Hi Sofia and Thor.
Well done setting up the spreadsheet and starting to test the blood glucose. That is great!
With that green 76 and 96 during one of the cycles, that is telling me you do not want to increase the dose of insulin. A lot of the red and black numbers you are seeing could well be caused by bouncing from low numbers.
Here is an explanation of Bouncing from the yellow sticky The Basics on the Lantus page.
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
I’m not a Caninsulin user so I will tag
@FrostD to comment on the dose.
I do want to comment on the insulin you are using though…..Caninsulin is not really a suitable insulin for cats. It is an insulin which was made for dogs. And it does not last the 12 hours so you will find he will go back up into high numbers well before the next dose is due. The recommended insulins for cats are Lantus, Levemir and Prozinc, which are longer acting more gentle insulins and you are much more likely to get better results if you swap to one of those.
Are you feeding the preshot meal 1/2 hour before the dose is given and are you offering snacks during the first half of all the cycles?
I can see you are living in Italy. I would ask your vet if you can change to Lantus. I’m not sure they have Prozinc there. Lantus is an excellent insulin.