FCC AMPS 94, +1.45 59, +5 67, +2 99

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
He was really good about his morning test. I don't understand the difference between AM and PM for him, but I sure wish I could help the little guy out.

I hope everyone is having a great day/evening and that all the kitties out there are feeling frisky (in a good way).

I have to go somewhere this afternoon so I plan on doing a 1.5 or a 1.75 and then as long as his numbers are good leave him food. I think that is okay now?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-25-fcc-amps-95-3-76.250373/
 
Looking good! Why not try a later test this morning? Like +4?
Feed every hour till then.

And then maybe leave him be till PMPS and see if he allows you near his royal self? :p
 
Oops. I edited my thread and I should have posted a new one. I have to go somewhere this afternoon so I was going to feed and do a +1.5 or +1.75 and then as long as he hasn't plummeted feed and leave food. Then maybe test when I get back if he will allow? I've been getting him for a second test pretty regularly. It's the later ones that become problematic.

I figure this is safe to do on this dose and with making sure he gets food at +1 and then just before +2?

Thank you!
 
Yes, I think a +1.75 should give you an idea. Feed at +1 and again before you leave and leave food out. :-)
Feeding him at +1 and +2 (+1.75 today) seems to work in preventing dives.

Rather than test when you're back, see if you can get a PMPS.
 
Yes, I think a +1.75 should give you an idea. Feed at +1 and again before you leave and leave food out. :)
Feeding him at +1 and +2 (+1.75 today) seems to work in preventing dives.

Rather than test when you're back, see if you can get a PMPS.

Okay. I will do that. Trying for the PMPS instead is a good idea. Thank you.
 
I gave him a little MC now just because it was a drop, is it okay to go if I leave more food? LC or MC? Or not safe?
 
It's one of those I really should go situations or I would just cancel without hesitation.
 
Thanks. That's what I did because I take transit and I figured I could just turn around if I really had to and get home in a reasonable amount of time. I appreciate you getting back to me. Sorry I'm underground so this will take a minute to show up.
 
ETA: Feed some LC before you leave and leave some out.

He's holding reductions. I think for safety, you can go down to 0.5U tonight.
 
I think it will be +5 at the latest. Should I reduce even if he lets me get a PMPS since the +2 is up in the air?
 
Ok. I'm going to bed and you may not be getting my messages. If you can, try and get a test on your return if it is before +6.

He seems to come up pretty fast with MC.

And just to clarify, I meant that you would reduce his dose from tonight to 0.5u. And not just for tonight.
 
Should I reduce even if he lets me get a PMPS since the +2 is up in the air?
Considering he dipped to the 50s and you can't test him it's better to play it safe. He is holding reductions so let's reduce. Even if you are able to get the PMPS you may not be able to get subsequent tests.
 
Thanks. I am getting your messages, but maybe my replies are being held up. I hope you sleep well and thank you for your help.

I appreciate the clarification
 
So I managed to get back just in time for a +5 and he was up to 67. Grabbed him some freeze dried beef liver while I was out and he seems to like it even more than the chicken so maybe that will help the tests. He's doing so well despite all the safety reductions. I'm still waiting for a bounce into the reds.
 
I don’t think he’s going to go high. He seems to be getting very used to normal numbers.
 
Last edited:
I dint think he’s going to go high. He seems to be getting very used to normal numbers.

I looked to see if they had some kind of calming spray at the pet store I went to because I really want to figure out a way to get back to normal testing. I've seen some things online, but they are really expensive for my budget considering I don't know if they will help at all.

One thing I was thinking about was if he ever got to a point where I could see what happened if we stopped insulin am I harming his chances at remission by bulldozing him down the dosing ladder? I know it's what needs to happen regardless to keep him safe right now and that is my priority. I'm just curious if it'll end up having any long term impact.
 
Something has changed. He’s getting used to normal numbers. He might be flying down he dosing scale. If you can just let him keep earning reductions. Some have luck with Feliway for calming Did nothing for my cats.
 
Something has changed. He’s getting used to normal numbers. He might be flying down he dosing scale. If you can just let him keep earning reductions. Some have luck with Feliway for calming Did nothing for my cats.

I'll look into it. Right now I'm really hoping these new treats do something for him. It does seem like a flip was switched. He's still such a good cat, but just so incredibly intolerant of tests in the evening. And I really try. Torture him with my terrible singing, brush him, give him love, basically anything I can think to do that will make him feel safe.

I just don't want to compromise his health. At the same time he is just not allowing me to fiddle with him later in the day. I think if I used any more force it would be a disaster.

I am currently thinking my family reunion is a wash. Can't reduce him much more and his testing is only reliable in the morning. Honestly I've been looking at the bigger picture and (this is terrible to say) but I think everyone is relatively healthy and should be able to meet again next year.
 
Think about it. How long will you be gone? You can give a dose of .25 perhaps for a few days. Looking at the numbers you could even skip or have him get a few 18 hours shots. There are ways.
 
Think about it. How long will you be gone? You can give a dose of .25 perhaps for a few days. Looking at the numbers you could even skip or have him get a few 18 hours shots. There are ways.

My family is getting together for I think 9 days. I think I should be able to find a way home halfway through it (I just need to get somewhere that I can catch public transportation from). I really want to go because I miss everyone so much, but I don't want to be selfish and put FCC's health or ultimate (not immediate) progress at risk.
 
Last edited:
When is the reunion? I think FCC is doing very well and like Elise said, I am sure we can figure out something wrt dosing so that you can go.
 
No PMPS again. I am still going to try for the +2. I'm going to shoot the 0.50 you suggested and try for the +2. I am worried if I am too aggressive at night he will stop letting me test in the day too.

The reunion starts on the 7th of August.

I hope you had a good sleep!
 
I will feed for sure. I wonder if it's better to try for the +3 to give him more time in between attempts. I can take a nap on the couch after feeding at +2.

And when do you need to leave to get to the reunion? Any travel time before?

It's same day travel. It just involves a car and a boat and since I have neither I have less control over the situation.

With sugar kitties, it's never enough!

I have learnt that this is true. My phone has never had so many weird alarm times on it before.
 
Managed to get his +2! It was 99. I wonder if he is often running higher in the night cycle and maybe going into the blue. Hopefully he will let me do more tests in the future so I can try and figure out that data. I was planning on leaving him alone until +3, but I had a little adventure with food poisoning so everyone was still awake at midnight. I will leave him some food and go to sleep. I think it's best to leave him until AMPS and not push my luck. If I'm going to get more tests in I suspect I will have to build them up slowly. This was probably just a fluke though. Is this the best approach for the moment?
 
Congrats on getting the +2! He may be in a mini-bounce from that dive this morning.
Good night! I hope you feel better soon!

Thanks. It is not a lingering illness. I'm already hungry, but it's definitely time to sleep.

And yes, let us go nice and slow for now. :)

Maybe it's a step in the right direction.

I hope you and your kitties have a great day.
 
Back
Top