food selection for possible diabetes case

Status
Not open for further replies.

kalypso

Member Since 2019
Hello to all!
I am helping my friend choose some high quality low carb wet food for her cat Lisa, a 7 yo siamese, who may have diabetes (her blood glucose was measured 631 mg/dl). I am writing to you bc she is not fluent in english and there's not much info or support in greek! She switched to RC dry and Hills wet for diabetics, and saw some improvement on skin and polyuria. However, she is looking for some better quality (and lower carb) wet food. If I understand correctly, it is better for her to switch foods before she performs a glucose curve and possibly gets an insulin prescription. Is this true? If so, how many days should she be on the new diet before performing the curve? Also, should she stick on a particular food with a specific carb percentage? I mean, I understand that she shouldn't like swich to a lower carb food after an insulin dose is prescribed, but is this true also for picking a lower carb food within the 10% maximum, like swiching from a 6% to a 1% carb food like listed in here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1J5JpMe6TDXrHq_aTl9hUtHy6Gs9oRBqlz4nPGKxtySA/pubhtml ?
 
Hi which country is your friend living in?
Yes it would be easier to swap to a low carb, below 10% carb wet food before starting insulin. However with a BSL of 631 you will need to be careful that Lisa does not develop ketones, which can develop in cats with untreated diabetes.
I would get your friend to buy a bottle of Ketostix from the pharmacy and test Lisa’s urine each day for ketones until the insulin is started. It is not hard but it is really important to make sure the ketones don’t develop.
Any wet food 10% or less is fine. Depending on how long it takes to swap over to full wet low carb, you could do a curve a couple of times to see how things are going and it is good practise for when insulin is given.
Always test before every shot to see it is safe to give the insulin and test again at about +4 to +6 to see how low the insulin is taking Lisa.
Keep asking questions
 
Thank you very much for the reply!
What should she do if ketones are found in the urine? Does it mean she should go to the vet asap?
 
Thank you very much for the reply!
What should she do if ketones are found in the urine? Does it mean she should go to the vet asap?
Anything above a trace needs vet attention.
She needs to make sure that Lisa is eating well and drinking well ( I know cats don't drink much, but if Lisa is eating wet food, that will help) , and if Lisa has any infection or inflammation anywhere, that needs to be treated..
If you are unsure about anything just ask and we will try and help.
 
Hello all and thanks for your replies !
So, we are researching this UK food list https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1J5JpMe6TDXrHq_aTl9hUtHy6Gs9oRBqlz4nPGKxtySA/pubhtml, looking for food available in Greece!
And there's couple of choices that cought our eyes, namely Gourmet and Sheba!
I guess Gourmet is not a good choice, as it is commented it contains "various sougars".
But again, these brands are so widely available, how is this true that they are better for diabetics than prescription food?
Seeing the numbers, Hills md is 13% Kcals from carbs (https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf) whereas Sheba classics rabit is 3.1% (previous uk food list).
How is this even possible?
Anyway... Do you think Sheba is a good choice?
Other brands I have found in greece from the list are lily's kitchen, canagan, carnilove, leonardo, animonda vom feinsten and little big paw.
Do you think we should stick with Sheba or are there differences in quality of ingredients with the other choices?
 
What do you think between these three ?
- meowing heads
- nature's menu country hunter
- bozita tins

Meowing heads seems to contain more carbs than the others (around 8% Kcals from carbs) and 25% of content is broth, which I don't know if it is good!
Nature's menu seems to have good quality ingredients, but is more expensive than Bozita. Is it worth though?
 
What do you think between these three ?
- meowing heads
- nature's menu country hunter
- bozita tins

Meowing heads seems to contain more carbs than the others (around 8% Kcals from carbs) and 25% of content is broth, which I don't know if it is good!
Nature's menu seems to have good quality ingredients, but is more expensive than Bozita. Is it worth though?
I can't speak for all of these but I feed my cat Natures Menu / Country Hunter and yes, they are good quality... you get what you pay for I guess.
 
Thanks for your reply!
My friend bought both country hunter and bozita and is thinking to give it interchangably, because country hunter was a bit expensive!
Is it ok if the cat finally has to take insulin? I mean that she eats something different each day or every couple of days or so?
Both country hunter and bozita have similar Klcal percentage from carbs.
 
Thanks for your reply!
My friend bought both country hunter and bozita and is thinking to give it interchangably, because country hunter was a bit expensive!
Is it ok if the cat finally has to take insulin? I mean that she eats something different each day or every couple of days or so?
Both country hunter and bozita have similar Klcal percentage from carbs.
Yes it should be ok to feed more than one type of food as long as carb values are similar. The only proviso might be if a cat was allergic to something in one of the foods (it's not uncommon for a cat to be allergic to beef, for example) and that might mess up bg to some extent. You don't know until you try and you have to start somewhere!
 
Thanks so much!
So I guess it is important to measure glucose at home every day, even if you change flavors of the same brand!
 
Thanks so much!
So I guess it is important to measure glucose at home every day, even if you change flavors of the same brand!
If you're giving insulin, yes it is important to check bg, to make sure you actually need to give insulin. A low carb diet may well reduce the need for as much insulin so you have to be careful.
 
We are not giving insulin yet. We are currently switching to a lower carb food (from hills m/d to bozita and country hunter).
For how many days does the cat need to be fully on the low carb food before she does a glucose curbe to see if and how much insulin she needs?
 
We are not giving insulin yet. We are currently switching to a lower carb food (from hills m/d to bozita and country hunter).
For how many days does the cat need to be fully on the low carb food before she does a glucose curbe to see if and how much insulin she needs?
A couple of days should be enough see if insulin is needed. If bg is high you also need to be checking for ketones. Don't delay on these things.
 
The majority of the BG drop due to going to a low carb diet was 3 days for my cat. It dropped a bit more after that, but the first 3 days were large drops. Every cat is different (ECID) though.
 
Thank you all for your replies. Lisa was finally bought to a new vet on Friday. Her bg was now much lower, 344 mg/dl, and urine strip tests showed negative ketones but positive glucose. That was almost 50% lower bg though! Full blood and urine test results are awaited. She is now on mac's and bozita cans. Does urine glucose mean she will need insuline? I will post analytical results when I have them.
 
A cat can have elevated glucose just from the stress of going to the vet but we don’t know for sure if that is what happened, it is possible she may still need insulin. I am glad to see the change in food helped her so much, however. That is always a good start. If your friend can learn to test blood glucose at home, they will get a lot more info on what the cat needs. Good job on making that food switch though! :D
With the right treatment, some cats go into remission from diabetes, so it is important to take care of the next steps sooner than later. Beginning testing blood glucose now would be very helpful even if insulin has not been started yet. Your friend can use a human glucose meter, the only difference is the goal or safe range is slightly different. We have all that info on this website and someone can help you find the extra links if you need help to find. :)
 
Some blood test results came out:

Potassium 4.84 nmol/L (3.90 - 5.30)
Sodium 155 nmol/L (147 - 156)
FT4 1.44 ng/dL (1.00 - 4.00)
fructosamine 437 μmol/L (174 - 204)
cortisol 6.53 μg/dL (1.00 - 5.50)

Does it make sense for fructosamine to be this higher than blood glucose?
Do you have any insights? May Lisa have diabetes or both diabetes and cushings?
We are waiting for more results (blood and urine as well)
 
Because the BG and fructosamine values are not directly comparable. Here is one comparison:
Measure blood glucose (BG) and serum fructosamine (FR) and use the numbers together to determine control of diabetes:



FR<400
BG<180 Excellent control

FR>400
BG<180 Owner non-compliance

FR<400
BG<60 Over regulation

FR<400
BG>180 Stress induced hyperglycemia

FR>400
BG>180 Poor control
Above from: http://www.felinediabetes.com/beyondBGcurve.htm

Also see: http://www.caninsulin.co.uk/fructosamine.asp?context=management_cats
 
So here is all the results!

blood smear:
clear of any pathological signs, infection agents or atypical cells

blood test:
Potassium 4.84 nmol/L (3.90 - 5.30)
Sodium 155 nmol/L (147 - 156)
FT4 1.44 ng/dL (1.00 - 4.00)
fructosamine 437 μmol/L (174 - 204)
cortisol 6.53 μg/dL (1.00 - 5.50)

urine test:
hue: yellow
view: blurry
s.g: 1005
ph: 6.0
total proteins: traces
white blood cells: +
glucose: 1000 mg/dL
macroscopical exam: sediment traces
microscopical exam:
few squamus epithelial cells,
few neutrophils,
no pathological concentration of cylindres and crystals
glucose concentration may be due to medication

Do you have any insights?
Do you think she will need insuline or a blood curve?
Or some more tests?
 
s.g: 1005
That is very low and if true indicates severe kidney degradation. I can't tell if the SG value is based on the urine dipstick value or refractometer. SG as determined by urine dipstick are nit accurate.
glucose: 1000 mg/dL
This urine dipstick value tents to indicate diabetes together with the
fructosamine 437 μmol/L (174 - 204)
I do not know what the high cortisol value means
cortisol 6.53 μg/dL (1.00 - 5.50)
 
Hello!
It took me a while, but I just wanted to update you on Lisa! She is on remission since October!
Turns out, she was sneaking on the dry food for the stray cats, which caused her bg to rise high and her fluctuations to make no sense to us! It also caused diarhea.
Since my friend figured this out and prevented it, so Lisa only eats low carb wet food, her bg is in the normal range and she also gained weight and looks very beautiful and healthy!
So she didn't take any insulin and is controlled on diet. But does this seem that she is diabetic in remission? Will she always be considered diabetic or is there a cure?
I wish the best for all kitties!!
 
Lisa was tested again a couple of days ago, and the results are BG 240 and FR 414! She had eaten before test!
What does this mean?
 
Yes, I'd say that is very likely your friend's cat Lisa needs insulin again. Especially with the combination of the fructosamine and the BG results.

How did the vet test the BG? How was that BG reading obtained?
Was that 240 from a lab test result sent out to one of the testing labs like IDEXX or Antech type equipment?
Done in house at the vet with IDEXX or other equipment?
Done at the vet with a pet meter like an Alphatrak?
Done at the vet with a human meter?
Do you have a meter to home test? Cats can be stressed at the vet and have a "stress induced" high BG.

What insulins have you used before?
What foods have you used before?

Any steroid use (including some ear drops like Tresaderm)?
pancreatitis?
bad teeth?
did you change the food to a higher carb food?
All reasons a cat can fall out of diet controlled status?

Is your cat Lisa showing any symptoms of diabetes again? P/U - excessive peeing, P/D - excessive water drinking, losing weight, excessive hunger (I'm Starving!!! pleading for more food), diabetic neuropathy, ketones in urine?

Ask your vet to be sure the diabetes diagnosis is correct. Other medical conditions need to be ruled out. (Kidney, thyroid, etc.)
 
Last edited:
BG was done inhouse at the vet, I don't know what kind of meter/equipment the vet uses, I just know the cat's stomach was full at the time (she had eaten).
She has no other symptoms (drinking/urinating more).
Diabetes was initially caused by steroid injection to treat asthma, and she had symptoms at the time.
After food change to macs/granatapet, she was better.
Last measurement was in October, where BG was 166, so she was considered to be in remission.
Lately she has been on pate macs/bozita/gourmet.
 
Last measurement was in October, where BG was 166, so she was considered to be in remission.
We wouldn't consider that 166 BG reading to be in remission. BG < 99 mg/dL (<5.5 mmol/L) consistently, even 3-4 hours after a meal would be diet controlled. With the majority of the BG readings <80 (4.4 mmol/L).

A normal non-diabetic cat will have a range of BG's in the 40-80 mg/dL (2.2- 4.4 mmol/L). Diabetic cat not on insulin should be the same ranges, only controlled by diet.

Looks like some flavors of those Bozita and Gourmet cat foods are a bit higher in carbs. May have contributed to the higher BG readings. Even one of the Mac's, the Duck, Rabbit &Beef is a bit on the high side.

You might want to take a look at the UK/European food chart again, and see if some of those foods you have been feeding are a bit on the higher end of the carbohydrate range.
 
Would you please consider putting some information in your signature for us?

Your name, cat's name, cat's age, DX: date, insulin (if used), meter used for testing, any other medical conditions your cat has like CKD or Hyper-T, any other medications your cat is on. (putting your fiend Lisa's information in there would be good.)

Will take you about 1 minute and save us enormous amounts of time helping you.
Go to the top right of the screen, click on your user name, drop down list appears, click on signature, type in the data, save changes.

Now all that info appears "magically" at the bottom of your user posts/threads. Helps us immensely to see that.

What was the steroid used? How long ago?
Inhaler of any kind used? like a Flovent?

p.s. See that you are posting on behalf of your Greek friend that does not understand English.
I'm already helping people in 3 other non-English languages. Google translate helps us to communicate better. Not perfectly, but better.
 
Last edited:
;):kiss:
Lisa was last given a cortizone injection a year ago. She has never used an inhaler. Asthma attacks are since then treated with antibiotics but she hasn't had one since before October.
Could a relapse be also caused by weight increase, even if the cat is not obese?
Also, could a %carb increase cause a relapse even if it is within 10% margin?
 
Could a relapse be also caused by weight increase, even if the cat is not obese?
Yes.

A cat that is greater than their ideal weight has less glucose tolerance. Their body can produce some insulin, after giving the pancreas time to heal. But increased cat weight may mean the pancreas is no longer able to produce "enough" insulin to meet a cat's need.

One of the factors for predicting remission relapses, is to test the glucose tolerance. Not sure how cost effective that would be. Vet journal article on (2015) Glycemic Status and Predictors of Relapse for Diabetic Cats in Remission in case you or your Greek friend are interested.

Bottom line: even cats in remission should be tested to see if there blood glucose levels are normal. "Ongoing glucose monitoring of diabetic cats in remission is recommended." With home testing, BG monitoring is the least expensive method. Monitoring at the vet is also possible, but costs more.

Also, could a %carb increase cause a relapse even if it is within 10% margin?
Yes. Some cats are more carb sensitive then others. There is some debate around if lowest carb food is the best for diabetic cats or a slightly higher carb food is better. See this link from a discussion with vet Dr. Lisa Pierson on Feeding Lowest/Zero Carb vs Lower Carb Foods

ECID Every Cat is Different. Some cats do ok on the slightly higher carb foods, but closer to the 10% maximum. Some do not and need lower carb. "Know thy cat" applies here.

Here is a body condition score chart, so your friend can check her cat against this WSAVA Body Condition Score Chart.

p.s. Deb. Who likes to give more than a simple yes or no answer, and provide some explanation behind what she says. (and I did not even see Larry's response before I wrote this.)
 
Thank you very much for your explanatory replies!
My friend is confused, because her vet advised her to put the cat on prescription food for diabetics and then test again.
I saw how good your greek is and asked her to write to you here :).
 
I saw how good your greek is and asked her to write to you here :).
That is google translate helping me out. I use google translate to help me understand languages other than English and German.

Helping people in Italy, Argentina, Spain, France, Canary Islands, UK (British English). Canada, US. Expect a member from our facebook group from Guatemala might come over here looking for help.

Have her post here in this thread. Are you available to help her set up her own user id? And to guide her a little bit on using the message board?
 
Kalypso, Please remove the country from your signature. I mistakenly had you add it and it should not be there. Thanks. Sorry for the bit of extra work.
 
Καλησπέρα σε ολους!!είμαι εγώ που έχω τη Λίζα κι είμαι καινούργια!!έχω μια γατούλα η οποία πριν από περίπου 3χρονια είχε συμπτώματα πολυουριας και πολυδιψιας έτσι έκανα πολλές προσπάθειες με τους γιατρούς να δω τι έχει δε καταλήξαμε πουθενά κι ενώ έκανε εξετάσεις δε βρέθηκε ένας γιατρός να μου πει για γλυκόζη ....κι γω που να ήξερα(να σημειώσω πως έχει πάρει κορτιζόνη)!το Μάη λοιπόν προβηκαμε σε αυτή την εξέταση που τη προτεινε ένας νέος γιατρός κι η γλυκόζη της βγήκε 630 ο γιατρός μου πρότεινε να δώσω ινσουλίνη δε το έκανα άλλαξα γιατρό κι διατροφή της έδινα royal ξηρά για διαβητικα και hill md υγρή και έπεσε στο 340 μέσα σε ένα μήνα χωρίς ιδιαίτερη προσπάθεια εκεί κάναμε κι άλλες εξετάσεις κι από τότε τη παρακαλουθω από τότε έχω δει τιμές 310 160 και 240 τελευταία αλλά φαγωμενη ... Έχω θέμα με τη διατροφή διαβάζω σε φόρουμ ότι βοηθήθηκαν γατούλες με διαβήτη με ειδική τροφουλα κάτι που εγώ δε δίνω εγώ δίνω mac που είναι στη λίστα και τελευταία gourme πάτε δε ξέρω τι να κάνω έλεγα να δοκίμαζα κι γω ξηρά εσείς τι γνώμη έχετε για τις τροφές είμαι πολύ μπερδεμένη σας ευχαριστώ εκ των προτέρων!
 
Translated from Greek to English
"Good afternoon everyone !! I am Lisa and I am new !! I have a kitten who had symptoms of polyuria and polydipsia about 3 years ago so I made many attempts with the doctors to see what had come up now and while examinations were not found a doctor to tell me about glucose .... even though I knew (note that she has taken cortisone)!

so in May we did this test suggested by a new doctor and her glucose came out 630 my doctor suggested I take insulin I didn't change it and her diet was royal dry for diabetic and hill md fluid and dropped to 340 within one month without much effort there we did other exams and since then i have been asking since then i have seen prices 310 160 and 240 last but eaten ... i have a diet issue i read in forum that diabetic kittens were helped with something special which i did not i give i give mac who is in the l and at last go gourme not know what to do say to try and dry due to you what you think of the foods I'm very confused thank you in advance!"
 
Please be patient as I write my reply. There will be more questions for you in the next post.

Your name is Lisa, correct?
Your cat's name is Sophia?
Your cat is not being given insulin right now?
You are looking for better foods for your cat.

Παρακαλώ να είστε υπομονετικοί καθώς γράφω την απάντησή μου. Θα υπάρξουν περισσότερες ερωτήσεις για εσάς στην επόμενη θέση.

Το όνομά σου είναι Λίζα, σωστά;
Το όνομα της γάτας σου είναι η Σοφία;
Η γάτα σας δεν λαμβάνει ινσουλίνη τώρα;
Ψάχνετε για καλύτερα τρόφιμα για τη γάτα σας.

Parakaló na eíste ypomonetikoí kathós gráfo tin apántisí mou. Tha ypárxoun perissóteres erotíseis gia esás stin epómeni thési.

To ónomá sou eínai Líza, sostá?
To ónoma tis gátas sou eínai i Sofía?
I gáta sas den lamvánei insoulíni tóra?
Psáchnete gia kalýtera trófima gia ti gáta sas.
 
Το όνομα μου είναι Διονύσια και της γάτας μου Λίζα!κι δεν έχει πάρει ινσουλίνη κι ψάχνω τροφη
 
Το όνομα μου είναι Διονύσια και της γάτας μου Λίζα!κι δεν έχει πάρει ινσουλίνη κι ψάχνω τροφη
"To ónoma mou eínai Dionýsia kai tis gátas mou Líza!ki den échei párei insoulíni ki psáchno trofi
My name is Dionysia and my cat Lisa!"

Does you cat Lisa like canned pet foods? We also call them wet food, sachets, pouches.
Does she eat the canned foods eagerly?
Μήπως η γάτα σας Lisa σαν κονσέρβες για τα κατοικίδια ζώα; Τους καλούμε επίσης βρεγμένα τρόφιμα, φακελάκια, σακούλες.
Τρώει τρομακτικά τα κονσερβοποιημένα τρόφιμα;
Mípos i gáta sas Lisa san konsérves gia ta katoikídia zóa? Tous kaloúme epísis vregména trófima, fakelákia, sakoúles.
Tróei tromaktiká ta konservopoiiména trófima?

Are you still feeding your cat Lisa the dry food? We also call them kibble, nuggets or dry pet food.
Είσαι ακόμα σίτιζε τη γάτα σου η Λίζα το ξηρό φαγητό; Ονομάζουμε επίσης κροτίδες, ψήγματα ή ξηρά τροφή για κατοικίδια ζώα.
Eísai akóma sítize ti gáta sou i Líza to xiró fagitó? Onomázoume epísis krotídes, psígmata í xirá trofí gia katoikídia zóa.

Does Lisa beg for food or ask to be fed more often?
Η Λίζα ικετεύει για φαγητό ή ζητάει να τροφοδοτείται συχνότερα;
I Líza iketévei gia fagitó í zitáei na trofodoteítai sychnótera?

Is she losing weight?
Χάνει βάρος;
Chánei város?

Is she too skinny? Is she too thin? Does she need to gain weight to be healthy?
Είναι πολύ κοκαλιάρη; Είναι πολύ λεπτή; Χρειάζεται να πάρει βάρος για να είναι υγιής;
Eínai polý kokaliári? Eínai polý leptí? Chreiázetai na párei város gia na eínai ygiís?

I'm using google translate to reply to you. It takes time to write clearly and then translate to your language, Greek, so you can understand what I write. Google translate is not perfect, so sometimes the translated words seem wrong or incorrect. I will try to write as clearly as I can.
Χρησιμοποιώ google translation για να σας απαντήσω. Χρειάζεται χρόνος για να γράψετε με σαφήνεια και μετά να μεταφράσετε στη γλώσσα σας, στα ελληνικά, ώστε να κατανοήσετε αυτό που γράφω. Το Google Translate δεν είναι τέλειο, έτσι μερικές φορές οι μεταφρασμένες λέξεις φαίνονται λανθασμένες ή λανθασμένες. Θα προσπαθήσω να γράψω όσο πιο καθαρά μπορώ.
Chrisimopoió google translation gia na sas apantíso. Chreiázetai chrónos gia na grápsete me safíneia kai metá na metafrásete sti glóssa sas, sta elliniká, óste na katanoísete aftó pou gráfo. To Google Translate den eínai téleio, étsi merikés forés oi metafrasménes léxeis faínontai lanthasménes í lanthasménes. Tha prospathíso na grápso óso pio kathará boró.
 
Καλησπέρα!προσπαθώ κι γω να καταλάβω ....λοιπόν δεν είναι τώρα αδύνατη και έχουν μειωθεί τα συμπτώματα πολυουριας πολυδιψιας επίσης δε ζητάει συενεχεια φαγητό έχουν βελτιωθεί πολύ τα συμπτώματα της από τότε που άλλαξα διατροφή ...παλιά έτρωγε royal canin sterlized κι υπήρξε αδύνατη ενώ έτρωγε ...τώρα όμως είναι εντάξει είμαι σε αναζήτηση τροφής τώρα της δίνω animonda carny και mac (δε της πολυαρεσει)και λίγο ξηρά purina ειδική για διαβητικα...της έδινα και γκουρμέ αλλά τη σταμάτησα
 
Καλησπέρα!προσπαθώ κι γω να καταλάβω ....λοιπόν δεν είναι τώρα αδύνατη και έχουν μειωθεί τα συμπτώματα πολυουριας πολυδιψιας επίσης δε ζητάει συενεχεια φαγητό έχουν βελτιωθεί πολύ τα συμπτώματα της από τότε που άλλαξα διατροφή ...παλιά έτρωγε royal canin sterlized κι υπήρξε αδύνατη ενώ έτρωγε ...τώρα όμως είναι εντάξει είμαι σε αναζήτηση τροφής τώρα της δίνω animonda carny και mac (δε της πολυαρεσει)και λίγο ξηρά purina ειδική για διαβητικα...της έδινα και γκουρμέ αλλά τη σταμάτησα
Translated:
Hello! I'm trying to understand .... so she is not thin now and the symptoms of polyuria and polydipsia have diminished and also she doesn't ask for food all the time, her symptoms have improved greatly since I changed her diet ... she used to eat royal canin sterlized and she was thin although she was eating ... but now she is okay. I am in search for food, now I am giving her animonda carny and mac (she doesn't like it much) and some dry diabetic purina ... I also gave her gourmet but i stopped it.
 
Dionýsia needs to tell me if her cat likes a particular flavor of food.
Beef, Chicken, pork, liver?

Η Διόνυσια πρέπει να μου πει αν η γάτα της αρέσει μια ιδιαίτερη γεύση φαγητού.
Βόειο κρέας, κοτόπουλο, χοιρινό, ήπαρ;
I Diónysia prépei na mou pei an i gáta tis arései mia idiaíteri géfsi fagitoú.
Vóeio kréas, kotópoulo, choirinó, ípar?

The Animonda Carny foods are all beef based. What is the texture of that food?
Τα τρόφιμα Animonda Carny είναι όλα βασισμένα στο βόειο κρέας. Ποια είναι η υφή αυτού του φαγητού;
Ta trófima Animonda Carny eínai óla vasisména sto vóeio kréas. Poia eínai i yfí aftoú tou fagitoú?

Does the cat Lisa like a particular texture of food? Smoother pate style, chunky or shredded, minced or cubes of food?
Η γάτα Lisa μοιάζει με μια ιδιαίτερη υφή φαγητού; Ομαλότερο στυλ πατέ, χονδρό ή τεμαχισμένο, κιμά ή κύβους τροφίμων;
I gáta Lisa moiázei me mia idiaíteri yfí fagitoú? Omalótero styl paté, chondró í temachisméno, kimá í kývous trofímon?

Has she tried crumbling some of the dry food into a fine powder and sprinkling that powder on top of the canned food? Will her cat eat more of that animonda food if she does this?

Προσπάθησε να σπάσει κάποιο από τα ξηρά τρόφιμα σε μια λεπτή σκόνη και να ρίξει τη σκόνη πάνω από τα κονσερβοποιημένα τρόφιμα; Η γάτα της θα τρώει περισσότερα από αυτά τα τρόφιμα animonda αν το κάνει αυτό;
Prospáthise na spásei kápoio apó ta xirá trófima se mia leptí skóni kai na ríxei ti skóni páno apó ta konservopoiiména trófima? I gáta tis tha tróei perissótera apó aftá ta trófima animonda an to kánei aftó?
 
Καλημέρα!!λοιπόν δεν έχω παρατηρήσει τι της αρέσει περισσότερο αλλά σίγουρα να χει έντονη μυρωδιά για αυτό της άρεσε το γκουρμέ (ήταν πάτε)σίγουρα όμως θα προτιμούσε αυτά με τη μορφή σάλτσας από όσο θυμάμαι από παλιά
 
Καλημέρα!!λοιπόν δεν έχω παρατηρήσει τι της αρέσει περισσότερο αλλά σίγουρα να χει έντονη μυρωδιά για αυτό της άρεσε το γκουρμέ (ήταν πάτε)σίγουρα όμως θα προτιμούσε αυτά με τη μορφή σάλτσας από όσο θυμάμαι από παλιά
Translating:
Good morning !! So, I haven't noticed what she likes more, but she definitely prefers for it to have a strong smell and this is why she liked gourmet (pate) but she would definitely prefer it in the form of sauces as I remember from the past!

Note of the translator:
She is currently on animonda carny pate, mac's pate and purina DM dry. She discontinued gourmet because it caused her unwanted symptoms (in poo and peeing).
She doesn't really like animonda carny and mac's, and isn't that fond of the purina either.
(Σημείωση μεταφραστή: Τώρα τρώει animonda carny πατέ, mac's πατέ και purina dm ξηρή. Σταμάτησε τη gourmet γιατί της προκαλούσε ανεπιθύμητα συμτπώματα (σε κακά και κατούρημα). Δεν της αρέσει αρκετά ούτε η animonda carny ούτε η mac's, και ούτε και η purina της αρέσει ιδιαίτερα.)
 
I think Dionýsia needs to take her cat Lisa back to the vet. She needs to start giving her cat insulin. The best insulins for cats are Prozinc, Lantus or Levimir. In European countries many veterinarians only prescribe Caninsulin. It does not work as well in some cats but other cats do well on Caninsulin. But some type of insulin is better than no insulin at all.

Νομίζω ότι η Διόνυσια πρέπει να πάρει τη γάτα της Λίζα πίσω στον κτηνίατρο. Πρέπει να ξεκινήσει να δίνει τη γάτα της ινσουλίνη. Οι καλύτερες ινσουλίνες για γάτες είναι Prozinc, Lantus ή Levimir. Στις ευρωπαϊκές χώρες πολλοί κτηνίατροι συνταγογραφούν μόνο το Caninsulin. Δεν λειτουργεί καλά σε μερικές γάτες, αλλά άλλες γάτες κάνουν καλά στην Caninsulin. Ωστόσο, κάποιο είδος ινσουλίνης είναι καλύτερο από ότι δεν υπάρχει καθόλου ινσουλίνη.
Nomízo óti i Diónysia prépei na párei ti gáta tis Líza píso ston ktiníatro. Prépei na xekinísei na dínei ti gáta tis insoulíni. Oi kalýteres insoulínes gia gátes eínai Prozinc, Lantus í Levimir. Stis evropaïkés chóres polloí ktiníatroi syntagografoún móno to Caninsulin. Den leitourgeí kalá se merikés gátes, allá álles gátes kánoun kalá stin Caninsulin. Ostóso, kápoio eídos insoulínis eínai kalýtero apó óti den ypárchei kathólou insoulíni.

Bottom line, I think her cat may need some insulin. Feline diabetes can not always be controlled by diet alone.
There are other reasons why a cat may be urinating excessively.
Κάτω, νομίζω ότι η γάτα της μπορεί να χρειαστεί κάποια ινσουλίνη. Ο διαβήτης αιλουροειδών δεν μπορεί πάντοτε να ελέγχεται μόνο με τη διατροφή.
Υπάρχουν και άλλοι λόγοι για τους οποίους μια γάτα μπορεί να ούρηση υπερβολικά.
Káto, nomízo óti i gáta tis boreí na chreiasteí kápoia insoulíni. O diavítis ailouroeidón den boreí pántote na elénchetai móno me ti diatrofí.
Ypárchoun kai álloi lógoi gia tous opoíous mia gáta boreí na oúrisi ypervoliká.

Dionýsia needs to take her cat to a veterinarian and get started with insulin. She should also double check with her vet to see if the most recent blood work test results showed other problems. These include kidney issues and hyperthyroidism. To see if there are other reasons for the symptoms she is seeing with her cat. All the medical issues with a cat need to be treated at the same time.

Η Διονύσια πρέπει να πάρει τη γάτα της σε κτηνίατρο και να ξεκινήσει με ινσουλίνη. Θα πρέπει επίσης να ελέγξει διπλά με τον κτηνίατρό της για να δει αν τα πιο πρόσφατα αποτελέσματα των εξετάσεων αίματος έδειξαν άλλα προβλήματα. Αυτά περιλαμβάνουν τα προβλήματα των νεφρών και τον υπερθυρεοειδισμό. Για να δείτε αν υπάρχουν άλλοι λόγοι για τα συμπτώματα που βλέπει με τη γάτα της. Όλα τα ιατρικά θέματα με μια γάτα πρέπει να αντιμετωπίζονται ταυτόχρονα.
I Dionýsia prépei na párei ti gáta tis se ktiníatro kai na xekinísei me insoulíni. Tha prépei epísis na elénxei diplá me ton ktiníatró tis gia na dei an ta pio prósfata apotelésmata ton exetáseon aímatos édeixan álla provlímata. Aftá perilamvánoun ta provlímata ton nefrón kai ton yperthyreoeidismó. Gia na deíte an ypárchoun álloi lógoi gia ta symptómata pou vlépei me ti gáta tis. Óla ta iatriká thémata me mia gáta prépei na antimetopízontai taftóchrona.

Does Dionýsia have recent bloodwork test results to share with us?
Έχει η Dionýsia πρόσφατα αποτελέσματα δοκιμών αίματος για να μοιραστεί μαζί μας;
Échei i Dionýsia prósfata apotelésmata dokimón aímatos gia na moirasteí mazí mas?

Is Greek the only language Dionýsia understands?
Είναι η ελληνική η μόνη γλώσσα που καταλαβαίνει η Διονυσία;
Eínai i ellinikí i móni glóssa pou katalavaínei i Dionysía?

Does she understand written French by any chance?
Γνωρίζει γραπτώς γαλλικά με κάθε ευκαιρία;
Gnorízei graptós galliká me káthe efkairía?
 
Has she tried to add water to the wet (canned, pouches) food so it has more of that "sauce" quality? Making the food more like a thick soup or sauce or gravy can be appealing to a cat. Try adding 1 or 2 teaspoons (5 to 10 grams) of water to the food.

Προσπάθησε να προσθέσει νερό στα υγρά (κονσερβοποιημένα, σακουλάκια) τρόφιμα, ώστε να έχει περισσότερο από αυτή την ποιότητα "σάλτσας"; Κάνοντας το φαγητό περισσότερο σαν μια παχιά σούπα ή σάλτσα ή σάλτσα μπορεί να είναι ελκυστική για μια γάτα. Προσπαθήστε να προσθέσετε 1 ή 2 κουταλάκια του γλυκού (5 έως 10 γραμμάρια) νερό στο φαγητό.
Prospáthise na prosthései neró sta ygrá (konservopoiiména, sakoulákia) trófima, óste na échei perissótero apó aftí tin poiótita "sáltsas"? Kánontas to fagitó perissótero san mia pachiá soúpa í sáltsa í sáltsa boreí na eínai elkystikí gia mia gáta. Prospathíste na prosthésete 1 í 2 koutalákia tou glykoú (5 éos 10 grammária) neró sto fagitó.

You say her cat likes strong smelling foods.
Instead of beef flavors, how about some of the seafood flavors?

Λες ότι η γάτα της αρέσει στα έντονα μυρωδικά τρόφιμα.
Αντί για τις γεύσεις του βοείου κρέατος, τι γίνεται με μερικές από τις γεύσεις θαλασσινών;
Les óti i gáta tis arései sta éntona myrodiká trófima.
Antí gia tis géfseis tou voeíou kréatos, ti gínetai me merikés apó tis géfseis thalassinón?

Does she have canned or fresh sardines available? Or herring? or anchovies? She might try chopping up a small portion of sardines or other strong smelling fish. Add that chopped fish to the canned food she does feed. Either chopped fish sprinkled on top of the food to entice her cat Lisa to eat. Or take some of the chopped seafood, add it to the canned food, stir and mix well into the food. Small amounts. 1 or 2 teaspoons (5 to 10 grams). Maybe a little bit more if that will get her cat to eat more of the canned foods she has right now.

Διαθέτει κονσέρβες ή φρέσκες σαρδέλες; Ή η ρέγγα; ή αντσούγιες; Μπορεί να προσπαθήσει να κόψει ένα μικρό κομμάτι σαρδέλας ή άλλου ισχυρού μυρωδιού ψαριού. Προσθέστε αυτό το ψιλοκομμένο ψάρι στο κονσερβοποιημένο φαγητό που τρέφει. Είτε ψιλοκομμένο ψάρι πασπαλισμένο πάνω από το φαγητό για να δελεάσει τη γάτα της Λίζα να φάει. Ή πάρτε μερικά από τα ψιλοκομμένα θαλασσινά, προσθέστε το στο κονσερβοποιημένο φαγητό, ανακατέψτε και ανακατέψτε καλά στο φαγητό. Μικρές ποσότητες. 1 ή 2 κουταλάκια του γλυκού (5 έως 10 γραμμάρια). Ίσως λίγο περισσότερο εάν αυτό θα πάρει τη γάτα της για να φάει περισσότερα από τα κονσερβοποιημένα τρόφιμα που έχει αυτή τη στιγμή.
Diathétei konsérves í fréskes sardéles? Í i rénga? í antsoúgies? Boreí na prospathísei na kópsei éna mikró kommáti sardélas í állou ischyroú myrodioú psarioú. Prosthéste aftó to psilokomméno psári sto konservopoiiméno fagitó pou tréfei. Eíte psilokomméno psári paspalisméno páno apó to fagitó gia na deleásei ti gáta tis Líza na fáei. Í párte meriká apó ta psilokomména thalassiná, prosthéste to sto konservopoiiméno fagitó, anakatépste kai anakatépste kalá sto fagitó. Mikrés posótites. 1 í 2 koutalákia tou glykoú (5 éos 10 grammária). Ísos lígo perissótero eán aftó tha párei ti gáta tis gia na fáei perissótera apó ta konservopoiiména trófima pou échei aftí ti stigmí.

What foods are available at her local grocery store (supermarket) or a specialty pet store?
Does Dionýsia order foods from Zooplus or another online pet food retailer?

Ποια τρόφιμα διατίθενται στο τοπικό κατάστημα τροφίμων (σούπερ μάρκετ) ή σε ειδικό κατάστημα κατοικίδιων ζώων;
Η Dionýsia παραγγείλει τρόφιμα από το Zooplus ή από άλλο ηλεκτρονικό κατάστημα λιανικής πώλησης κατοικίδιων ζώων;
Poia trófima diatíthentai sto topikó katástima trofímon (soúper márket) í se eidikó katástima katoikídion zóon?
I Dionýsia parangeílei trófima apó to Zooplus í apó állo ilektronikó katástima lianikís pólisis katoikídion zóon?
 
Here is some results, Dionysia can fill me in if I'm wrong (Εδώ είναι κάποια αποτελέσματα, η Διονυσία μπορεί να με διορθώσει αν είμαι λάθος):
  • 05 February 2020 :
Blood glucose was 240 measured inhouse by the vet. Rest of results (Η γλυκόζη μετρήθηκε 240 στον κτηνίατρο. Τα υπόλοιπα αποτελέσματα: ):

upload_2020-2-9_19-58-47.png


upload_2020-2-9_19-59-39.png

note: above you see biochemical exams: creatinine, urea, alt (sgpt) and hormonological exams: fructosamine

  • October 2019 :
Blood glucose was 166 measured inhouse by the vet. (Η γλυκόζη μετρήθηκε 166 στον κτηνίατρο)

  • 22 June 2019 :
I couldn't find the value of glucose, but I remember Lisa was stealing low quality food for outdoor cats at the time.
(Δε βρίσκω τιμή για τη γλυκόζη, αλλά από ότι θυμάμαι η Λίζα τότε έκλεβε τροφή χαμηλής ποιότητας που προοριζόταν για άλλες γάτες)

upload_2020-2-9_20-9-27.png

(note: hormonological exams: fructosamine, cortisol)
upload_2020-2-9_20-8-50.png

(note: biochemical analysis: K, Na, hormonological analysis: FT4)
upload_2020-2-9_20-10-59.png


(note: urine tests: yellow, blurry, special gravity 1005, ph 6.0, total proteins: traces, glucose 1000 mg/dL)

Finally, as far as I know, she does shop from zooplus (Τέλος, από όσο ξέρω, ψωνίζει και από το zooplus).
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-2-9_19-58-47.png
    upload_2020-2-9_19-58-47.png
    115.1 KB · Views: 371
  • upload_2020-2-9_19-59-39.png
    upload_2020-2-9_19-59-39.png
    22.7 KB · Views: 337
  • upload_2020-2-9_20-8-50.png
    upload_2020-2-9_20-8-50.png
    20 KB · Views: 343
  • upload_2020-2-9_20-9-27.png
    upload_2020-2-9_20-9-27.png
    14.3 KB · Views: 348
  • upload_2020-2-9_20-10-59.png
    upload_2020-2-9_20-10-59.png
    29.7 KB · Views: 343
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top