Frankie PMPS 230 +13 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
Skipped dose, inconsistancy maybe, assuming my goals here are to have him go OTJ. Which they arent.

I mentioned that my goals here are to keep in a relatively safe range when I came back here.

My goals here are to keep him as healthy as I can for as long as I can. I wouldnt mind testing and shoot and dealing with this for another 10 years, which will bring him to the ripe of old age of 23. My age, well thats another story.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14068
 
My goal is to get you to 1.75u and deal with the other stuff later.
I'll come back and help once you take this cat to 1.75u, until then I don't have anything more I can offer.
 
Jay this is the very reason you were advised to lower the dose.....so that you would have a shootable number twice a day.

Your goal may not be to get Frankie OTJ but that may be Frankie's goal which you may not have control over.....if he is getting too much insulin then his numbers will dictate that like they did this morning. For Frankie's sake please allow those that know Lantus and how it works to help you.

You have no idea how many of us here would do anything to have our cats respond to Lantus the way Frankie is right now.
 
Jay - why will you not lower the dose of Lantus on Frankie? Clearly he is getting too much insulin at that is why you are getting these low numbers.

Can you explain why you will not go down?
 
D and Noisy said:
My goal is to get you to 1.75u and deal with the other stuff later.
I'll come back and help once you take this cat to 1.75u, until then I don't have anything more I can offer.


We are going down in dose tonite.
 
Good luck with the dosecrease! Lowering the dose should hopefully smooth out these bumps. Instead of him going lower than you like then compensating by higher numbers, things should become flatter. Frankie will also feel better if the swings settle down.
 
Jay said:
D and Noisy said:
My goal is to get you to 1.75u and deal with the other stuff later.
I'll come back and help once you take this cat to 1.75u, until then I don't have anything more I can offer.


We are going down in dose tonite.

You just emptied out Frankie's shed. I would shoot 2u tonight and drop to 1.75u tomorrow morning-- he'll need that extra 0.25 to compensate for what he lost today. You have to learn timing and the shed with Lantus, you keep using some other insulin's properties here.
 
Great news, lowering the dose in the am!! Thanks, Jay!! Also, I appreciate you explaining that your goal is not to get Frankie OTJ - that helps me understand your approach to skipped shots, etc. Wishing you both a wondferful week!!
 
Nicole & Baby said:
Great news, lowering the dose in the am!! Thanks, Jay!! Also, I appreciate you explaining that your goal is not to get Frankie OTJ - that helps me understand your approach to skipped shots, etc. Wishing you both a wondferful week!!

If there is a shot at going OTJ then we will take it when it presents itself. I'm not closed to the possibility, but I'm not hell bent on making it happen and putting Frankie at some amount of risk For the moment, its keep him happy and as healthy as I can. Hope that clears this up.
 
I suspect Frankie has a great shot at going OTJ, he is doing fabulous - I bet he only does better when you lower the dose & shoot consistently! Didn't you say like father like son? :-D
 
Nicole & Baby said:
I suspect Frankie has a great shot at going OTJ, he is doing fabulous - I bet he only does better when you lower the dose & shoot consistently! Didn't you say like father like son? :-D


Like father like son, except this father isnt diabetic. HeHe
 
Re: Frankie PMPS 230 +13 77 PMPS 420

Well, that was expected

He did however, meet me at the door, with his tail wagging and a big "Cheshire cat" grin on his face.
 
Jay.. you sure are something.. you really are :lol:
Glad Frankie is happy with you.. you make us all a nervous wreck here!!! :lol:
Hope the traffic wasn't too bad today & I sooooo look forward to signing in tomorrow & seeing you shot 1.75, don't play with us Jay :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top