Felix concerns after vet appointment

Liliana Iliana

Member Since 2025
Hello,
We went to the vet today because Felix was feeling nauseous while eating. He has some growths at the base of his tongue that are now inflamed. These appeared after we found him and they pulled out all his teeth because they were infected and he was drooling blood. The vet gave him 1 vial of Diprophos (cortisone treatment) every 3 weeks. After the second vial we discovered diabetes and vet didn't give him the 3rd one. The problem now is that the vet prescribed cyclosporine and antibiotics but I'm scared considering that Felix has FIV (I filled in the signature). In addition, I can't start the treatment because I have to wait 1 week until the cyclosporine arrives and then I can start the antibiotic I struggled to take a picture of him to show you but I don't know how well it shows. Does anyone experience something like that? He-s BG are hi (250 -380) since i reduce by .25 because he is sick. And i am not sure if, at the end of 5 days, i have to increase the dose or should i wait until he will get better? Any advise for me?
 

Attachments

  • felix mouth.jpeg
    felix mouth.jpeg
    109.9 KB · Views: 35
  • felix mouth.jpeg
    felix mouth.jpeg
    109.9 KB · Views: 31
That sounds scary and hard! I don't know anything about those medications and don't know much about FIV, unfortunately, so I can't offer advice, but: did the vet tell you to reduce the insulin? I'm sure there are some conditions where that's indicated, but I haven't run into it before and I'm wondering why he'd need to be on a reduced dose.

Tagging in some veterans. I hope you get some useful input soon!

@Christie & Maverick @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
That sounds scary and hard! I don't know anything about those medications and don't know much about FIV, unfortunately, so I can't offer advice, but: did the vet tell you to reduce the insulin? I'm sure there are some conditions where that's indicated, but I haven't run into it before and I'm wondering why he'd need to be on a reduced dose.

Tagging in some veterans. I hope you get some useful input soon!

@Christie & Maverick @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
vet didn't say to reduce dose
 
I think I misread your previous post - I thought you said you had reduced his dose because he's sick, but I should have looked at your spreadsheet. Now I can see that's not what happened! Apologies for my misunderstanding.

I don't know of any reason why you shouldn't increase on schedule, but I am not experienced enough for dosing advice. I hope you you get some soon!
 
That sounds scary and hard! I don't know anything about those medications and don't know much about FIV, unfortunately, so I can't offer advice, but: did the vet tell you to reduce the insulin? I'm sure there are some conditions where that's indicated, but I haven't run into it before and I'm wondering why he'd need to be on a reduced dose.

Tagging in some veterans. I hope you get some useful input soon!

@Christie & Maverick @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
the reduction was 4 days ago because he dropped below 50. I forgot to put question mark
 
I'd raise him back. I wanted to say on that thread when he had the one reading of 45. But I know many disagree, like Allie upon doing that. But to me, a single low number that raises just fine and doesn't stay low, doesn't deserve a knee-jerk reaction that's described in the TR guidelines. As long as they quickly go back up to normal levels and it doesn't keep going there.
Right now, you need to get him feeling the best he can. Having green (or even blue) numbers will do that for him. Up too high doesn't feel good I'm sure. This could be one less thing to worry about, if his numbers come back down.
Now, this is only my opinion and I've not been around a long time at all. But I have had luck with my kitties, as both of mine have gone into remission. You mostly look at the data, listen to advice, but only you know your cat. Trust your instincts.💕
And I'm sure you know this, but antibiotics can also upset stomachs too. So watch out for that too, as well as diarrhea too. I always hate when I have to put one with ibd or cancer on antibiotics because of those reasons. But they're needed some times.
I wish you both the best in treating this. ❤️
 
I'd raise him back. I wanted to say on that thread when he had the one reading of 45. But I know many disagree, like Allie upon doing that. But to me, a single low number that raises just fine and doesn't stay low, doesn't deserve a knee-jerk reaction that's described in the TR guidelines. As long as they quickly go back up to normal levels and it doesn't keep going there.
Right now, you need to get him feeling the best he can. Having green (or even blue) numbers will do that for him. Up too high doesn't feel good I'm sure. This could be one less thing to worry about, if his numbers come back down.
Now, this is only my opinion and I've not been around a long time at all. But I have had luck with my kitties, as both of mine have gone into remission. You mostly look at the data, listen to advice, but only you know your cat. Trust your instincts.💕
And I'm sure you know this, but antibiotics can also upset stomachs too. So watch out for that too, as well as diarrhea too. I always hate when I have to put one with ibd or cancer on antibiotics because of those reasons. But they're needed some times.
I wish you both the best in treating this. ❤️
If i increase dose i have to do .5 increase because nadir is over 300. I will think about it. Thank you
 
I'd raise him back. I wanted to say on that thread when he had the one reading of 45. But I know many disagree, like Allie upon doing that. But to me, a single low number that raises just fine and doesn't stay low, doesn't deserve a knee-jerk reaction that's described in the TR guidelines. As long as they quickly go back up to normal levels and it doesn't keep going there.
Right now, you need to get him feeling the best he can. Having green (or even blue) numbers will do that for him. Up too high doesn't feel good I'm sure. This could be one less thing to worry about, if his numbers come back down.
Now, this is only my opinion and I've not been around a long time at all. But I have had luck with my kitties, as both of mine have gone into remission. You mostly look at the data, listen to advice, but only you know your cat. Trust your instincts.💕
And I'm sure you know this, but antibiotics can also upset stomachs too. So watch out for that too, as well as diarrhea too. I always hate when I have to put one with ibd or cancer on antibiotics because of those reasons. But they're needed some times.
I wish you both the best in treating this. ❤️
I don't necessarily disagree, except possibly with the part about trusting your instincts - knowing your cat is one thing, but knowing how your cat responds to a new medication (depending on how new it is) is another, and that's where I'm more inclined to be cautious. Instinct needs a chance to catch up to new information/experiences. (Your mileage may vary!)

Also, when it comes to choosing not to take a reduction after a low number, I think it's crucial to take a caregiver's schedule into account. It's a matter of calculated risk, in that case: someone who isn't going to be home for large chunks of the day might need to be a more cautious about risking hypo numbers. (As I understand it, those rules were made with safety in mind--to help calculate that risk, when you're still getting the hang of how your cat reacts to insulin.)

Anyway, we're talking about where Liliana and Felix are now, and whether there should be an increase: I'm inclined to say yes, in your place Liliana, I would, unless that could somehow have a negative impact on these other health issues - which seems unlikely to me! But I don't know anything about those symptoms, so I think it would be best to check with someone who does (like your vet, or someone here who is familiar with such things - there's a lot of varied experience here.)

@Tyleete, I know you've taken in quite a number of cats who have had different medical issues. Do you know much about FIV, or what might cause tongue growths like that?
 
I don't necessarily disagree, except possibly with the part about trusting your instincts - knowing your cat is one thing, but knowing how your cat responds to a new medication (depending on how new it is) is another, and that's where I'm more inclined to be cautious. Instinct needs a chance to catch up to new information/experiences. (Your mileage may vary!)

Also, when it comes to choosing not to take a reduction after a low number, I think it's crucial to take a caregiver's schedule into account. It's a matter of calculated risk, in that case: someone who isn't going to be home for large chunks of the day might need to be a more cautious about risking hypo numbers. (As I understand it, those rules were made with safety in mind--to help calculate that risk, when you're still getting the hang of how your cat reacts to insulin.)

Anyway, we're talking about where Liliana and Felix are now, and whether there should be an increase: I'm inclined to say yes, in your place Liliana, I would, unless that could somehow have a negative impact on these other health issues - which seems unlikely to me! But I don't know anything about those symptoms, so I think it would be best to check with someone who does (like your vet, or someone here who is familiar with such things - there's a lot of varied experience here.)

@Tyleete, I know you've taken in quite a number of cats who have had different medical issues. Do you know much about FIV, or what might cause tongue growths like that?
I read the medicine's leaflet and it clearly states that it is contraindicated for cats with FIV. then i sent a message to the vet saying my concerns and she told me "let's give it a try for 2-3 weeks"! I replay that i don't feel comfortable with this and i don't want to harm Felix and i asked her if there is another solution . she replay that she doesn't know but she will look for something. Honestly i doubt that, she is a very busy vet, she has a dog shelter beside her practice. Going back to insulin, i will start on 1.5 u from tomorrow and maybe, if he will drop like last week i will take the decision for reduction or not. Most of the time he is under my watch, at home and work. But sometimes unexpected situations can occur and i have to be sure i can be around. I don't have anyone to help me if the unexpected happens. Safety for Felix is most important.
 
I don't necessarily disagree, except possibly with the part about trusting your instincts - knowing your cat is one thing, but knowing how your cat responds to a new medication (depending on how new it is) is another, and that's where I'm more inclined to be cautious. Instinct needs a chance to catch up to new information/experiences. (Your mileage may vary!)


If i increase dose i have to do .5 increase because nadir is over 300. I will think about it. Thank you
Why would you have to increase 0.5 each time? My cat was well over 400 all the time. With many days 500-600, and Wendy slowly took him up 0.25 at a time. He'd sit there for several days to watch. Then move up again. I'd be nervous about a half unit rise too.
know you've taken in quite a number of cats who have had different medical issues. Do you know much about FIV, or what might cause tongue growths like that?
Thanks goodness, while I've dealt with wet FIP and many other things, have never had a kitty with FIV.
As for the instinct thing, I happen to believe in 6th sense and a few other God given talents, and hence have always trusted my intuition or instincts. Following them, I've never been led astray. Only when I ignore them to listen to someone else, including my vet or doctor.😅
 
First of all, I have to say some words to counter the misinformed comments about TR said above. TR does not have "knee jerk" reactions. It has reactions based on circumstances of the cat and published peer reviewed research on hundreds of cats. The guidelines are based on keeping kitty safe. Better high for a day than too low for an instant. Felix is newly diagnosed, just a month and a half ago. The more recent the diagnosis, the more likely the cat can go into remission. Felix is also diabetic because of steroids, and cats in that situation also have a good chance at remission. For that reason, it's best to be cautious. The decision to reduce by 0.25 units was the correct decision, both by TR guidelines, and circumstances of the cat.

It sounds like the inflammation is something that is very recent and likely the cause of his recent higher numbers. Failing the reduction may or may not be a factor. My suggestion is to increase his dose to counter what I hope are temporary higher numbers due to inflammation/infection. When he gets his medication, it should cause the inflammation to reduce and hopefully the need for the higher insulin dose. I did the same thing when Neko had a dental. She had inflammation after the dental so I raised the dose, then about 10 days later she was healing and told me she didn't need the higher dose anymore.

If you leave a cat in higher numbers, their body can get used to those higher numbers, which is glucose toxicity. And means you'll need even higher doses to get over it. So best to increase to get over those higher numbers.

In future Liliana, best to add something like "dose help" to your subject line when you need help figuring out what to go. There are a number of us experienced caregivers around watching the forum headings.

Is Felix still feeling nauseous? Is he eating his normal amount of food?
 
Why would you have to increase 0.5 each time? My cat was well over 400 all the time. With many days 500-600, and Wendy slowly took him up 0.25 at a time. He'd sit there for several days to watch. Then move up again. I'd be nervous about a half unit rise too.

Thanks goodness, while I've dealt with wet FIP and many other things, have never had a kitty with FIV.
As for the instinct thing, I happen to believe in 6th sense and a few other God given talents, and hence have always trusted my intuition or instincts. Following them, I've never been led astray. Only when I ignore them to listen to someone else, including my vet or doctor.😅
I looked in SS again and reconfigure. I will wait another day. Nadir is below 300 most of the time so increase should be by .25. Sorry. I am tired and a bit overwhelmed about today.
 
First of all, I have to say some words to counter the misinformed comments about TR said above. TR does not have "knee jerk" reactions. It has reactions based on circumstances of the cat and published peer reviewed research on hundreds of cats. The guidelines are based on keeping kitty safe. Better high for a day than too low for an instant. Felix is newly diagnosed, just a month and a half ago. The more recent the diagnosis, the more likely the cat can go into remission. Felix is also diabetic because of steroids, and cats in that situation also have a good chance at remission. For that reason, it's best to be cautious. The decision to reduce by 0.25 units was the correct decision, both by TR guidelines, and circumstances of the cat.

It sounds like the inflammation is something that is very recent and likely the cause of his recent higher numbers. Failing the reduction may or may not be a factor. My suggestion is to increase his dose to counter what I hope are temporary higher numbers due to inflammation/infection. When he gets his medication, it should cause the inflammation to reduce and hopefully the need for the higher insulin dose. I did the same thing when Neko had a dental. She had inflammation after the dental so I raised the dose, then about 10 days later she was healing and told me she didn't need the higher dose anymore.

If you leave a cat in higher numbers, their body can get used to those higher numbers, which is glucose toxicity. And means you'll need even higher doses to get over it. So best to increase to get over those higher numbers.

In future Liliana, best to add something like "dose help" to your subject line when you need help figuring out what to go. There are a number of us experienced caregivers around watching the forum headings.

Is Felix still feeling nauseous? Is he eating his normal amount of food?
Thank you. Not at dinner time. I just give him a little snack now and he looks like he is ok. He eats normaly. Only the food sticking at his growths is bothering him a little. but i started him on antibiotic this evening and i give him nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory syrup. I won't give him that cyclosporine, i find it very dangerous. And thank you for the advice for what to add in post subject
 
I was wondering if you had started an antibiotic. If he does get nauseous, it could be because antibiotics can kill good bacteria too. I typically supplement with a probiotic (given two hours apart from the AB) to help restore the gut back.
 
Back
Top