First BG test at home

Status
Not open for further replies.

FelineFriend

Member Since 2017
hi, my 13 year old, 12 lb, spayed female Smokey was just diagnosed with diabetes 5 days ago. She spent three days at vets while he determined how much insulin she needed. He did not know about home testing; when first asked he told me I would have to draw blood from her jugular! Yesterday I gave her both insulin shots (3 units twice a day of caninsulin) and today I did a home BG test. At 8 hours after morning insulin the reading was 9.8 on my Freestyle lite.
Does this seem reasonable?
I'm working on setting up my spreadsheet.
Thanks, Dhana.
 
Welcome Dhana and Smokey! :) Congratulations on getting the shots and blood testing done. It gets much easier over time. I see you're using what we call "world units" when measuring BG. What is your general location (no specifics needed)? If you multiply your number by 18 you'll be converting to the units used in the US. Most readers here are more familiar with those.

Caninsulin is a fast acting insulin that can drop blood glucose quite low. At 8 hours after the AM dose, Smoky was at 9.8. She might have been a fair bit lower than that when the insulin was at its peak effect, usually 4 to 6 hours after injecting. Three units is a very high starting dose and I'd be worried about her BG being too low at the middle of a cycle (the 12 hour interval between doses).
 
Vetsulin tends to hit it's lowest point at around 4-6 hours past the shot.

We always recommend you test about a half hour before the shot, then feed, then shoot. This will give you a preshot number. If you can test mid cycle please do. It's important to know how low they are at their lowest point to know if the dose is too much or not enough.

Good job getting a reading on your first try! As I said before, 3 units is triple the usual starting dose, so be really careful.

If you have any questions please ask us.
 
Welcome Dhana and Smokey! :) Congratulations on getting the shots and blood testing done. It gets much easier over time. I see you're using what we call "world units" when measuring BG. What is your general location (no specifics needed)? If you multiply your number by 18 you'll be converting to the units used in the US. Most readers here are more familiar with those.

Caninsulin is a fast acting insulin that can drop blood glucose quite low. At 8 hours after the AM dose, Smoky was at 9.8. She might have been a fair bit lower than that when the insulin was at its peak effect, usually 4 to 6 hours after injecting. Three units is a very high starting dose and I'd be worried about her BG being too low at the middle of a cycle (the 12 hour interval between doses).
i am from canada...vancouver. potential hypoglycemia was my concern after reading for hours! now that i know how to do ear prick test i will test before insulin injection and also at peak. working on setting up spreadsheet...
thanks for your input, dhana
 
Vetsulin tends to hit it's lowest point at around 4-6 hours past the shot.

We always recommend you test about a half hour before the shot, then feed, then shoot. This will give you a preshot number. If you can test mid cycle please do. It's important to know how low they are at their lowest point to know if the dose is too much or not enough.

Good job getting a reading on your first try! As I said before, 3 units is triple the usual starting dose, so be really careful.

If you have any questions please ask us.


thanks Janet. my vet started at 1unit then increased by 1 each day which pretty aggressive according to this forum. i will be seeing him in a week and plan to take in my test numbers, plotted on a graph.
 
i am from canada...vancouver. potential hypoglycemia was my concern after reading for hours! now that i know how to do ear prick test i will test before insulin injection and also at peak. working on setting up spreadsheet...
thanks for your input, dhana
I'm a fellow Canadian from Ottawa. As Janet and I both said, 3 units twice a day is a very high starting dose. Have you read the info on here about making up a "hypo kit" and how to deal with a hypo?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hypo-links-be-prepared-just-in-case.48385/
 
i am from canada...vancouver. potential hypoglycemia was my concern after reading for hours! now that i know how to do ear prick test i will test before insulin injection and also at peak. working on setting up spreadsheet...
thanks for your input, dhana

You are doing great! Holler if you have any questions about the content of the spreadsheet, or need help setting it up.

Your profile pic looks like a picture of my outstretched legs as I speak, except that 4 of mine managed to sit on or prop against me ;-)

Welcome to the group!
Sandi.
 
You are doing great! Holler if you have any questions about the content of the spreadsheet, or need help setting it up.

Your profile pic looks like a picture of my outstretched legs as I speak, except that 4 of mine managed to sit on or prop against me ;-)

Welcome to the group!
Sandi.
heheh, i thought that other cat lovers might recognize the pose. our 5 cats play musical laps. thanks Sandi
 
thanks Janet. my vet started at 1unit then increased by 1 each day which pretty aggressive according to this forum. i will be seeing him in a week and plan to take in my test numbers, plotted on a graph.
It's very aggressive so I'm relieved you are comfortable with testing. Insulin needs definitely change over time. I started at 1, went briefly to 3, until eventually down to nothing.
 
created and updated Smokey's spreadsheet, just did second blood test prior to feed and injection and its 15.2 or 274. now for the injection, i cant believe how patient she is being. i am totally worn out from stress and no sleep due to worrying so not sure if will be able to stay awake another 5 hours for midway test. left ear was so much more awkward because i'm right handed. i wonder if my signature will show up when i post this...
 
created and updated Smokey's spreadsheet, just did second blood test prior to feed and injection and its 15.2 or 274. now for the injection, i cant believe how patient she is being. i am totally worn out from stress and no sleep due to worrying so not sure if will be able to stay awake another 5 hours for midway test. left ear was so much more awkward because i'm right handed. i wonder if my signature will show up when i post this...

Hmmmm no I don't see your signature...not sure why or what to suggest. Maybe someone else will know.

Personally, I wouldn't try to stay up. I'd just set multiple alarms 5 or so minutes apart, but of course that depends on your own sleep habits and abilities.

Sandi.
 
Oh and also. I am also right handed. When testing the left ear I kneel (we test on the floor) next to Whispy on his right side. So my left arm drapes over his body and my left hand holds the cosmetic pad under his left ear and my right hand pokes.

Does that help at all?
 
Oh and also. I am also right handed. When testing the left ear I kneel (we test on the floor) next to Whispy on his right side. So my left arm drapes over his body and my left hand holds the cosmetic pad under his left ear and my right hand pokes.

Does that help at all?
Thanks Sandi, I will try that way next time.
Cheers, Dhana.
I checked my signature in my profile and it's blank so will create it again tomorrow.
 
Hi Dhana, Found you! :D Make sure you click on the SAVE CHANGES button under the text box after you finish typing your signature. If you missed that step, it would explain why you lost your signature.

With Caninsulin, if you get a test 1.5 or 2 hours post shot, and you have taken a test before giving insulin, you'll get a good idea of how quickly Smokey's BG is dropping and whether you need to monitor her closely or just set an alarm for a mid cycle test. Some cats will hit their lowest reading about 4 hours post shot but some reach it earlier, some later so until you figure out how Smokey is processing the insulin, it's best to get a test in early to avoid any surprises later. If she is dropping fast, you can give her a little snack to slow down the BG drop.
 
as we feared, Smokey's BG dropping quite a bit. Tested three hours after injection of 3 units caninsulin and it's only 4.0 or 72. i gave her some canned food plus she has dry food as desired.
 
Hi Dhana and Smokey - waving at you from over in North Vancouver. We started with Caninsulin but changed over to Lantus after a couple of months.

That 3 units dose looks like it's a bit much. You should probably test again soon to make sure she's not going too low.
 
as we feared, Smokey's BG dropping quite a bit. Tested three hours after injection of 3 units caninsulin and it's only 4.0 or 72. i gave her some canned food plus she has dry food as desired.
As I thought 3 units is way too much. Please tomorrow reduce it. If she's in the 200's I'd do 1 or 1.5 u. If you hadn't tested and caught that 72 she may have hypoed. Hypoglycemic can lead to seizure and death.
 
hi @Wendy&Neko (i had a pony by that fine name)
couldn't get blood again last night, took 4 tries this morning. why is it getting harder not easier?
Smokey's BG was 16.8 / 302! i gave her 2.75 units cansulin because i won't be here during the day-i'm going to hospital for myself to get my own needling i realize now i should have posted her BG before giving injection so could get input from all of you helpful folks.
 
What size lancets are you using? It helps at the beginning to use larger 26 or 28 gauge lancets.
 
Hi Smokey's servant. :)
Are you warming the ear beforehand? There are several methods. I use a pill bottle with water that I microwave on defrost for 12 seconds. You could also fill it with warm water but I hate wasting water waiting for it to get hot. I sit Morris in my lap on a stool near the kitchen counter. I hold his ear against the pill bottle with my left hand while I scratch his other ear. Then I finish inserting the meter strip with my right hand, then pick up the lancet again with right hand and press it against his ear against the pill bottle. (Still being held with my left hand.) Some people use the lancet device and some freehand it. The device works well for me. I then pick up the meter with my right hand and hold it against the blood until it beeps. I lay it on the counter, take away the pill bottle and press the ear between my fingers for a few seconds.
I hope your own needling goes well today. Yuk.
 
Hi Smokey's servant. :)
Are you warming the ear beforehand? There are several methods. I use a pill bottle with water that I microwave on defrost for 12 seconds. You could also fill it with warm water but I hate wasting water waiting for it to get hot. I sit Morris in my lap on a stool near the kitchen counter. I hold his ear against the pill bottle with my left hand while I scratch his other ear. Then I finish inserting the meter strip with my right hand, then pick up the lancet again with right hand and press it against his ear against the pill bottle. (Still being held with my left hand.) Some people use the lancet device and some freehand it. The device works well for me. I then pick up the meter with my right hand and hold it against the blood until it beeps. I lay it on the counter, take away the pill bottle and press the ear between my fingers for a few seconds.
I hope your own needling goes well today. Yuk.
hi @Pati, yes i'm warming the ear. i put a small amount of couscous in an old sock then warm in microwave. i can see the vein but its hard to guess where the lancet is coming out because the tip of the device is opaque. i will keep persevering...
 
hi @Pati i can see the vein but its hard to guess where the lancet is coming out because the tip of the device is opaque. i will keep persevering...

A lot of us find it easier to just free-hand with the lancet rather than using the device, for exactly this reason.

Also, keep in mind that you don't actually want to hit the vein-- you definitely get enough blood that way :), but it's more painful for the cat and takes longer to heal. But it's not a problem to hit it every now and then-- we all have done it.
 
hi @Pati, yes i'm warming the ear. i put a small amount of couscous in an old sock then warm in microwave. i can see the vein but its hard to guess where the lancet is coming out because the tip of the device is opaque. i will keep persevering...
Freehand it. Put a cotton pad behind to poke. You aren't aiming for the vein but the area outside of it.
IMG_3612.JPG
 
The lancets that come with the Freestyle Lite meter are 28 gauge for alternate test sites. Try removing the cap from the lancing device if free handing the poke doesn't work for you. The cap is meant for use on more fleshy body parts such as a finger where the area to be poked will actually sit within the hole on the cap. The cap might work on a fleshy paw pad but ears are just too flimsy.
You can also put a very thin skim of Vaseline on the area to be poked to get the blood to bead up better instead of spreading into the fur.
 
Maybe that is why it works well for me since I am holding the ear against the pill bottle rather than something soft.
 
long day away from home, just tested Smokey and her BG is 17.4 / 313. should i give her the same amount of caninsulin as this AM - 2.75 units?
 
I have to admit, I am a bit concerned about the 2.75u dose given that Smokey was only diagnosed a few days ago. I think those pre-shot tests you got this morning and tonight may be bouncing given the low 72 reading you got the last night. Smokey could have gone even lower than that which makes me think the dose may be too high.

I am sure you are absolutely exhausted after dealing with a medical appointment today. If that's the case and you want to get to bed for some rest, I'd lower the dose tonight to at least 2.5u and maybe even to 2u. If you can get another test in about +1.5 hours after the shot, you'll be able to see how quickly Smokey is dropping and determine if more testing is needed or abort the cycle if need be. If you are not able to test tonight, I'd drop the dose to 2u because our kitties have a habit of going lower at night and you don't want her going too low. I'll be up for awhile so let us know what you decide to do. :)
 
thanks @MrWorfMen's Mom i will give her 2 units and try to stay up long enough for one more test. i now have a sub cutaneous catheter in my abdomen for next 24 hours so know how poor Smokey is feeling. i used a flashlight this time and noticed a small haemotoma probably from first time when i must have hit the capillary ☹
 
Oh that catheter doesn't sound fun at all! :bighug: You do need to get your rest so good choice with the 2u. If you test Smokey at about +1.5 it should give you a good idea if she is having an active or quiet cycle. I'll check back in before I hit the sack in case you have any questions/concerns. She should be fine with the 2u.

The flashlight does help to see exactly where the vein/capillaries in the ear are. Holding pressure on the poke spot for a few moments after each test will prevent any more bruising. If the ear seems sore at all, you could get some Polysporin (Neosporin) ointment (not cream) with pain relief and dab a bit of that on it for her. Otherwise, just avoid that spot for a few days and she should be fine. Testing gets easier as she will grow more capillaries as you test more and therefore getting a good bead of blood will get easier.
 
Did you try freehand? If so, did it work better for you ? I freehand , and after a while the ear gets used to it and it will become a lot easier. Everything seems so stressful and overwhelming in the beginning but believe me it will get better and you won't be as stressed out. And try to remember when you go to get a BG Reading try and stay as relaxed as possible because you're a baby can pick up on your stress. ( a stressed cat will have high BG readings )
 
Ok Dhana. Thanks for posting. Looks like Smokey is on a gentle slope. Will be interesting to see where she is in the morning. If you want to be sure she stays on a slow slide, give her a little snack before you turn in for the night. Sweet dreams! :)
 
ok, PMPS of 17.4/313 then after 2 units at +2 Smokey's BG is 14.6/263
no @Sherib i didn't try freehand, that sorta freaks me out. i did use 28 gauge lancet tho (@Chris & China).
Goodnight and thanks for the help today!
cheers, Smokey 'n Dhana (aka serf)
Did the 28 work better for you ? I think that once you get more comfortable you should try the freehand because it really is so much easier
 
AMPS 15.6/281 i gave her 2 units last night then tested at +2 then passed out until now. i tried freehand this morning but she cried so i will stick to pen until i'm better. only two tries today but i think last one hit the vein ☹ i'm afraid i really suck at this!!!
should i stick at 2 units this morning? i will be here today for periodic testing.
thanks!
 
Good morning. I think I'd stick with 2u today and see what she does. The fact that her AMPS is just about the same as her +2 last night continues to suggest to me that the 2.75u was too much. If you can hold a dose for about 3 days (6 cycles) numbers permitting and get some mid cycle tests especially between +1.5 and +6, it will help determine whether she needs more or less insulin to bring her numbers down. This is a marathon not a sprint and as much as we all want the numbers down, you can't force them. The body gets used to higher BG levels and then it wrongly thinks lower numbers are a threat and pumps out glucagon to bring the numbers back up to what it has become accustomed to, so taking slow methodical steps in dosing helps to ease kitty back into recognizing that lower numbers are OK.
 
I'm about to try another BG test with my old Lifestyle lite. I swapped it for the lifestyle that can test for ketones last night only to find it need 6x as much blood for sampling! That's why Smokey was crying... Went back to pharmacy today and bought the old one also so now can test both. Fortunately they are free when you buy 100 test strips
I picked Smokey up half hour ago to test but she grabbed me so hard that I had a great blood sample myself! So I gave her a relaxing treat (with camomile) and waited half an hour. It's about +5 so may still be in nadir - I don't yet have sufficient samples to know for sure.
Cheers, Dhana
 
I give up. Got two little drops with two punctures but still not enuf to wick in. I gave her some wet food as a treat and just in case she's low. Hopefully will be better tonight for PMPS. Hope everyone else has a nice day/eve/night
 
I give up. Got two little drops with two punctures but still not enuf to wick in. I gave her some wet food as a treat and just in case she's low. Hopefully will be better tonight for PMPS. Hope everyone else has a nice day/eve/night
It'll get easier. Did you warm her ear first?
 
after a 5 hour nap and warm hands i was able to get sufficient blood for testing. Smokey's PMPS BG is 13.3/239 so unless i hear differently i will stick with 2 units tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top