An auspicious start to the day, Beth. May the day continue in the same positive vein.
BTW here is a link to Saoirse's 2014 spreadsheet. The values are Alphatrak. It may help you and your vet to have a look at it to see the difference in how her BGs were on both Caninsulin (aka Vetsulin) and Lantus. (Feel free to email the link to your vet if you feel it might be helpful to you both.)
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1W_6vprqOticH1qB5duGq911swDj32Qw2olXPsmQS3CM/edit#gid=10
The above link should take you directly to the tab with Saoirse's numbers in US units. NB: I customised the colour coding and number ranges for Saoirse's spreadsheets to better reflect the relationship between normal blood glucose levels and Alphatrak meter readings. All of the BG values where the background is a shade of green are in the normal reference range provided to me by our vet as measured on an Alphatrak (70 - 150mg/dL US / 3.9 - 8.3mmol/L international); the darker the green, the lower in the normal range the BG level.
As you'll be able to see from the data, after the food change Saoirse's numbers improved a great deal and
very quickly. Within a week it became dangerous to give her even a tiny dose of Caninsulin (plus it was making her feel absolutely lousy). Our vet insisted that I stop insulin treatment because he thought she was in remission. I disagreed. After a very short period without any insulin Saoirse's BG levels started to deteriorate again so he agreed to give me an Rx for Lantus. I was able to continue Saoirse's treatment on the new, gentler-acting insulin. Her first OTJ trial was unsuccessful but because I was able to continue treatment safely for a little longer on the Lantus her second OTJ trial was successful.
Note that I set the hypo warning threshold on the spreadsheet to 80mg/dL (4.4mmol/L) because I much prefer to be extra-cautious. It should be noted that sometimes a big drop from a high BG level to a low BG level can trigger hypo symptoms even when a cat's BG level remains
ABOVE the nominal hypo threshold, hence my love affair with aiming for nadir BGs where there is a decent safety buffer - especially when treating with one of the harsher-acting insulins like C/V; a sputtering pancreas could decide to join the party (no way of predicting this) or the cat might vomit up its food mid-cycle and numbers could go dangerously low if there's very little in the way of wiggle room BG-wise.
An example: Saoirse's one and only symptomatic hypo occurred when she dropped from 310 PMPS down to 77mg/dL by PM+3 (see data for 13.07.14). I wanted to reduce the dose that night because she was going through the diet transition to low carbs but the vet on call that night insisted I keep her at the 3IU.

Very definitely a night for weapons-grade brown trousers. Thank the goddess for home testing and FDMB; saved her life that night. From that point onwards I trusted what Saoirse's body was telling me about her insulin needs, not a vet's instructions; granted I was also learning a great deal here at the time about how insulin works in real life cf. how a textbook says it's
supposed to work.
Hope some of the above is useful.
Mogs
.