oops:
 
Yes, one of those plans is good. I don't know which one either though :):bighug::p

On one hand I'd say keep moving with the dose since holding still seems to feed into the stuck-ness. But you're absolutely right that moving too fast could send her bouncing. But she's so close to getting a nice mid-cycle drop that I'd be inclined to press forward anyway. But...

So going back to my original thought: yup, one of the plans is good. But which one is anybody's guess!

Sometimes you just have to look at your kitty and go with your gut. I know that's not much help. :oops:
But it's the truth! ;)
 
Ugh you guys, she's seriously bouncing from those blues! Red PMPS. :arghh::arghh::arghh: Similar to last night's response, just higher... and today's AM cycle was lower than yesterday's, so that might make sense. She got a fat 4.5u again -- maybe closer to 4.75u than this morning's. It's hard to tell when eyeballing.

Bah! I hope it's like the last bounce, where it didn't stick...
 
I second the hugs from Yong. Hang in there! And considering how high she started, that's not a bad drop at +4.
 
Breathe, Blair, breathe ... :cat:
I second the hugs from Yong. Hang in there! And considering how high she started, that's not a bad drop at +4.
Hahah I know, and thanks. It was just like... seriously?! You didn't even get that low!

After the red PMPS, I managed to get her to play pretty hard for about 20 minutes, maybe a little more if you count some of her less enthusiastic lazy play. :rolleyes: She was interested in a scrap of ribbon I unwrapped from something, so I took advantage and got her to chase that and her whip around the flat. She even did a bunch of flying leaps and dives onto and across the bed... at one point so vigorously that she slid too far and fell off! I thought maybe some exercise would help bring her BG down since she was in a playful mood. She needs to build her muscle back anyway after the wastage, but she's not always feeling up to it.

This morning she got... uh... possibly one of @Yong's fat skinny doses?! It was more than a fat 4.5u, I think, but maybe a little less than 4.75u. It was closer to 4.75u than the past few days, so I just put it in as that on her spreadsheet. o_O After that dumb bounce from a mid-blue, I thought I'd see what happens if I keep her at this dose for a cycle or two more. She needs to adjust to the idea of being OUT of the renal threshold. :facepalm:
 
Aww that sounds like fun play! I think anytime you can get her to play some, it's a good thing. And also, it shows you that even with those higher numbers, she feels okay still...okay enough to play at least!
 
Okay honestly wtf????

I go to take her PMPS, it's 149 (8.3). Okay, another 20-minute stall, then food and shot, right? Nope. She's mad the whole 20 minutes, angrily huffing and puffing, and I test her again. She was STILL dropping, to 133 (7.4)! It's encouraging to see that her pancreas is probably doing A Thing, though god knows what that thing is. I might try keeping her around this dose and see if she continues to get into these blues, then work her down slowly. Notice that despite bouncing, she hasn't been sticking lately, which is great news for her. Still, I wish she could've had a shot tonight. I don't like her going without, but there was just no way! Very interesting stuff from the little weirdo.
 
Okay honestly wtf????

I go to take her PMPS, it's 149 (8.3). Okay, another 20-minute stall, then food and shot, right? Nope. She's mad the whole 20 minutes, angrily huffing and puffing, and I test her again. She was STILL dropping, to 133 (7.4)! It's encouraging to see that her pancreas is probably doing A Thing, though god knows what that thing is. I might try keeping her around this dose and see if she continues to get into these blues, then work her down slowly. Notice that despite bouncing, she hasn't been sticking lately, which is great news for her. Still, I wish she could've had a shot tonight. I don't like her going without, but there was just no way! Very interesting stuff from the little weirdo.
You're getting traction!! :D
 
From the look of her PM +2.5, she doesn't APPEAR to be shooting dramatically back up... yet. Seems like when it happens, it's pretty sudden, so maybe I'll get lucky and she won't. My hope is that she'll not go too much higher and stay yellow until her next shot. Considering she ate and didn't get a shot tonight, that's not too bad a number right now.

So it looks like Freya isn't interested in smiley shaped curves. She's going to wiggle her way lower with her own special pattern! ECID!
No kidding! :eek: I did a a double-take at that second PMPS attempt, hahah. It has me very curious to see what she'll continue to do at this dose. Since her body is clearly responding and taking some action of its own, that makes me hesitant to push too hard with increases -- especially since she's so sensitive. She'd be quite a case study. :rolleyes:
 
Argh... squeezed in a mid-cycle test out of curiosity. So much for my hopes of yellows through the night. :blackeye: Nothing I could do about it though. At least she shouldn't be bouncy in the AM, I guess. But first, back to sleep I go!

Oh, I noticed the polyuria was much better after the final litter scooping tonight, which I'm glad to see! It's so bad overall.
 
Yucky high pink AMPS. :( Same approximate and ambiguous dose as yesterday (I think?!). She also got a little more food today since I suspect some slight weight loss is starting again. Once she's not all lazy from her full belly, I might try to coax her to play again to help her come down from that pink.

After that bad PM rise the other night, I ordered her some ketostix, and they'll be arriving today. I'll try to pick them up from town later. How do you guys go about doing that? I don't think I could get a sample from her while she's doing the deed. I do still have an eyedropper thing from last time. I used the "fake" reusable plastic cat litter that time but found it such a nuisance to wash. Is there an easier way, or does anyone have any tips or tricks?

In more pleasant news, I've gone back to lie down for a short rest since she kept me from getting a full night's sleep, :rolleyes: and she's LEFT HER FEEDER (!!!) to curl up by my side and purr. Guess she's not feeling too gross despite the numbers. And maybe the bit of extra food has her more content.
 
There's different ways to collect the sample from them. Some people crumble up some plastic wrap where they normally go and can grab a sample from where it pools on that (but you have to catch them before they bury it!). Others have a long handled spoon (clearly labeled) that they use to stick under them and grab the sample! I usually managed to get the sample while Gypsy was going but she was pretty easy going...the others wouldn't be nearly as easy!
 
Re the urine sample: I use a long handled spoon (Teasel's own!) under his bum when he's peeing because he's quite relaxed about me watching him. It works really well. I'd try the crumpled plastic wrap trick if I had a more "modest" kitty.
 
Compliments to Kris, Maury has his own piddle spoon too :D. My issue is he doesn't seem to keep a consistent schedule so a week flies by between ketone testing :woot:
 
I'm honestly amazed at the suggestion about the spoons. It's cracking me up, but it's strangely genius. I'd have never thought of that!
Just buy yourself a cheap metal or plastic long handled shallow kitchen spoon, not a ladle. Teasel's has his name on it and it lives beside the litter box. Heaven forbid it should ever make it back to the kitchen! :eek:
 
Ended up not being able to pick up the ketostix yesterday but will have them today for sure.

I had a whole debate with myself while drawing up her insulin this morning. Ultimately, I decided to see what would happen on 4.75u at this AMPS. The pre-shots are slowly coming down, and this was the lowest AMPS in well over a week. It's worth a try. If there's no movement today, she'll start 5u tonight or tomorrow (depending how tired I am). I don't want these yellows gaining too much ground. We've seen what happens if they do. :nailbiting:
 
Erm, I guess I made the right choice. o_O She hasn't even played today, so that's not an exercise drop. Is that not kind of a big drop from her +4, especially considering she ate after that test? I'll watch her and test again at +7 and so on as needed. Wtf is this cat doing?! I swear...

And now unless a miracle happens, she'll shoot back up and threaten to stick. :stop: That's the worst part because with how she sticks up there, it's hard to tell when to increase after that starts. I feel like every time this has happened, the yellows have ended up coming back and running too rampant, causing a need for even more insulin. I guess I keep looking at it from the perspective of less sticky cats where their bounces easily clear. Maybe it sounds like I'm getting ahead of myself, but it's more like I'm trying to psych myself up. If it happens again, I'll try to remember this time that it might be okay to be slightly more aggressive in my approach.
 
Erm, I guess I made the right choice. o_O She hasn't even played today, so that's not an exercise drop. Is that not kind of a big drop from her +4, especially considering she ate after that test? I'll watch her and test again at +7 and so on as needed. Wtf is this cat doing?! I swear...

And now unless a miracle happens, she'll shoot back up and threaten to stick. :stop: That's the worst part because with how she sticks up there, it's hard to tell when to increase after that starts. I feel like every time this has happened, the yellows have ended up coming back and running too rampant, causing a need for even more insulin. I guess I keep looking at it from the perspective of less sticky cats where their bounces easily clear. Maybe it sounds like I'm getting ahead of myself, but it's more like I'm trying to psych myself up. If it happens again, I'll try to remember this time that it might be okay to be slightly more aggressive in my approach.
My experience with Teasel is that he's a little less sticky if I'm closer to the "good dose" for that particular point in time. It's as though the good dose exerts enough downward pressure on BG that the bounces are shorter and maybe not quite as high.
 
My experience with Teasel is that he's a little less sticky if I'm closer to the "good dose" for that particular point in time. It's as though the good dose exerts enough downward pressure on BG that the bounces are shorter and maybe not quite as high.
I hope Freya is similar, then! At this point today, I'm also hoping she'll rise enough for me to give a PM shot so there's not a repeat of the other night. :confused: She doesn't yet stay low enough on her own for a no-shot to be a good thing. Looks like she's rising now though, and she had hours of blues and greens today. :cat: It's good to see something happening for a change.
 
I hope Freya is similar, then! At this point today, I'm also hoping she'll rise enough for me to give a PM shot so there's not a repeat of the other night. :confused: She doesn't yet stay low enough on her own for a no-shot to be a good thing. Looks like she's rising now though, and she had hours of blues and greens today. :cat: It's good to see something happening for a change.
Cheering you on! What a great day Freya has had!
 
Well, there's the huge overreactive response I've come to expect from her in the form of a black PMPS (or extremely high red if in US terms). :( I'm going to try to get her to run around some tonight and see if that helps again. So disappointing, yet not unexpected. I just hope she doesn't stay up... makes me anxious about the coming cycles.
 
Well, there's the huge overreactive response I've come to expect from her in the form of a black PMPS (or extremely high red if in US terms). :( I'm going to try to get her to run around some tonight and see if that helps again. So disappointing, yet not unexpected. I just hope she doesn't stay up... makes me anxious about the coming cycles.
I hate those high numbers after a run of healing numbers. Timmy gets those too. Freya did have healing green numbers today. Try not to be discouraged. :)
 
I hate those high numbers after a run of healing numbers. Timmy gets those too. Freya did have healing green numbers today. Try not to be discouraged. :)
Lovely greens today. Ignore the black and focus on her run of good numbers. Teasel's having one was well but I expect to see high tomorrow.
Yeah. It's not the high PS in itself that worries me, but the way she often stays high for multiple increases after this happens. I'm hoping she won't keep to that trend this time, since it's been kind of an anomalous string of cycles recently. Maybe her bounce response will be different this time, too. I'm hoping she'll do as Teasel does and start leveling out.

I managed to convince her to run and jump around for 20-ish minutes again. Granted, only part of that was play... the other part was me holding her tube of treats out of reach to bribe her into jumping up and down repeatedly. :rolleyes: She got a few tiny pieces at the end. I'm not that mean, hahah.
 
Yeah. It's not the high PS in itself that worries me, but the way she often stays high for multiple increases after this happens. I'm hoping she won't keep to that trend this time, since it's been kind of an anomalous string of cycles recently. Maybe her bounce response will be different this time, too. I'm hoping she'll do as Teasel does and start leveling out.

I managed to convince her to run and jump around for 20-ish minutes again. Granted, only part of that was play... the other part was me holding her tube of treats out of reach to bribe her into jumping up and down repeatedly. :rolleyes: She got a few tiny pieces at the end. I'm not that mean, hahah.
This is Teasel's 7th day on his current dose and it took this long for him to show me a run of green. The other days are about 50:50 blues and yellow/pink - ignoring my meter switch.
 
This is Teasel's 7th day on his current dose and it took this long for him to show me a run of green. The other days are about 50:50 blues and yellow/pink - ignoring my meter switch.
I think it's been about two weeks until now since Freya had greens. I think before that at one point, it was something like twelve days with barely anything happening and pretty much all yellows in spite of increase after increase. That's what bothers me more than anything, I think.

He and Freya do seem to be similarly annoying. I'm sure they're talking on those secret cat-only forums I keep hearing about...
 
Yowza! That's like an Olympic level bounce! But what a pretty run of greens before then! Bouncing is just part of the process, so hang in there. Hopefully you'll both have some fun play time, and some good snuggles and a nice evening anyway!
 
Yowza! That's like an Olympic level bounce! But what a pretty run of greens before then! Bouncing is just part of the process, so hang in there. Hopefully you'll both have some fun play time, and some good snuggles and a nice evening anyway!
Yes, she's a pole vaulting champion. That's why I was scared of getting to greens too fast. :banghead: My intention was to try to keep her in blues for a while longer, but I guess she had other plans!

The good news is that I finally got a hold of the ketostix just a bit ago. I was curious, so cleaned her litterbox and took off the lid, then plopped her in front of it. She's been drinking about 300 gallons of water tonight, so she went right in and did her stuff. Despite her facing the wrong way in a corner, I managed to get some on the strip with careful maneuvering (no chance to buy the fabled pee spoon yet!). She gave me a look like "what the hell are you doing now?!" but the strip appears negative. I'll try again in a few days with a better method for comparison... :smuggrin:
 
Lol...I never used the spoon either. I'd just do it the way you did and Sam would give me a funny look, but it didn't stop him from doing his business!

Sam is high tonight too. Nothing like what you're dealing with, but high for him (which means still pretty low). But I think you're right about the secret-forum conversation!
 
You guys know that our kitties on these forums tend to do the same thing! When one is high, they're ALL high. It's that cat forum!

Don't be discouraged, Blair. Freya did have a lovely run of healing greens and blues, and that bounce wasn't unexpected. I think today's response shows that the insulin is working and you just need to give her some time to get leveled out hopefully.

Djamila, still thinking through your situation some. I don't have any great ideas, but I'm trying to keep my brain on it in hopes something will come up!
 
I know, I know. I feel bad even posting sometimes. :oops::rolleyes::p If there was some way to pass around his blues and greens, I would happily share!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top