EYES pls - Hershey 2/24 PMPS 30's

Status
Not open for further replies.
Doug N Libby said:
+16 (81)

Thanks, Guys! I'd be happy to have one of your explain what happened today... confused_cat

LOL, I think we all saw that coming! You know Libby, while all this was going on, a few of us were watching in the background and PMing back and forth, and I don't know if it was just me or if some of the others were doing the same thing, but I think that there was a lot of this going on:



I, for one, could not understand at all. I have never seen an AMPS or a PMPS below 50 that I can remember. Bob sure never had one. I've seen cycles where there was just a gradual decline from shot time to the next shot time, but never one that went that low. It looks like the classic "too long duration indicating a dose reduction is needed", but he did so great on the same dose for several cycles in a row. It just makes no logical sense. Thinking is was caused by the pancreas deciding to join the fun, but usually, that is more "regulated" I think. I mean, a cat won't naturally instinctively push its own body down to hypo numbers. It just had to kick in at just the right time, and then the insulin that you shot hit at the same time. Very unique cycle in the months I've been looking at spreadsheets. It is pretty common that a number will be in the "normal" range at shot time with lantus, but lantus doesn't work the same way as PZI or Prozinc. The ideal Lantus cycle doesn't look like a smiley faced Prozinc curve. It's flatter, and the nadir is what the dose is based on, not the preshot. The goal there is to keep the numbers low all the time, so they have what is referred to as "shoot low to stay low" because the insulin (once a kitty is controlled or regulated) doesn't cause dives and climbs.

Cycles like Hershey had today just "Don't happen". But yet it did and I'm kind of still trying to wrap my head around it. I'm hoping some of the others have had time to ponder this.

Carl
 
Ok, so she shoots in the middle of the night for the rest of us. What does everyone think about her AM dose. We will all be asleep when she will need advise.

Any thoughts about what to shoot next?
 
This will sound crazy, but is there a reason that she shoots in the middle of the night, or did she get on this schedule due to some long unshootable cycles?
 
Yes that is her normal shot time.

Her current scale is.

over 375 - 1 unit
350 to 374 - .9u
300 - 349 - .8u
250 to 299 - .7u
200 to 249 - .6u

This scale was increased from the original by .1u not quite a week ago.
 
I am so confused by the 30 out of nowhere. If it is the pancreas, it's hard to "account" for in a new dose.

I tend to be conservative and figure we can always increase later. Hw about reducing the scale by .2?
 
I figured that since she was able to resisted the urge to go straight to high carb and instead brought him up with regular low carb food he would slowely rise throughout the night.

This is uncharted territory, I think Carl might be right, we've seen our share of low PS's lately but none have been 30.

Taking .2u off the scale should be a good middle of the road dose without losing any momentum.
 
Sorry, was vegging out watching a movie with my daughter -

I didn't ever add anything over .8 back to the scale. We had talked about adding the .9 back, but that would've started this week and it just hasn't been that I could consistently watch him. So, what I've been using is:

350 + .8u
300 - 349 .7u
250 - 299 .6u
200 - 249 .5u

Which was the original scale (except dropping the .9u). So, it is an increase from the decrease of .1u per range, which makes it back to the original scale. Does that make sense?

And, we shoot in the middle of the night because of Doug's work schedule. We're always home 2 & 3 am & pm. Originally, Doug was doing all of the testing and shots.

And, +6 (which is actually +18) was (132) don't know if I posted that already or not.

Thanks!!!!!!
 
Jessica was going to walk Hershey, but I'm kind of afraid at this point. He is actually sleeping right now, but was awake for a considerable part of this cycle. Well, if someone was pricking my ears I'd stay awake, too! ;-)

So, are y'all thinking I need to take .2u off the scale we've been using?? Sorry, my brain is tired and I just want to make sure I'm understanding...
 
Yep that is the original scale and the concensis is to take .2u off the scale for now.

Ps: you deserve to take the night off and veg out watching a movie with your daughter.
 
At +20.5 (251) - Guess it'll be okay to walk him a little...heading to do a little of that now.

It almost doubled in less than 3 hours! WOW - what WILL the AMPS be????

Thanks, so much for helping us help Hershey - Y'ALL ROCK!!!!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Dear Libby,
no dose advice here.

I want to extend my deep sympathy to you and your family. Almost two years ago, my nephew at the age of 30 took his own life. No one saw it coming. My sister, in order to function, became cold and distant: flat voiced, no hugs given or accepted. She faced this tragedy in her own unique way, as does everyone. Quite understandable. I don't mean to worry you, but 2 days later she had a mild heart attack. She's an RN, but thought her shortness of breath was due to stress and panic. It wasn't. Also, in the coming weeks or months, your sister may benefit by joining a grief support group; perhaps, you could find one locally and keep the information handy for the time when she expresses a desire to join or you feel that she would benefit from it.

Thinking of you and your family,

Sophie
 
Would only walk 3X at +20.5. Acted like he felt okay during the hypo time, but NOW acts like he's not feeling well. He had a hard cycle, though, so I'm not going to push him to walk.

I'll update on here and start a new thread at AMPS.

Sleep well...
 
AMPS (326) - going down .2u on scale = .5u for shot

His number almost doubled +18 (132) to +20.5 (251), but 3.5 hrs later had only risen to (326) - not that I'm complaining or anything

How long should we reduce the scale by .2? Guess we need to wait and see...

Thanks, again...and goodnight...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top