Ok, from the numbers you gave me I am going to put them into a format that is more understandable for those of us here that are in different time zones.
4/22
AMPS 554 shot 3U lantus
+6 105
PMPS 223 shot 3U lantus
4/23
AMPS 583 Shot 3U lantus
+7.5 580
PMPS 394 shot 3U lantus
4/24
AMPS 626 shot 3U lantus (shot delayed 2 hours due to?? work schedule??)
no testing from 4/24 AMPS until 5/3 AMPS
5/3
AMPS 584 shot 3U lantus
+6.75 332
PMPS 602 (shot delayed 15 minutes)
5/4
AMPS 347 shot 3U lantus (shot early 45 minutes due to?? work schedule??)
PMPS 540
+2.75 488
+7 319
5/5
AMPS 345 shot 3U lantus (shot 30 minutes early due to?? work schedule??)
I have to say that I find it harder to look at a column of numbers and see what is going on but I'll give it a shot. I am much better at reading our standard format spreadsheet and seeing the waves of action or trends over a couple of days or longer.
1. The dose is too high. If this were my cat, I would drop the dose to 1 -1.5 units immediately. Our starting dose for a 12 pound cat would have been ideal weight or current weight if underweight / kilos (2.2 per pound) * 0.25units rounded down to the nearest whole unit for safety. So 12/2.2= 5.45 kilos * 0.25 units = 1.36Units rounded down = 1 Unit Hold the dose for 5-7 days to build up the shed/depot and then start to raise the dose in quarter units based on the nadir, not the pre-shot BG number. If you have needles that have the 1/2 unit markings on the barrel like the Relion 3/10cc syringes available at Walmart, you can measure the 0.25 units and the 0.5 units easier and could do 1.25 units. (you need a prescription in NH. I live on north shore MA and drive to Seabrook to get my Walmart supplies which is how I know) I can provide pictures of syringes with these smaller units if you are interested.
2. Shadow is definitely bouncing. For example on 4/22 AMPS was 554 and +6 was 105 for a 449 drop in 6 hours which is a VERY steep and rapid drop. That causes the liver to compensate and pump out glycogen because it is not used to seeing those low numbers and is protecting the cats body by supplying energy.
3. bounces last up to 72 hours or 6 insulin cycles, sometimes longer because, ECID (every cat is different) Bounce on 4/22 is still evident that evening and the next morning 4/23 and again on 4/24. Still bouncing. Bouncing is because the dose is too high causing those steep, rapid drops.
4. 4/16 glucose curve at the vet. Can you get those numbers and post them? More data to work with. Most cats are stressed at the vet which can raise BG numbers 100-180 points within 5 minutes and last for 90 minutes or more. Some researchers did a test with bathing cats and measured the BG numbers while doing this. It's how they found out this information and labeled it Vet Stress Syndrome . Unless your foster Shadow is a laid back, love the vet kind of cat, scarfs down his food with no problem while caged at the vet, is not afraid of strangers, other cats and barking dogs, then the BG curve your vet did is probably showing elevated numbers due to vet stress.
5. Numbers on 5/3 through 5/5 look like they could be from another low on a previous day. No way to tell without more test data.
6. Would you be willing to get some more testing? A +2 tonight would be nice along with a before bed test if you are willing. The +2 will help us to see if this is going to be an active cycle or not.
7. I think because Shadow has been so high that daily ketone testing of the urine is very important to prevent life threatening DKA episode, emergency vet visit, overnight several days, $3000-5000 to treat. urine ketone testing strips available at the drugstore.
My vet advised against checking sugars with each dose...
Why did your vet not want you to test before every time you gave insulin (pre-shot)? This is very common by the way.
We like to think of cats being more like small children or infants who can not tell us that their BG numbers might be low and need some food or OJ to help bring their BG number up. If the pre-shot BG is below 200, we advise new members to delay the shot, post on the board and ask for help by putting the ?mark radio button on and editing and changing the header text on the first post in the thread/condo/post to something like 'dose advice needed tonight'.
We have also seen many members dosing too much and going into low numbers and experience hypo symptoms which can be life threatening to your cat. We think of not doing the pre-shot tests as being like driving with a bag over your head. Which may be fine if you are parked in your driveway, with the engine turned off. :lol:
To verify,Shadow went back on the Clavamox as of 5/3 until final test results come back from the vet?
Would you be willing to create that standard format spreadsheet and link it into your signature. I realize that it is asking a lot of you to set this up with all the other things going on in your life but it really helps us to advise you better. Instructions are here
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207.
I'm sure I have missed replying on some of your other questions but this is already a long post and I need to go feed my own cats.