once they know they are going to get a treat after, it gets much easier. Honestly after the first week my cat didn't even react to it at all.I'm going to have to start keeping a spreadsheet like you all do. How on earth do you test your kitties so frequently??? Do you have someone help you? He hates sitting still for them and I did them on my own the first couple of times - tore both of his ears.![]()
I can't keep going any longer, Alexi. I'm so sorry but given current circumstances I'm sure you'll all understand.Bear in mind he has had syrup and it wears off quickly so he may well drop again.

We'd only test that frequently if a kitty was running low. A fair proportion of us test on average about 4-5 times a day (2 preshot tests, 2 mid-cycle and maybe an extra 'before bed' test in my case).How on earth do you test your kitties so frequently???
she's in good hands... we've got this. go take care of yourself.I can't keep going any longer, Alexi. I'm so sorry but given current circumstances I'm sure you'll all understand.
My thoughts:
Even with karo any rise in BG thus far hasn't been big so far and hasn't held yet (alas! no gravy!). With a low like this and a large depot it it may require intensive monitoring well into the next cycle.
Try to get someone from the L&L group ASAP to review the situation and give input.
If in any doubt then perhaps best to do the karo on the gums/ER trip. (Always better to err on the side of caution.)
Fingers and paws crossed for all to be well.
Mogs
.
she's in good hands... we've got this. go take care of yourself.![]()
that's very good news.Just took BG reading again - 110 mg/dl (with correct code)
Gave Fancy Feast Broths packet (1.4oz and Karo syrup on gums at 4:00pm). Will measure again in 15.
Bear in mind he has had syrup and it wears off quickly so he may well drop again.
ok - we could be here some time, how long since insulin now?
that's very good news.
Sorry but I am in a different time zone completely so need to know number of hours since the shot.
thanks, Kristen.Thank you Janet! I'm Kristen, by the way. Realize I didn't have my name here, just my user name. I'm so impressed that your kitty went into remission! Congratulations.
Indeed - that's why the scribbled notes help (would go out of your head otherwise).This is stressful

Final thoughts:
1. Karo should not be necessary any time BG tests above 70.
2. A dose reduction is needed. Post on L&L board for dosing input before giving another dose of insulin.
3. With the low today your little fella may become more sensitive to insulin and that will need to be taken into consideration for dose reduction and how closely you need to monitor over the nect few days.
.
ok - can you test again in another 20 mins?
So, 4 units Lantus was given nearly 8.5 hours ago.
What preshot number..?
Most recent BG is (a rising number of ) 113, with no food or Karo for approx 40 mins.
.
when you realized the code was wrong and retested you had already given the syrup, so it is possible that it was quite lower than 70 a few min earlier. Glad you got the code figured out though.This is all great advice, thank you.
1. I understand Karo is a last-resort type intervention. At the time, he was reading 45 mg/dl but then I realized the code on my glucometer was incorrect. I made the change to the correct code and he read 71 mg/dl.
2. I agree that a dose reduction is needed. I will post on the Lantus board.
3. Great point. Thank you again for all your help.
Plain chicken treats with no carbs wouldn't affect the numbers.Preshot number was 270 after forgetting we were doing BG curve today and giving 2-3 dehydrated chicken treats.
Yes, most recent BG is 113 after no food for 40 mins.
Plain chicken treats with no carbs wouldn't affect the numbers.
You really are doing fantastic.
You may have saved your cat's life today.

Just checked my SS as I had noted when I did the incorrect code and it made little difference to the numbers. Mogs just lost her precious sweet baby cat so it's amazing she is posting at all, she is awesome!
I had a hypo scare early on and these nice folks had my back through it. It's comforting to not feel alone.Thank you, Janet!!!! It certainly is no fun but having people who have been there to help you through makes A WORLD of difference.![]()
ok - this could be a long night as he has dropped slightly again![]()
You might try to get him to eat another small bit of gravy from the food. He's still in a safe zone, but we want those numbers going up not down.

Hi Kirsten, sorry you are getting a baptism by fire. We see it a lot when people start home testing. Good for you on getting that going.
With him over 100, you don't have to test as frequently, he's essentially the same number within meter variance. You could give him some of his regular low carb food. Not too much, we don't want him full in case you need to feed later. You could test in 3/4 of an hour after the last test, maybe as long as an hour. High carb food such as gravy can wear off after two hours, so you want to test around two hours after you gave the first gravy.
As for dose, at this point I would reduce to 3.5 units. Do you have syringes with half unit markings?
I think we are at +9.5 now? @Wendy&Neko He was on 3 units and then raised to 4 units which strikes me as a large dose jump for Lantus and Kirsten has only just started testing, I'm not clear of the timescales on previous or current dose.
Kirsten - can you help us out with some dates?
I am so sorry I just saw this.... looks like you got some expert eyes on you ....On the alpha track the take action number is 68 so he is a bit low.
Do you have any gravy type food available? The dry will take a while to kick in.
Lantus is a long acting insulin so I will tag some Lantus users to see if they can help.
@Bobbie And Bubba @jayla-n-Drevon are you able to look in?
