Follow up question for hammy post doctor visit

hello, my cat hammy was diagnosed with diabetes about 2 months ago and has been on lantus for about 6 weeks now. this morning his blood sugar was 122mg and i was afraid of shooting too low since im still a noob at this so i skipped a dose at 10am. i just checked his bg number and he is at 447mg. he feels warm to the touch, and im about to check for a fever, he vomited whitish foamy spots 3 times just now and is standing like he is constipated or uncomfortable and is meowing quietly asking for help. What should i do? Should i shoot him now or wait until 10pm his normal time? Do i take himto emergency animal hospital? what do i do? I'm kind of freaking out a bit.
 
hello, my cat hammy was diagnosed with diabetes about 2 months ago and has been on lantus for about 6 weeks now. this morning his blood sugar was 122mg and i was afraid of shooting too low since im still a noob at this so i skipped a dose at 10am. i just checked his bg number and he is at 447mg. he feels warm to the touch, and im about to check for a fever, he vomited whitish foamy spots 3 times just now and is standing like he is constipated or uncomfortable and is meowing quietly asking for help. What should i do? Should i shoot him now or wait until 10pm his normal time? Do i take himto emergency animal hospital? what do i do? I'm kind of freaking out a bit.
Here is your first post for continuity.https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...n-and-hammy-introduction.295541/#post-3218993
What is the dose of Lantus you are giving him?
It sounds as if you are hometesting the blood glucose, is that correct?
It would be good if you could set up a spreadsheet and add some data as that will help us to be able to help you, especially in situations like this. You were given the link to the Spreadsheet and signature last thread which I have linked here.

He may be in pain. I would check his temperature and tell us what it is please.
Have you tried to get him to eat anything else since he vomited?
How many hours until his next dose is due? I would not give him a dose now but you may be able to give it a bit earlier than normal if that still fits in with your schedule.
 
thnak you.
he usually gets 1 unit at 10am and at 10pm, so twice a day.
yes, I am testing 3 times a day at home and shooting him myself.
ill update in a min with his temp
he wants to eat but doesnt
 
thnak you.
he usually gets 1 unit at 10am and at 10pm, so twice a day.
yes, I am testing 3 times a day at home and shooting him myself.
ill update in a min with his temp
he wants to eat but doesnt
Hey man, people are all around the world, so you might be in a different time zone than us. How long ago was the AM shot?
 
i'm sorry. I'm in california, los angeles time. its currently 824pm. his last dose was 1040pm last night, 1.5 units.

thursdy meal test-1045am; 163mg- shot@1045am 1 Unit
thursday midshot test 450pm- 278mg
thursday meal test 1040pm: 300mg- fed then shot 1.5 units@ 1045pm

Friday additional test at 430am: 258mg
friday meal test 1035am- 122mg: fed then skipped shot
now: 447mg tested @ 730pm
 
his temp is 103.8F
Up to 102.5 is normal so he does have a temperature.
And if he is wanting to eat but won’t/can’t that sounds like nausea to me.
He could have pancreatitis with the nausea, vomiting, temp and possibly in pain.
I would take him to the ER if I were you and ask for them to test for pancreatitis. That will be a fPL spec or an fPL snap test. It is not in the normal routine blood tests.
And I would ask them to test for ketones as well.
And I would take your insulin with you to the ER in case they want to give a dose a bit later.
 
ive been testing him for ketones with ketostix once or twice a week , so far so good but ill ask them to test for it and for pancreatitis thank you.

I believe this is all related to his high bg #, he was doing great last night and this morning. its only been the last few hours he started acting different
 
hi all. tonight was traumatizing. So hammy's ketone level and pancreatitis are good. He has a slight infection that he was given a shot for and a shot to reduce his fever along with subcu fluids. so for that, the office visit and two tests it was $800. Highway robbery if you ask me. Also, for about 30 mins they had mixed up hammys blood work and i was led to believe he was in severe renal failure and dying. Thank god i asked about what test told them that and the doctor then double checked because i did not order a basic blood workup since he had one two months ago. The vet also told me it wasnt really necessary to check his blood 3 times a day and that i should only check his fructosamine levels like every 3 weeks. Not sure i agree with that. He told me he had like 30 years of mostly cat experiance so go figure. I may bring him back tomorrow night to get more fluids but thats it. Thank you all for being a voice in the drk for me to read and help me stay calm.
 
hi all. tonight was traumatizing. So hammy's ketone level and pancreatitis are good. He has a slight infection that he was given a shot for and a shot to reduce his fever along with subcu fluids. so for that, the office visit and two tests it was $800. Highway robbery if you ask me. Also, for about 30 mins they had mixed up hammys blood work and i was led to believe he was in severe renal failure and dying. Thank god i asked about what test told them that and the doctor then double checked because i did not order a basic blood workup since he had one two months ago. The vet also told me it wasnt really necessary to check his blood 3 times a day and that i should only check his fructosamine levels like every 3 weeks. Not sure i agree with that. He told me he had like 30 years of mostly cat experiance so go figure. I may bring him back tomorrow night to get more fluids but thats it. Thank you all for being a voice in the drk for me to read and help me stay calm.

I'm so glad Hammy is a bit better.
 
i feel like hammy isnt quite out of the woods completely yet. He iw feeling better but last night strained to go poop 3 times and all that came out each time was a small quater sized blob of mucusy poop. The last piece also had a bit of blood in it. Im hearing back from the urgent care doctor today when he comes in at 5pm California PST but im in the dark as to what to do until then if anything. He got his shot late last night and is at the end of the time before he misses a dose now but im not sure if i should shoot him if anything. His BG is at 108mg right now and I dont usually shoot below 180 or so as im still a noob but last time (yesterday ) when His BG was 122 and I skipped a dose it went all the way up to 447mg and played a part in all this mess. Not sure what to do
 
Aaron, you might want to update your title to reflect that you have a new question (select the drop down arrow in the title and select "question") so that people can see you have a new issue--you might even update the question for them in the title.
 
You will have noticed that most of us have set up a spreadsheet showing our cat's blood sugar values. We have a really hard time helping people with dosing without seeing that historical data. If you could do the last couple weeks for Hammy, that would really help. The instructions on how to do so are in this post: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

The post also includes information on how to update your signature. What we suggest also depends on some of the answers there, like what type of food Hammy is eating now.

For the short term, one option is for you to delay (without feeding), and see is he's come up higher where you feel comfortable shooting. Note, if you shoot an hour later, tonights shot is also one hour later, but tomorrow you can move up the shots by 1/2 hour once per day, or 15 minutes per shot.
 
I updated the title, thank you for teacing me how to do that. I hope the new title is better if not, let me know. He has little appetitie right now, he shows interest then doesnt eat much. usually he was eating 1.5 3.3 oz cans and early this mornign had just half of one can and then about 1pm had a quarter can. I will wait to feed and test until either i hear fromthe doctor if if taking him back in or tonight with his shot. Could his infection be throwing off his BG numbers?
 
I updated the title, thank you for teacing me how to do that. I hope the new title is better if not, let me know. He has little appetitie right now, he shows interest then doesnt eat much. usually he was eating 1.5 3.3 oz cans and early this mornign had just half of one can and then about 1pm had a quarter can. I will wait to feed and test until either i hear fromthe doctor if if taking him back in or tonight with his shot. Could his infection be throwing off his BG numbers?

Yes, that title is better. There is actually a drop down arrow you can select that has the word "question" on it, but I think Wendy has offered the advice that you are needing right now, so I think I would not make that change.

Please do your best to comply with @Wendy&Neko's requests about necessary information to offer guidance to you regarding Hammy. She is a moderator of the group, and is incredibly knowledgeable, but, as stated, she cannot adequately help you and Hammy without you providing certain important information.
 
It sounds like he is nauseated. Do you have any anti nauseated medication such as cerenia or ondansetron? I would ask the vet for some of those. It is really important that diabetic cats get enough food and enough insulin otherwise they will run into trouble with ketones. And if he has an infection, it is all the more important to get on top of things and get him eating again and getting insulin.
Offer him whatever he will eat at the moment as he needs to be eating well.
Can you contact the vet today about antinausea medication?
If you need help with the spreadsheet I can ask @Bandit's Mom to help you. We can’t really help much unless we can see the BG data.

Here is a link to STIMULATING KITTY’S APPETITE
 
The vet also told me it wasnt really necessary to check his blood 3 times a day and that i should only check his fructosamine levels like every 3 weeks. Not sure i agree with that. He told me he had like 30 years of mostly cat experiance so go figure
I do not agree with your vet on this. Just using a fructosamine test every 3 weeks is an old fashioned way of treating feline diabetes. This test only gives you an average of the last few weeks BGs…and doesn’t give you the highs and lows. And anything can happen in 3 days, let alone in three weeks. Please continue to hometest. This is the best way to keep Hammy safe and to get him into a good dose.
 
Back
Top