I'll check her again tonight, but do you think I should go ahead and increase, given this new development?It would be odd since that Smilla variety hasn't tended to spike her in the past, like she's gone from yellows to greens on it.Dang! I was hoping this was going to be our breakthrough. Let's see where she goes tonight...maybe this was just a food spike??
Yeah, at least she spent several hours out of those yellows. I wonder if the fat dose today will do anything different.I still think today was good progress![]()
Guess I should get to the store quick so I can test her again in an hour and find out. It's weird, part of me almost hopes she doesn't get too far into greens all at once, as that tends to send her bouncing like mad and "sticking", as @Kris & Teasel put it. I wonder if gradually working cats like this down to blues and then to greens would keep them from bouncing to those high flats.
So confusing. Still, looks like it could be a good day!
It's good to see two days with blues, even some mid-blues; maybe she'll be able to come down from those a bit smoother than the high yellows. My current plan is to give her another fat 4.5u tonight, since that did seem to bring her down some compared to the regular 4.5u previously. Then maybe 4.75u in the AM, depending on how that goes. Though I do wonder if I should try to keep her at these numbers for a couple cycles longer, to see if that helps her system acclimate itself to sub-2oo ranges after being higher for so long? ugh idk, just trying to figure out what's likely to be best and keep her from the sticky bounces.
But it's the truth!Yes, one of those plans is good. I don't know which one either though
On one hand I'd say keep moving with the dose since holding still seems to feed into the stuck-ness. But you're absolutely right that moving too fast could send her bouncing. But she's so close to getting a nice mid-cycle drop that I'd be inclined to press forward anyway. But...
So going back to my original thought: yup, one of the plans is good. But which one is anybody's guess!
Sometimes you just have to look at your kitty and go with your gut. I know that's not much help.![]()


Similar to last night's response, just higher... and today's AM cycle was lower than yesterday's, so that might make sense. She got a fat 4.5u again -- maybe closer to 4.75u than this morning's. It's hard to tell when eyeballing.
Breathe, Blair, breathe ...![]()
Hahah I know, and thanks. It was just like... seriously?! You didn't even get that low!I second the hugs from Yong. Hang in there! And considering how high she started, that's not a bad drop at +4.

You're getting traction!!Okay honestly wtf????
I go to take her PMPS, it's 149 (8.3). Okay, another 20-minute stall, then food and shot, right? Nope. She's mad the whole 20 minutes, angrily huffing and puffing, and I test her again. She was STILL dropping, to 133 (7.4)! It's encouraging to see that her pancreas is probably doing A Thing, though god knows what that thing is. I might try keeping her around this dose and see if she continues to get into these blues, then work her down slowly. Notice that despite bouncing, she hasn't been sticking lately, which is great news for her. Still, I wish she could've had a shot tonight. I don't like her going without, but there was just no way! Very interesting stuff from the little weirdo.
No kidding!So it looks like Freya isn't interested in smiley shaped curves. She's going to wiggle her way lower with her own special pattern! ECID!
Nothing I could do about it though. At least she shouldn't be bouncy in the AM, I guess. But first, back to sleep I go!
Just buy yourself a cheap metal or plastic long handled shallow kitchen spoon, not a ladle. Teasel's has his name on it and it lives beside the litter box. Heaven forbid it should ever make it back to the kitchen!I'm honestly amazed at the suggestion about the spoons. It's cracking me up, but it's strangely genius. I'd have never thought of that!
Happens to me too ...Compliments to Kris, Maury has his own piddle spoon too. My issue is he doesn't seem to keep a consistent schedule so a week flies by between ketone testing
![]()

That's the worst part because with how she sticks up there, it's hard to tell when to increase after that starts. I feel like every time this has happened, the yellows have ended up coming back and running too rampant, causing a need for even more insulin. I guess I keep looking at it from the perspective of less sticky cats where their bounces easily clear. Maybe it sounds like I'm getting ahead of myself, but it's more like I'm trying to psych myself up. If it happens again, I'll try to remember this time that it might be okay to be slightly more aggressive in my approach.My experience with Teasel is that he's a little less sticky if I'm closer to the "good dose" for that particular point in time. It's as though the good dose exerts enough downward pressure on BG that the bounces are shorter and maybe not quite as high.Erm, I guess I made the right choice.She hasn't even played today, so that's not an exercise drop. Is that not kind of a big drop from her +4, especially considering she ate after that test? I'll watch her and test again at +7 and so on as needed. Wtf is this cat doing?! I swear...
And now unless a miracle happens, she'll shoot back up and threaten to stick.That's the worst part because with how she sticks up there, it's hard to tell when to increase after that starts. I feel like every time this has happened, the yellows have ended up coming back and running too rampant, causing a need for even more insulin. I guess I keep looking at it from the perspective of less sticky cats where their bounces easily clear. Maybe it sounds like I'm getting ahead of myself, but it's more like I'm trying to psych myself up. If it happens again, I'll try to remember this time that it might be okay to be slightly more aggressive in my approach.
I hope Freya is similar, then! At this point today, I'm also hoping she'll rise enough for me to give a PM shot so there's not a repeat of the other night.My experience with Teasel is that he's a little less sticky if I'm closer to the "good dose" for that particular point in time. It's as though the good dose exerts enough downward pressure on BG that the bounces are shorter and maybe not quite as high.
It's good to see something happening for a change.Cheering you on! What a great day Freya has had!I hope Freya is similar, then! At this point today, I'm also hoping she'll rise enough for me to give a PM shot so there's not a repeat of the other night.She doesn't yet stay low enough on her own for a no-shot to be a good thing. Looks like she's rising now though, and she had hours of blues and greens today.
It's good to see something happening for a change.
I hate those high numbers after a run of healing numbers. Timmy gets those too. Freya did have healing green numbers today. Try not to be discouraged.Well, there's the huge overreactive response I've come to expect from her in the form of a black PMPS (or extremely high red if in US terms).I'm going to try to get her to run around some tonight and see if that helps again. So disappointing, yet not unexpected. I just hope she doesn't stay up... makes me anxious about the coming cycles.
I hate those high numbers after a run of healing numbers. Timmy gets those too. Freya did have healing green numbers today. Try not to be discouraged.![]()
Yeah. It's not the high PS in itself that worries me, but the way she often stays high for multiple increases after this happens. I'm hoping she won't keep to that trend this time, since it's been kind of an anomalous string of cycles recently. Maybe her bounce response will be different this time, too. I'm hoping she'll do as Teasel does and start leveling out.Lovely greens today. Ignore the black and focus on her run of good numbers. Teasel's having one was well but I expect to see high tomorrow.
This is Teasel's 7th day on his current dose and it took this long for him to show me a run of green. The other days are about 50:50 blues and yellow/pink - ignoring my meter switch.Yeah. It's not the high PS in itself that worries me, but the way she often stays high for multiple increases after this happens. I'm hoping she won't keep to that trend this time, since it's been kind of an anomalous string of cycles recently. Maybe her bounce response will be different this time, too. I'm hoping she'll do as Teasel does and start leveling out.
I managed to convince her to run and jump around for 20-ish minutes again. Granted, only part of that was play... the other part was me holding her tube of treats out of reach to bribe her into jumping up and down repeatedly.She got a few tiny pieces at the end. I'm not that mean, hahah.
I think it's been about two weeks until now since Freya had greens. I think before that at one point, it was something like twelve days with barely anything happening and pretty much all yellows in spite of increase after increase. That's what bothers me more than anything, I think.This is Teasel's 7th day on his current dose and it took this long for him to show me a run of green. The other days are about 50:50 blues and yellow/pink - ignoring my meter switch.
Yes, she's a pole vaulting champion. That's why I was scared of getting to greens too fast.Yowza! That's like an Olympic level bounce! But what a pretty run of greens before then! Bouncing is just part of the process, so hang in there. Hopefully you'll both have some fun play time, and some good snuggles and a nice evening anyway!
My intention was to try to keep her in blues for a while longer, but I guess she had other plans!
I'll take that high-for-Sam number off your hands if you want...Sam is high tonight too. Nothing like what you're dealing with, but high for him (which means still pretty low). But I think you're right about the secret-forum conversation!