First time BG Curve at home - 58 mg/dl just now

Status
Not open for further replies.
We can take you through everything you need to know but the spreadsheet and so on can wait until he's out of this. Getting the readings does get easier with practice but I'd say you were doing pretty good so far.
 
I'm going to have to start keeping a spreadsheet like you all do. How on earth do you test your kitties so frequently??? Do you have someone help you? He hates sitting still for them and I did them on my own the first couple of times - tore both of his ears. :(
once they know they are going to get a treat after, it gets much easier. Honestly after the first week my cat didn't even react to it at all.
 
Bear in mind he has had syrup and it wears off quickly so he may well drop again.
I can't keep going any longer, Alexi. I'm so sorry but given current circumstances I'm sure you'll all understand.

My thoughts:

Even with karo any rise in BG thus far hasn't been big and hasn't held yet (alas! no gravy!). With a low like this and a large depot it may require intensive monitoring well into the next cycle.

Try to get someone experienced from the L&L group ASAP to review the situation and give input.

If in any doubt then perhaps best to do the karo on the gums+ER trip. (Always better to err on the side of caution.)

Fingers and paws crossed for all to be well. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
How on earth do you test your kitties so frequently???
We'd only test that frequently if a kitty was running low. A fair proportion of us test on average about 4-5 times a day (2 preshot tests, 2 mid-cycle and maybe an extra 'before bed' test in my case).


Mogs
.
 
I can't keep going any longer, Alexi. I'm so sorry but given current circumstances I'm sure you'll all understand.

My thoughts:

Even with karo any rise in BG thus far hasn't been big so far and hasn't held yet (alas! no gravy!). With a low like this and a large depot it it may require intensive monitoring well into the next cycle.

Try to get someone from the L&L group ASAP to review the situation and give input.

If in any doubt then perhaps best to do the karo on the gums/ER trip. (Always better to err on the side of caution.)

Fingers and paws crossed for all to be well. :bighug:


Mogs
.
she's in good hands... we've got this. go take care of yourself. :)
 
This is stressful
Indeed - that's why the scribbled notes help (would go out of your head otherwise). ;)

Members will stay with you both for as long as this takes. I'm sorry I can't stay myself but keeping fingers and paws crossed for all to go smoothly and safely.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I have also posted on the Lantus forum so someone from there should join in at some point.

Kirsten what is important at this point is we see him rising on his own without need for intervention. If you need to intervene that's fine but he has been on big doses for some time and with Lantus there is a cumulative effect of the doses so those doses are still working and will carry on for some time so he may go low again from here. Have you plenty of strips as you are going to need them.
 
Final thoughts:

1. Karo should not be necessary any time BG tests above 70.

2. A dose reduction is needed. Post on L&L board for dosing input before giving another dose of insulin.

3. With the low today your little fella may become more sensitive to insulin and that will need to be taken into consideration for dose reduction and how closely you need to monitor over the nect few days.


Mogs
.
 
Approximate details (most recent update)

Preshot number.. 270, 4 units Lantus
Most recent BG at + 8.5? is (a rising number of ) 113, with no food or Karo for approx 40 mins.


Details edited to incorporate new info.
 
Last edited:
Final thoughts:

1. Karo should not be necessary any time BG tests above 70.

2. A dose reduction is needed. Post on L&L board for dosing input before giving another dose of insulin.

3. With the low today your little fella may become more sensitive to insulin and that will need to be taken into consideration for dose reduction and how closely you need to monitor over the nect few days.

.

This is all great advice, thank you.

1. I understand Karo is a last-resort type intervention. At the time, he was reading 45 mg/dl but then I realized the code on my glucometer was incorrect. I made the change to the correct code and he read 71 mg/dl.

2. I agree that a dose reduction is needed. I will post on the Lantus board.

3. Great point. Thank you again for all your help.
 
This is all great advice, thank you.

1. I understand Karo is a last-resort type intervention. At the time, he was reading 45 mg/dl but then I realized the code on my glucometer was incorrect. I made the change to the correct code and he read 71 mg/dl.

2. I agree that a dose reduction is needed. I will post on the Lantus board.

3. Great point. Thank you again for all your help.
when you realized the code was wrong and retested you had already given the syrup, so it is possible that it was quite lower than 70 a few min earlier. Glad you got the code figured out though.
 
Will test again in about 10 minutes - I know we're not out of the woods entirely, but thank you for helping me through this. You all are my heroes.
 
Just checked my SS as I had noted when I did the incorrect code and it made little difference to the numbers. Mogs just lost her precious sweet baby cat so it's amazing she is posting at all, she is awesome!
 
Just checked my SS as I had noted when I did the incorrect code and it made little difference to the numbers. Mogs just lost her precious sweet baby cat so it's amazing she is posting at all, she is awesome!

Yes, she is. I am so sorry, Mogs.

Good to know about the code... Still such a crazy thing.
 
Last reading - 103 mg/dl. Last food & sm. amount of Karo syrup 60 minutes ago. Gave him 3 Hill's Crunchy Naturals treats as rewards for the testing.
Will test again in 15 minutes.
 
You might try to get him to eat another small bit of gravy from the food. He's still in a safe zone, but we want those numbers going up not down.
 
Thank you, Janet!!!! It certainly is no fun but having people who have been there to help you through makes A WORLD of difference. :kiss:
I had a hypo scare early on and these nice folks had my back through it. It's comforting to not feel alone.
 
Hi Kirsten, sorry you are getting a baptism by fire. We see it a lot when people start home testing. Good for you on getting that going. :bighug:

With him over 100, you don't have to test as frequently, he's essentially the same number within meter variance. You could give him some of his regular low carb food. Not too much, we don't want him full in case you need to feed later. You could test in 3/4 of an hour after the last test, maybe as long as an hour. High carb food such as gravy can wear off after two hours, so you want to test around two hours after you gave the first gravy.

As for dose, at this point I would reduce to 3.5 units. Do you have syringes with half unit markings?
 
Hi Kirsten, sorry you are getting a baptism by fire. We see it a lot when people start home testing. Good for you on getting that going. :bighug:

With him over 100, you don't have to test as frequently, he's essentially the same number within meter variance. You could give him some of his regular low carb food. Not too much, we don't want him full in case you need to feed later. You could test in 3/4 of an hour after the last test, maybe as long as an hour. High carb food such as gravy can wear off after two hours, so you want to test around two hours after you gave the first gravy.

As for dose, at this point I would reduce to 3.5 units. Do you have syringes with half unit markings?

Hi Wendy!
Thank you for your response. He dropped down to 91 this last time... So I'm not feeling so confident. Gave him a couple more teaspoonfuls of brothy Fancy Feast and will measure again here in about five minutes.

Our syringes do have half unit markings, so it shouldn't be hard to measure that. Thank you for your help!!!
-Kristen
 
I think we are at +9.5 now? @Wendy&Neko He was on 3 units and then raised to 4 units which strikes me as a large dose jump for Lantus and Kirsten has only just started testing, I'm not clear of the timescales on previous or current dose.

Kirsten - can you help us out with some dates?
 
I think we are at +9.5 now? @Wendy&Neko He was on 3 units and then raised to 4 units which strikes me as a large dose jump for Lantus and Kirsten has only just started testing, I'm not clear of the timescales on previous or current dose.

Kirsten - can you help us out with some dates?

Yes...
He was diagnosed on 8/17/2016 and started on 3U Lantus BID.
First BG curve was done on 9/1/2016. Went something like this:
1. Pre-shot AM - ~470
2. 4 hours post-shot - 250
3. Pre-shot PM - ~350

At that time, he was increased to 4U BID. He has been on that since, so for almost the entire month of September he's been getting 4U BID.

Today was the first time I did a curve at home to check the levels given this new dosage.
 
On the alpha track the take action number is 68 so he is a bit low.
Do you have any gravy type food available? The dry will take a while to kick in.

Lantus is a long acting insulin so I will tag some Lantus users to see if they can help.

@Bobbie And Bubba @jayla-n-Drevon are you able to look in?
I am so sorry I just saw this.... looks like you got some expert eyes on you ....
I just want to add to bring my boy up I usually need something around at least 18% carb if it is near his "dive" time--if he is past that something lower (10-15% will work-)
:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top