First Lantus shot today….

Ivyandmacki

Member Since 2025
Hi everyone, Ivy and Macki here again.
I will be creating a spreadsheet asap, but I just gave Macki’s first Lantus shot today. I’m doing the SLGS method with Alphatrak.

AMPS 396
0.5u Lantus with breakfast
2+ 103
4+ 99

I can’t believe only 0.5units has brought his bgl down so much..!! Has this happened for anyone else?
The vet initially wanted to start him on 2.5units BID, which I refused and am doing it my way per SLGS instructions. 🙂
 
Hi there! That is an impressively fast response, though I have no idea how to comment on it since it's his first shot and there's no data to compare it to (and I'm pretty new to trying to understand BG numbers, honestly). I'd keep a careful eye on him, though, as you don't want to risk him going too low.
 
Welcome, Ivy and Macki, nice start already for Macki :), looks like he flattened out into +4, but I’m glad you got another test in, just to verify he was done dropping.

A couple housekeeping items: if you could please change your title to read date, cat’s name, then the BG tests, that helps for those of us who scan titles for kitties who might need some help (more info here: Info - POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ).

And please also add SLGS to your signature. Thank you!
 
That is impressive. They have a term gets, ECID=Every Cat Is Different. Also, Know Thy Cat. The second comes with instincts you'll have as well as data as you go.
That is an active dive, and in case you haven't read about it yet, be warned you might get a big bounce after that.
I'm new too, so can only speak from my own experience and what I've seen here. But usually when they have such a large drop? They'll have what's referred to as a 'bounce'. I believe, it's essentially when the body gets such a low number that it's not used to and says... Wait, what? Quick! Something's wrong! Dump the insulin! 😅
Yeah. Good times, and most of us have been through it or are still dealing with them. So should your baby's numbers go higher than you're used to seeing, don't freak out. Bounces can happen for a couple of days.
Do you have your hypo toolkit ready? Anyone giving insulin needs this at the ready, in case his numbers drop too low.
If you haven't yet, please read this. It will prepare you for the What If.
I'm glad your stuck to your guns with the amount of insulin. Looks like that was a wise choice. Instincts. Listen to them, and they'll serve you well even in this. And you'll get lots of info from different people for advice. I have to say, even newbie advice is sometimes on spot and useful. My little boy hit a level, then pretty much decided he didn't need it anymore. I was told by most to keep going down nice and slow, but he kept having regular hypo numbers. I listened to another new person's advice and it saved him many more days of going hypo and being like a yoyo. It's your baby, and you listen to it all, then choose which route you think is best.
Good luck!
 
Here is the link to your first post on Feline Health forum, for people who want the background: Newly Diagnosed.. need advice on insulin

Has he completely converted over to the low carb wet food now? That will definitely help lower the insulin dose he needs. What you could also be seeing today is that some cats have a strong initial reaction to insulin. Time will tell, though that 99 looks promising. Did you give up on using the Relion which was mentioned in your first post?

Do you need help creating the spreadsheet? We have people here who can help if needed. Typically we ask that people have a spreadsheet set up before they post in the Lantus forum. It's a busier forum here and don't want people to get missed without the data we need to help you.
 
Back
Top