Frankie: PMPs 367 +4 247

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
Its back to work today.

What a way to start.

At +12 he was at 180 a drop of 70 points inthe past hour.
As i want him to be safe while I'm not here, going to wait an hour or so, retest and if he is rising dose him.
Gave him a 1/2 can of FF to get his BG's to rise and the food went in and immediately came back up.
Due to the thunderstorms that past few days, I woke up to no hot water as well.

Could this get any more complicated today. This is the true definition of SNAFU

Situation Normal ALL F---K'd Up.



Frankie has a reprieve. AMPS and PMPS only times I can test, any maybe a spot check before we gp to sleep. His ear will heal a bit and we will get back to normal.

Stay tuned as we wont be able to do anything till next Sat. That will give him well over a week at this dose.

Both of them have been champs through this "flashback" 5 years ago this coming July we were constantly poking (at least trying, he wouldnd let me test at that point. How times have changed) and underdosing him. I think they both deserve a reward.

Maybe a new 3 floor cat condo? Wait a sec, I want a new townhouse too.

Oh well here we go.

Cats Rule













viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9098&p=90047#p90047
 
Re: Frankie: AMPS 180. No shot yet.

With Lantus when you get a number you are not comfortable shooting you have a couple of options.
One is to stall, DON'T feed and retest in 15 minutes to see if the number is still falling or rising. You can wait 30 if you have the time to stall. The reason you don't want to feed (which I did see that you already did) is so that you are not shooting a food spike number.
Another option is to shoot a reduced dose.
Or skip shot which is not advisable.
 
Re: Frankie: +14 AMPS 245.

I fed but i whatever went in came up and out on my carpet 2 minutes later.

FF is gotten progressively un eatable for my 2 guy.

I finally got some food into them both that stayed down. Yippee, made my day.

I wont shoot without food going in. Thats like drinking alcohol on an empty stomach. I wont shoot (now that I wont be home all day) under 220.

We dont have the luxury of following a tight protocol as I have to catch a bus soon to get to NYC to get to my office. As I have said a few times, we need a dose that I can just shoot and forget. At this point its only PS tests that I can do and my only goal is to keep him from 80 to 100 at his Nadir and between 220 and 250 at PS. Not much else I can do, unless I clone myself and can be in two places at the same time and not worry during the course of the day that he is too low. Too high I can deal with, too low when I'm not here is not an option.

Sorry if that doesnt fit the protocol but what else can I do? I'm a sngle dad to a diabetic cat.

Jay


Miriam and Putty said:
With Lantus when you get a number you are not comfortable shooting you have a couple of options.
One is to stall, DON'T feed and retest in 15 minutes to see if the number is still falling or rising. You can wait 30 if you have the time to stall. The reason you don't want to feed (which I did see that you already did) is so that you are not shooting a food spike number.
Another option is to shoot a reduced dose.
Or skip shot which is not advisable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top