Eukanubo 2/28

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Member Since 2010
Good (yawwwn!) morning! ~O)

Hope y'all are doing well. Kitty is about the same clinically. His AMPS this morning is 459, not great but better than yesterday. Food has been successfully withheld from both cats overnight, so I can't attribute the high reading to carb theft. He seems to be losing a little ground as he seems skinnier than a few days ago. I suspect that I may be underdosing him since I changed the syringes, I may not be doing something right (even though I think I am). I have the U100 3/10 ml 30 unit syringe with half marks, so I've been using 1 unit to shoot 0.4, 1.5 to shoot 0.6, and so on. I'm planning to shoot 0.8 units (2.0 U100) as he's never had a problem even when shooting a full unit in the morning. I feel I'm walking the high wire, not wanting to underdose but not wanting to cause a hypo.
 
Morning HB,
I was nervous with the u100 neddles at first also
Good move on upping this moring!
Wishing you both good numbers! :mrgreen:
 
You've got the conversion numbers correct. It just SEEMS confusing, but once you're there, it's easy.

I've gone as low as .2 over the past several weeks. There was absolutely no way to eyeball that on my U40 needles!

Keep up the good work!
 
Here we are at +6, just got home for a couple of hours, and he is at 201. The number itself is great, although I'm concerned about how much he dropped from his AMPS of 459. It seems like a guessing game in which I have to figure out how much of a dose to give, pray that it doesn't go down too much but enough to be a good number. It's difficult when he seems to respond differently on different days. I will have to leave for a few hours around 12:45 PM but hopefully that's when he will start coming up, and he is eating right now, but that's because I'm here. I'm less certain if he would eat if I'm not here, as he seems to refuse to eat unless I'm there. Do cats get separation anxiety? :smile:
 
Not usually about food :mrgreen: It's good any time. Didn't you say you were wondering if he had a bit of dementia? That might explain it. I had a older dog once who would cry to go outside. He'd go out, look around and come back in to pee on the carpet. My guess is that he had dementia. He was loving and sweet - just forgetful.
 
Hi HB,

That's not that steep of a drop, it's less than 60% which is about perfect. So this mornings dose was good on a bg of 459, tuck that bit of information away for a similar bg.

Have a great day.
 
+7 reading is 205, nice plateau! If it would just stay this way...

Re: dementia-I think it's possible. He seems to just stand there with a blank look, not knowing what he wants. He knows exactly where the dish is located and will sometimes run to it, sometimes I need to nudge him there, but many times he won't eat unless I'm actually spooning the food onto the dish and sometimes I need to gently push his head down. It's hard to tell because he does this off and on. He has no problems knowing when I'm opening the glass door to the backyard as he always wants to go out, he knows how to run back into the house for safety when he hears a strange noise, he knows where are the litter boxes, and he finds me when he wants to bond. So maybe he is just trying to confuse me and he may be succeeding :mrgreen:
 
Hi HB,
This caught my eye:
He seems to be losing a little ground as he seems skinnier than a few days ago.
Do you know how much he weighs? Any idea what is "ideal weight" should be?
We have to come up with some way to make your house "dry food free" so that there's no chance of him getting into the crack...
I'm trying to get a feel for how many calories a day he's getting, so can you tell me what his normal daily menu consists of? It could be that he needs some more calories?
Oh, had I been on, I would have said "good call" on this morning's dose amount.
Carl
 
PMPS is 365, not bad at all, but, should I shoot 0.6 or do I risk it to 0.8?
I've made sure the dry food has been out of reach all day, and he hasn't eaten much since noon, but is eating right now.

As far as his ideal weight, I'm not sure what that would be, I have a bathroom scale which is not all that acurrate but he seems to do his best around 11 lb ( he was up to like 16 back in his obese days years ago, but since first diagnosed in 2009, he hasn't made it any heavier than 12 lbs). I haven't weighted him because he's going through enough mandhandling as it is but he does feel a bit skinnier. When he relapsed Dec-January, it was obvious he had lost weight, and he seemed to feel heavier and couldn't feel his bones, but now I can, only not as bad as before. As far as his food intake, I would guess it's around 3 cans/d of 3 oz Fancy Feast Classic Beef and Chicken Feast, minus what gets wasted when he lets it go bad and I have to open a fresh can. When his sugar goes up very high like yesterday, he eats ravenously so I think he ate more, but today he seems to be eating normally and looks very good.

So, how much should I give this evening? I don't plan on going anywhere so I should be able to monitor.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
This caught my eye:

He seems to be losing a little ground as he seems skinnier than a few days ago.

Do you know how much he weighs?

Just weighted him (he growled and hissed but none the worse for it) and he is about 10.5 lbs (I use the "weigh both of us together then weight just myself and calculate the difference" method in my inaccurate bathroom scale).
So, his weight is about the same, that's good to know...
 
Thanks HB. Good to know the brands and flavors. You're looking at 90-95 calories per can of those flavors.

The formula I see a lot is 20-30 calories per pound of ideal weight, per day. So in his case, around 240-360. That is supposed to maintain the weight. A kitty with diabetes usually eats a bit more, but I think if you keep him at 3-4 cans per day, with no dry, he should stay in the 12 pounds range. I feed Bob around 280 a day to keep him at 14 pounds, but he's no longer on insulin. A lot of it depends on level of activity, and Bob is pretty much a sloth.

No dry at all in my house since diagnosis. My civvie, Mullet, wasn't thrilled with that, but I did it for two reasons. I didn't want to run the risk of Bob getting anywhere near it! And, after I went to catinfo.org and saw all Dr. P. had to say about dry food, I decided that in order for Mullet to enjoy his senior years, he shouldn't eat dry any more. All my cats had always eaten about 1/2 can to 3/4 can of canned a day, and then free fed on dry 24/7. I have had some kitties that developed kidney issues in their latter years, but never put two and two together. No vet ever told me that dry food was bad, and like everyone else, I went for what was convenient and didn't stink up the house. I also bought into the "it's good for their teeth" myth. I'll never have another cat that gets dry food after learning what I have learned since joining this board.
Oh, Mullet didn't like the change because he couldn't or wouldn't eat canned. I think he just wanted to be able to eat whenever the mood hit him. He's not a big fan of "you'll eat when I feed you, pal" at all :-D
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top