Eukanubo 3/19

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Active Member
Good morning,
I'm a bit concerned that although Euk's reading (1 hour before AMPS time) is a reasonable 327, for some reason he is not eating this morning, which is extremely unusual. He seems OK but has no interest in eating. I did leave some food out before going to bed last night and it was all gone this morning, so maybe he just ate before I got up and doesn't feel like eating, but how do I tell?. As far as dosing, should I just skip it this morning? If he eats later, should I give a token dose of 0.2 units later? He seems OK otherwise, was on my lap and purred but the not eating is not normal.
Thanks!
 
Hi HB,
There is always the chance that he ate late lats night and just isnt hungry
now, Shakes does that to me every once in a while... I wouldnt worry if it is only once
If he continues to not eat then I would worry
Can you wait a little and see if he eats before you chose not to shoot?
 
I’m with Denise, best case scenario is to try to get him to eat so you can shoot. Skipping a shot will probably allow him to board the rocket ship and go sky high for you.

But do what you can. The kitties all have a mind of their own. Anytime I leave food out overnight, sure enough Asher will eat about a half hour before test time, just so he’s nice and high, and the beans aren’t quite sure what happened :lol:
 
He's eating now, thank goodness, but it means his dose will be a bit late and it throws off the schedule, which will be a problem tomorrow because I have to leave early for work. What's the earliest I could give his dose tomorrow? 11 hours? 11.5 hours?
 
I think it goes to ECID
Shakes is sensitive to changing dose times
If you could I would go with 11.5 or do whatever you can :mrgreen:
 
Maybe you could nudge him up 15 minutes tonight and another 15 minutes tomorrow morning so you gain a half hour?

Would you say he nadirs around +6 or 7? If so I would think moving up the shot would be ok.
 
ECID +SCDD=WTF (sorry, I couldn't resist) :mrgreen:

It's hard to tell his nadir time because he seems to do something different each day, hence Same Cat Different Day. I'm somewhat nervous that I gave a regular dose (although reduced from 0.8 to 0.6) as he didn't eat all THAT much, but at least today I can stay for a couple of hours, sometimes right around 2 hours after shot, he seems to get hungry, gets up and eats, so can stay around for that.
 
I think he'll be fine with the .6u you gave him. While we want our kitties to eat when we give the shots, ProZinc doesn't demand they eat first (like the N stuff does). Moving shot times around is easier with ProZinc, too. Some cats can handle an hour earlier shot, others need less movement like 15 minutes or so. If you've not moved his shot times earlier before, I'd go with the shorter times until you know how he handles it. Giving a reduced dose when shooting earlier is also a good move when unsure how he will react. Hope this helps. :smile:

When leaving food out, and there's nothing wrong with that, we can't be sure when the kitty eats. I try to keep it in mind when testing...if he ate within the last 2 hours, how would this have effected his numbers kind of thing. When I fed Poopy twice a day, he would leave himself enough to snack on throughout the cycle. Now, feeding him every 6 hours, he still does the same. Some cats like to be able to graze, or snack, when they want. Makes it hard to know what is food related and what isn't for BGs, doesn't it? :lol:
 
+ 3 reading is up to 393, so I won't worry about hypo, looks like he has room to drop, I'll be back in a couple of hours to recheck. He (or was it Molly?) threw up some liquid in the closet sometime during the night, so I wonder if he is working up another hairball? Normally he doesn't get hairballs this often but he also was outside a couple of times this weekend, eating grass and this may have something to do with it.
 
Came home to find his dish empty. He was napping by the sun and barely noticed I was doing a test, it's 340 for a +6 readings, so it looks like we are in for a flat, pink day. At least he's not dropping, but I wish I could have witnessed the eating so I know when it was and whether it was him or Molly. I have to go back out soon but will be home later in the afternoon before his next shot, let's see how he's eating by then...
 
Hmmm, kitty is not eating. I returned home and the food looks untouched. We went out to the yard and he did munch on some grass, now we are back inside and he just won't eat. Usually he would eat from a spoon when encouraged, but he's not even doing that. I tried mixing the food with water but still, no interest. PMPS is now 358 but I'm not sure how to proceed. Skip? Token 0.2? 0.6?
I'm hoping is just a hairball or upset stomach, but if he's not better by tomorrow it's off to the vet, but even that will have to wait until the afternoon as I can't get off work tomorrow morning.
 
Well, I went ahead and gave 0.4, but I'll be watching like a hawk tonight. I made a tentative appointment with the vet early afternoon tomorrow at 1:20 PM, unless he throws up a big hairball and starts eating or gets better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top