Bron and Sheba (GA)
Member Since 2015
Still bouncing I see. I hope you managed to get some sleep.
Yes she is. I got a little but not much. Think I'm going back for a nap.Still bouncing I see. I hope you managed to get some sleep.
Ok I will. Thank youYes and start with a +2
She hasn't eaten as much today. But I have been trying to force it.When you see a +2 that is lower than preshot, like you are seeing this morning, that is a sign of an active cycle that will need a bit more monitoring. Can you test again in a couple hours? It's great to see her out of the 300's.
How's her food intake today?
She's being a bit picky. They were giving her glycobalance at the hospital and that is what she wants now. I've been pushing the fancy feast but she won't eat much. She did eat about a half can of FF at AMPS and maybe a teaspoon at +2 I had to add a teaspoon of glycobalance to it. I guess right now if she'll eat it I will give it to her. Tried the Purina DM that they pushed, she ate some yesterday but just tries to cover it now.Also to add, with recent DKA, you want her to drink plenty of fluids so broth if it'll get her drinking, is good. She also needs to get her calories in, so whatever you can tempt her with.
Yes, she is on cerenia for 4 days. I gave her first today.Do you think she might be nauseated?
Do you have any anti nausea meds such as ondansetron or cerenia?
I boiled a chicken breast. She drank prob 5- 6 tablespoons of the broth and ate some of the chicken. I will keep doing that each day to help her get fluids in. Plus she is getting fluids from the wet foods she is eating.At this point in time with such recent DKA, feed her what she wants to eat. Quite common for cats to get tired of DM quickly, thankfully you can return the rest for a refund. You can worry about getting her on more appropriate foods when she's out of the woods on DKA. There are lots of low carb options to FF is she doesn't like it.
Good!I boiled a chicken breast. She drank prob 5- 6 tablespoons of the broth and ate some of the chicken. I will keep doing that each day to help her get fluids in. Plus she is getting fluids from the wet foods she is eating.
I forgot to enter but her ketones were negative this morning. Yay!!
Yes I can. Any specific times?Can you spot check her tonight? Normally this is a shootable number. With Lantus our dosing methods say to stay with the same dose, unless she indicates it's too much by going below a certain number, which she hasn't done yet.
She is actually doing good. She ate better today. I've been mixing some chicken broth water and she loves it. She still has the libre attached and it's reading good. Haven't got a urine today but she was neg yesterday.Checking on Kloey today, how is she?
I'd start posting a daily thread over in the Lantus forum. The thread titles are DATE - Cats Name - relevant BG data - other important. So today would be "2/25 Kloey AMPS 246, +3 232; Post Ketone Hospitalization" (I ignored +2 because flat). That last part should get more people to pop into thread to make sure everything is ok.
Oh glad to hear it!She is actually doing good. She ate better today. I've been mixing some chicken broth water and she loves it. She still has the libre attached and it's reading good. Haven't got a urine today but she was neg yesterday.
I got a bit more sleep and things are looking brighter.
I will post there, I have actually been reading up about that forum, so I kind of will know how to use it.
One question, if I have problem do I just post there and people will respond like in this forum?
Ok, Thank you for all your help.Oh glad to hear it!
Yep! Just tag it with ? Prefix, and if you can put brief reason at the end - so "2/25 yadda yadda - ? about dose" or whatever it's about