Fostering a diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, jumping from 1u straight up to 2u is too much of a jump. By doing that, you may be bypassing a good dose. Numbers can be high on too much insulin as well as too little insulin. 'Start low and go slow' to find the right dose.

Do you think you can eyeball a 1.25 or a 1.5U dose with the syringes you have? If I remember, you do not have syringes with 1/2 unit markings.

I'll go find some pictures that show those quarter and half doses.
 
Usually dosage is altered best by small increments.. usually .25 to .5, and then held for a period Raising the dose by a full unit seems extreme and dangerous to me

Bear in mind, that at +2 ..... The numbers would still be high ..... The insulin would only just be beginning to work typically.
 
Any way for you to get another test this morning before you have to leave for the day? I realize this is Thursday and you said you had a long day away but would be around Friday for more testing.
 
Here are the various pictures I was talking about to show you those smaller doses. I think the last set, embedded in this post, shows nice clear examples.

There is this link to Steve Rapaport pictures of the various microdoses http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/ The pictures are a little out of focus so I do not like them as much.

There are some good pictures here but still not the ones I want. This post also is good because it talks about the consistency of the dosing and has some different pictures.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=34424#p360982

I know there are better pictures around. Let me find the link. Here they are!!! They were in the Lantus ISG, Tight Regulation Sticky called "STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ..", about 6 pages down.

Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:

someinsulin-1.jpg

01unit-1.jpg

025unit-1.jpg


Fine dose gradations from Steve and Jock:
0.5U = exactly half a unit
0.4U = skinny 0.5 touching the line
0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line
0.1U = fat zero touching the line

It is much easier to see those .25 and .5 u doses when you have the syringes with the 1/2 unit markings. If you do not, you can practice with an empty syringe and some colored water to check your dosing. Then maybe with a fine tipped black marker, draw in a line at the spot on your 'practice syringe/reference syringe' for future reference. Draw up an insulin dose and compare to the mark on your 'reference syringe'.

Does that make sense to you? Think you can do that smaller dose?

p.s. Be sure to check back in this thread. There have been several responses to you.
 
Hi there

This is the first chance I have had to pop in. I can see you are doing some great things with testing, dose and food - plus you have your SS all set up!!.

You are getting the hang of this so I would strongly suggest you start posting regularly on the tight regulation board http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9. As well as the people you have already "met" on here, there are some very experienced dosing members there that can help guide you - and its a strong sense of community and very active. They can help you through the protocol. Many of us post there daily but its as much as you like depending on the help you need.

How to post
Every day open a new thread (we call them condos".)
For the first one use "newbie" within your subject line so people can welcome you.
Every day your post subject line has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 5/8 Shadow AMPS 428 PMPS 392 + 2 472
Content is a brief summary of how Shadow was that day "Shadow is feeling fine except he is still peeing a lot. Do you think I should increase the dose".And a link to the previous thread. You can put a ? in your subject if you have questions you want answered etc.

Wendy
 
Thanks again for all the advice and support.

Switched to 1.5units at last nights dose. We don't have the syringes with the 1/2 marks yet so these are eyeballing the 1/2 unit.
 
Ok cool. Are you going to start posting on the other board? they will be better able to advise when and how much to change dose.
 
Hi Wendy,
Yes, I'll start posting there this evening. Out the door now to run errands. Just did my +7- will do a +10 at 4pm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top