First shot, I don't think I did it right.

Status
Not open for further replies.

keykey

Member Since 2022
This was my first time doing this. Did the tent and needle, it felt like it went in just fine. Cat didn't care at all she's super chill.

However, when I went to press the plunger it felt like it didn't move at all. It was weird. Removing the needle, it looks like the plunger did move, as the measurement had gone down 2 units. But I didn't feel it move at all! Felt her back and didn't feel anything really wet.

Looking for an explanation, I'm looking at the syringes the pharmacy sold me and they're labeled extra small needles. They're only 1/4" in length. Is this too short to do this correctly? I've read 5/16ths and 1/2" needles are available, but I was sold 1/4" lengths. These syringes are made for humans, but I was told that they would work just the same with my cat.

Is this the reason why it felt like the plunger didn't move, or is it something else? This is all so overwhelming to me and I just want my cat to feel better.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
If there was no wet patch on the fur, you most likely gave the dose correctly. It is only a very small amount to push in.
Can you tell us what type of insulin you are using and what type of needles please?
2 units is a bigger dose than normal to start with. 1/2 to 1 unit is the normal starting dose.
Are you feeding a low carb wet diet or a dry food diet?

Have you thought about home testing the blood glucose? It is the only way you can keep your kitty really safe..
Here is a link for new members. Make sure you set up the hypo kit as you may need it and you will want to have the necessary things right there if hypo symptoms appear or the BG drops too low.
HELP US HELP YOU

It is overwhelming in the beg but you have found us and we can help you through this.
Keep asking questions:)
 
The insulin is just called "Insulin Glargine." Says it's generic for Lantus. It's U100, and it says on the package "Inject 2 units two times a day." The needles are Publix brand and they're just called "Extra Short Needle Insulin Syringes." 1/4" length slimline needle and 31 gauge.

She's used to dry kibble and grazing for her meals (probably why she got diabetes.) The vet sent me home with some Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets DM dry kibble. For this first injection I knew she needed to eat a good amount before I gave her the injection, so I kept her food away from her until around 7:30pm. I did mix the DM kibble with Fancy Feast Seafood Pate to entice her to eat (I read that it's good for diabetic cats, I hope that's correct).

I'd like to transition her to wet food. That's better for her right?, even if I am feeding the DM kibble wet would be better correct? She's super picky about wet food. She's either all about it, or half a can just dries on a plate cause she won't touch it.
 
Further information: She's 12 y.o. and around 13 pounds.

I am planning on testing blood glucose. This all just happened this week and I'm trying to just begin everything. I just found out on Tuesday she's diabetic. On Wednesday I got the insulin, but I found out that night my vet gave me u40 syringes with u100 insulin. I'm glad I was/am so worried and paranoid about all of this that I did enough research to catch THEIR mistake.

You say 2 units may be too much? I really don't want to give her too much and make things worse. I don't have a blood glucose test kit or meter. Haven't really done research on what to buy yet but I know I need one. Should I refrain from giving her insulin shots until I can test? I gave her a shot at 7:30 last night, do I give her another at 7:30 this morning or should I wait until I know what I'm working with?
 
but I found out that night my vet gave me u40 syringes with u100 insulin. I'm glad I was/am so worried and paranoid about all of this that I did enough research to catch THEIR mistake.
Thank goodness you found the mistake! That’s pretty bad.
Can you take a photo of the syringe you have please and post it? You will need to copy and paste it into the thread. I’d like to check it is the correct one.

You say 2 units may be too much? I really don't want to give her too much and make things worse. I don't have a blood glucose test kit or meter. Haven't really done research on what to buy yet but I know I need one. Should I refrain from giving her insulin shots until I can test? I gave her a shot at 7:30 last night, do I give her another at 7:30 this morning or should I wait until I know what I'm working with
I would not stop the insulin but I would reduce the dose back to 1 unit twice a day and get a glucose meter as soon as you can. And make sure you leave her plenty of food out to eat during the cycle.
One thing I would do is buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and test the urine for ketones…..did the vet mention ketones at diagnosis? You will need to collect a Urine sample from your kitty and test as per the instructions on the bottle..there should be no ketones in the urine.
I would not change the food until you are hometesting. So you can see the difference it will make on the BG. Removing dry food can drop the BG by 100 points.
 
Lucky you to have a cooperative cat! The shorter needles were designed for humans because we not covered in a wad of fur, men with back hair excluded. No resistance pushing the plunger means the syringe is not past it's Best Before date with a dried up crusty seal. That's how it should feel.
The wet spot you didn't feel would have been a fur shot, going in and out the other side. No matter what never repeat the shot, it's a life lesson and it's happened to all of us. I once saw a recently graduated vet shoot a vaccine across the room like a squirt gun. Funny for two seconds.
If you've come this far you are making your cat feel better. Being overwhelmed is having the cat hide behind the furnace or like me years ago having the cat run off with a syringe hanging off his back. Take a deep breath, you're well on your way.
 
I like the shorter needles. With the 1/2" I have to be careful that the needle is not coming out the other side
 
The tenting helps but that depends on how big and possibly overweight the cat is. I was taught to shoot in the scruff of the neck but soon switched to both laying on their side, as relaxed as possible and shooting in the flank.
injsitesforcats1.jpg
 

Attachments

  • injsitesforcats1.jpg
    injsitesforcats1.jpg
    42.6 KB · Views: 340
I like the shorter needles. With the 1/2" I have to be careful that the needle is not coming out the other side

I've tried 5mm, 8mm and 12 and yes, I thought the 1/2 (12mm) ones were way too long and the risk of coming out the other side was quite real. Conversely, the 5mm are too short imo. We landed on the 8mm ones and have stuck (ha) with them.
 
upload_2022-3-25_15-40-14.png
upload_2022-3-25_15-40-23.png
upload_2022-3-25_15-40-31.png


I hope I'm posting these pictures correctly. I don't believe the vet mentioned ketones, at least that I can remember. In addition to the blood work I had done, I did have a urine analysis when I was at the vet. He said everything looked great, other than the diabetes.

Is this ketones thing something I have to monitor all the time and throughout this new process, or is this something I need/needed to do before giving insulin? If someone could explain this to me I'd really appreciate it.

This morning's shot went better, I guess. I only gave 1 unit as recommended. This time I did feel the plunger move as I injected, so that's an improvement. One thing that is concerning to me is bubbles. Both times so far, it looks like there's a small bubble or two resting on the top of the black thing inside (where you line up the measurement unit). I've done all the tricks I've read/watched, flicking the needle, pulling past the measurement and pushing up to your desired. They do not move at all. It's making me wonder if they're air bubbles or something else entirely? I might buy another box from a different brand and just see if they don't have this problem (but good Lord this is expensive).
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-3-25_15-40-14.png
    upload_2022-3-25_15-40-14.png
    436.2 KB · Views: 343
  • upload_2022-3-25_15-40-23.png
    upload_2022-3-25_15-40-23.png
    363.4 KB · Views: 364
  • upload_2022-3-25_15-40-31.png
    upload_2022-3-25_15-40-31.png
    400.6 KB · Views: 317
some of the brands of syringes we tried seemed to have more bubbles stuck to the plunger than others, they all seem to have at least something still there even after I flick the #$% out of it. It doesn't seem to be a problem for the kitty.

Ketones can develop when the BG is high for an extended period of time so an unregulated cat with higher numbers is at risk, which is why it is recommended to check for them routinely at least until the kitty is on a dose that gets them down to the lower numbers, and even then spot check now and then. When cats have too many ketones it is toxic and can cause severe illness and death, known as Diabetic Ketoacidosis or DKA for short. Hendrick had DKA and was hospitalized for 2 days, which cost me $3400...so we have been extra vigilant about ketones, even going as far as buying a blood ketone meter so we didn't have to use the pee strips.

Some more good info on Ketones here:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...and-diabetic-cats-a-primer-on-ketones.239971/
 
One thing that is concerning to me is bubbles
If the bubbles are tiny tiny I would not worry. The tiny ones are hard to move and don’t really make a different the dose. You are not putting air back into the vial as you draw up are you? If so don’t. That will add to the problem and there is no need to do to.

Thanks for posting the syringes. They are the correct ones except not the 1/2 unit ones which make drawing up easier. So if you get more, make sure they are 1/2 unit syringes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top