C
Carl & Polly & Bob (GA)
Guest
Doug N Libby said:+16 (81)
Thanks, Guys! I'd be happy to have one of your explain what happened today... confused_cat
LOL, I think we all saw that coming! You know Libby, while all this was going on, a few of us were watching in the background and PMing back and forth, and I don't know if it was just me or if some of the others were doing the same thing, but I think that there was a lot of this going on:




I, for one, could not understand at all. I have never seen an AMPS or a PMPS below 50 that I can remember. Bob sure never had one. I've seen cycles where there was just a gradual decline from shot time to the next shot time, but never one that went that low. It looks like the classic "too long duration indicating a dose reduction is needed", but he did so great on the same dose for several cycles in a row. It just makes no logical sense. Thinking is was caused by the pancreas deciding to join the fun, but usually, that is more "regulated" I think. I mean, a cat won't naturally instinctively push its own body down to hypo numbers. It just had to kick in at just the right time, and then the insulin that you shot hit at the same time. Very unique cycle in the months I've been looking at spreadsheets. It is pretty common that a number will be in the "normal" range at shot time with lantus, but lantus doesn't work the same way as PZI or Prozinc. The ideal Lantus cycle doesn't look like a smiley faced Prozinc curve. It's flatter, and the nadir is what the dose is based on, not the preshot. The goal there is to keep the numbers low all the time, so they have what is referred to as "shoot low to stay low" because the insulin (once a kitty is controlled or regulated) doesn't cause dives and climbs.
Cycles like Hershey had today just "Don't happen". But yet it did and I'm kind of still trying to wrap my head around it. I'm hoping some of the others have had time to ponder this.
Carl