Foster Cat Kitty PMPS: HI; 401 @+3

Status
Not open for further replies.

missyandlittlegray

Member Since 2010
Our last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12933&p=130260&hilit=+Foster+Cat+Kitty+#p130260

I was really not prepared for this, and I don't know what to do. There was a bit of food left in her dish, and she ate it right before I tested her. But could a food spike (Fancy Feast Liver and Chicken) make her go up to HI? I raised her dose from .75u to 1u on the 28th. Maybe I should raise it again?

I'll be here more tomorrow to test more often. Should I have more information before I raise her dose. Feeling really dumb and helpless here. :(

Yes, I'll be watching for ketones tonight.
 
Re: Foster Cat Kitty PMPS: HI

Were you shooting 0.05u (or 0.5u) from 4/22 - 4/24?

It is very hard to know where your numbers are coming from. There could easily be lower numbers, especially in the PM cycle and you are seeing a bounce to higher numbers. It can take 72 hrs for a bounce to clear.

I know that you said you can't get PM tests because your shot time is at 10:30. Is there any possibility of shifting your shot times earlier so you can get PM spot checks? Alternatively, can you set an alarm and get some tests at night. I am really reticent to suggest any changes without more data. Let me see if there's anyone around to take a look at your SS.
 
Re: Foster Cat Kitty PMPS: HI

I tested her at +3 (1:30 am) the night before last, and she was down to 276 from 466. I'm not a good sleep tester. I don't hear my alarm when I'm sound asleep. It's easier for me to just stay up and work into the wee hours.

I'm wondering, too, if I'm missing lower numbers. HI seems like a really big bounce though.
 
Re: Foster Cat Kitty PMPS: HI

aww, you are fostering a diabetic cat. well i'm not surprised, you iz good people missy.

okay have a couple of questions...first i have to ask about insulin before i go anywhere else. are you using what the shelter gave you (that might have been rolled shaken stirred and who knows what else)?
~have you fostered a diabetic cat before? we usually ignore first week of numbers in new home, they are so often all over the place (freaked out cat, maybe not eating, etc). i usually just draw an X through those numbers and ignore, too often they mean nada.
~ and how much dry are you having to use to get eating to happen?

oops you just posted while i was typing. 266, better. yeah need some in between numbers for sure.
oh and did she have BM yet? (i was just quickly scanning yesterday's thread).
 
Re: Foster Cat Kitty PMPS: HI

Jojo! :)
jojo and bunny said:
i have to ask about insulin before i go anywhere else. are you using what the shelter gave you (that might have been rolled shaken stirred and who knows what else)?
No, I'm not. But the pen fell out of the box I keep my large collection of refrigerated cat meds in and landed on the floor. It seems like the pen would protect it, but maybe not. I started a new pen tonight.

jojo and bunny said:
have you fostered a diabetic cat before? we usually ignore first week of numbers in new home, they are so often all over the place (freaked out cat, maybe not eating, etc). i usually just draw an X through those numbers and ignore, too often they mean nada.
She's been here for almost a month. She's a very confident cat, and she never seemed freaked out. She made herself right at home in my walk-through closet/bathroom/bathtub. That's where she spends most of her time because she doesn't like other cats. She spent most of today on the balcony though. That made me very happy!

jojo and bunny said:
~ and how much dry are you having to use to get eating to happen?
We've gone from completely covering her wet food with dry to just a few pieces now. I didn't give her any tonight because I didn't want HI to go HIer. She hasn't touched the food, so I might cave and give her a couple of pieces.

jojo and bunny said:
oh and did she have BM yet? (i was just quickly scanning yesterday's thread).
Yes, she did.

Except for her numbers, she's doing so much better than she was when she got here. The first week she was here, she ate nonstop. Then, she didn't eat at all. Now, she eats like a normal, healthy cat, and pees and poops normally. Her coat was really nasty when she got here, but she's grooming herself now, and I don't feel like I want to wash my hands after I touch her. She had a lot of dandruff, but it's gone now. But if you look at her ss, you can see that her numbers have never made much sense, at least they don't to me.
 
Re: Foster Cat Kitty PMPS: HI

so hang with me, trying to put this together, you were using the end of a vial or pen or lantus or lev the day of 14th when she got the run of low numbers? then didn't shoot for a few cycles, then started fresh pen of lev when shooting resumed at 0.1 units, i got that right?
really don't know how much stock i would put on the 14th if you were using who knows what for insulin and her just have gotten there. i know you missy, i know you get nervous with lower numbers (well of course everyone would with 20's yuck), but i mean regular green. she is a different cat, doesn't have the same issues you had to deal with before. (and i mean that in no way disrespectful to little gray. he was a wonderful boy that is missed. ((hugs)). i just mean she doesn't have same medical issues or age issues or independent ways).

"She's a very confident cat, and she never seemed freaked out. She made herself right at home in my walk-through closet/bathroom/bathtub. That's where she spends most of her time because she doesn't like other cats"

well...she might not have appeared stressed to you, but a new home, not liking the other cats in household, talking about major life stress issues for a feline here. the air of bravado that you are witnessing doesn't mean that she is not deeply stressed during that first few weeks. have you seen her play yet? or lay on back (the vulnerable position) yet?

oh before i forget, i mistyped before when i typed "in between numbers" i meant to type "if possible more numbers in between PS and the usual +5/+6 you are getting during day" there are hints (hard to tell yet) that she is an early onset/action cat and there might be some very interesting things happening during those hours and perhaps you are catching a number already on way up by +5. like that would explain tonight's super high number, yesterday during day that +6~161 was a number coming up from someplace much lower. kwim? hey those early action cats are good for people that like to go to bed soon after shooting! :) there is something to be said for a cat who has most of action over by +3/+4.

glad she had litter box action. of course hard to tell yet if that was a touch of constipation or if it is her normal. you haven't known her long enough and there has been food changes going on. btw, when her numbers are high like this, wait her out before breaking down and adding the dry onto her food. see if she is playing ya and will give up when she gets hungry enough as the hours pass tonight.

you'll be around tomorrow to get some early cycle numbers and see if that is where focus needs to shift to? maybe this is not her dose, wanna see those numbers before saying anything....
 
Re: Foster Cat Kitty PMPS: HI

jojo and bunny said:
so hang with me, trying to put this together, you were using the end of a vial or pen or lantus or lev the day of 14th when she got the run of low numbers? then didn't shoot for a few cycles, then started fresh pen of lev when shooting resumed at 0.1 units, i got that right?
When she got the low numbers, I was using the Lantus she had in the shelter. She'd been using that vial since December!

jojo and bunny said:
the air of bravado that you are witnessing doesn't mean that she is not deeply stressed during that first few weeks. have you seen her play yet? or lay on back (the vulnerable position) yet?
I don't know if she remembers how to play. While she doesn't seem stressed to me, she does seem depressed. She went from living in her whole house and going outside to being banished to the basement to a tiny cage in a shelter to an apartment with a bunch of cats she doesn't like. I'd be depressed, too!

jojo and bunny said:
"if possible more numbers in between PS and the usual +5/+6 you are getting during day"
I can leave later to visit my pet sitting cats, so I should be able to do that for the next few days.

jojo and bunny said:
glad she had litter box action. of course hard to tell yet if that was a touch of constipation or if it is her normal.
I took her to the vet the week before last. Her x-rays were amazing. She was very constipated. She also has a slipped disc and is on Adequan for that.

She ate her FF without the dry food topping. I'm going to test her again and then give her more FF.

Thanks, Jojo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top