Evie 07/06 one more question before we start

Sara-Jane

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...uestion-re-starting-dose.291849/#post-3191478
hi! Just another question before Evie starts her Lantus (transitioning from Prozinc).
I know that Lantus is a depot insulin so if I lower the dose (based on lower AMPS) the first half of her cycle could still be just as regular as previous and work the same as the past doses? Then the next few cycles will be impacted by this lower dose. So here’s my question: if her AMPS is say just at 200 or around there but the previous cycle took her scary low… would it be risky to even shoot ? I find when she’s around 200 I always have to reduce her dose or she will go scary low. But this was Prozinc.. now I’m afraid what Lantus will do? I am usually around only for +3 or +4 and then I leave for work.
Thank you!
 
With lantus you want to shoot if 200. It usually won’t onset until at least +2 so you have plenty of time to prepare and avoid scary low bg. To be honest I don’t see any scary low bg on your spreadsheet. I understand greens are scary for you. While when following SLGS you reduce if under 90, with TR it’s under 50 to earn reductions. Once you see how she responds to lantus you will shoot lower and lower until you shoot if over 90. If you ever feel nervous about shooting, post and ask for help. If told to shoot the person helping will stay with you and guide you until out of the scary numbers.
 
With lantus you want to shoot if 200. It usually won’t onset until at least +2 so you have plenty of time to prepare and avoid scary low bg. To be honest I don’t see any scary low bg on your spreadsheet. I understand greens are scary for you. While when following SLGS you reduce if under 90, with TR it’s under 50 to earn reductions. Once you see how she responds to lantus you will shoot lower and lower until you shoot if over 90. If you ever feel nervous about shooting, post and ask for help. If told to shoot the person helping will stay with you and guide you until out of the scary numbers.
Ok will do thank you Greens only scare me bc I don’t work from home and can’t always be here to intervene should it come to that! But glad to have the support here thanks again!
 
Do you have an auto feeder? You can program to open at a few times while you are away. Comes in handy at night too. Pet Mate with 5 compartments is one many have.
 
Do you have an auto feeder? You can program to open at a few times while you are away. Comes in handy at night too. Pet Mate with 5 compartments is one many have.
Thx I do have one yes! She only sometimes will eat it though other days she sleeps through it and doesn’t eat it till I get home and bring her attention to it lol! I have it set for small snacks at +2, 4, 6 always
 
Back
Top