Elmo AMPS at 162 ...stalling food

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are you going to be able to adjust your shot schedule? If it's already been 2 hours since PMPS, you're going to need to adjust the shot for a few cycles
That is true...what r ur thots, Chris...go ahead and skip ??? Or give one drop and have to adjust schedule for days ??
 
That is true...what r ur thots, Chris...go ahead and skip ??? Or give one drop and have to adjust schedule for days ??
My experience with an in-and-out insulin is that you have more flexibility in adjusting shot times. I use ProZinc and have shifted a dose in a one hour increment with no negative effect at all, eg. daylight saving time, late getting home. I think giving a dose of two drops 2 hours late can be rectified quite quickly, maybe in 2 cycles.
 
Ok Kris and Chris...I'm choosing no shoot....I will monitor BG and ketones ....any other advice???
 
When I did daylight savings I did no adjustment at all...kept to same schedule with no effect but wasn't dealing post hypo either
 
Ok Kris and Chris...I'm choosing no shoot....I will monitor BG and ketones ....any other advice???
He''ll be OK, Beth. My advice is to take some deep breaths and have a sip of something soothing, hot tea or maybe something a bit stronger? Try to get to bed a bit earlier tonight. ;)
 
He''ll be OK, Beth. My advice is to take some deep breaths and have a sip of something soothing, hot tea or maybe something a bit stronger? Try to get to bed a bit earlier tonight. ;)
Amen....one question about tomorrow morning .....do I give the 0.25 as I would have had none of this happened and what is a safe AMPS to do that ???
 
any other advice???
Yes: s-l-e-e-p!!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Do you have a timed feeder, Beth? If yes, perhaps put out some mini meals of Elmo's normal grub. The pancreas should pulse some insulin each time he eats. Could possibly help keep numbers tamped down a little till morning.

Sending prayers for all to be well.


Mogs
.
 
Aw ohhh....another last question....can I buy u100 at a Walmart or would my vet have them ??? Don't want to wait to order...
 
Amen....one question about tomorrow morning .....do I give the 0.25 as I would have had none of this happened and what is a safe AMPS to do that ???
Use Elmo's recent data as a guide, Beth, and post for help before the AM dose if you need it.


Mogs
.
 
Yes: s-l-e-e-p!!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Do you have a timed feeder, Beth? If yes, perhaps put out some mini meals of Elmo's normal grub. The pancreas should pulse some insulin each time he eats. Could possibly help keep numbers tamped down a little till morning.

Sending prayers for all to be well.


Mogs
.
Same to you Ms Mogs....its very late across the pond right now :bighug:
 
Aw ohhh....another last question....can I buy u100 at a Walmart or would my vet have them ??? Don't want to wait to order...
Your vet should have them if he/she prescribes lantus or levemir. Walmart has them too but you have to make sure they have half unit marks (same for the ones your vet sells).
 
Amen....one question about tomorrow morning .....do I give the 0.25 as I would have had none of this happened and what is a safe AMPS to do that ???
He might still be extra sensitive to insulin from the hypo so you'll have to be careful. Let's wait to see what his AMPS is.
 
Good morning! Woke up hour early and took BG after no insulin last night...his BG was 138...sure thrilled you all know what to make of this because I sure don't...will be taking official AMPS here in 30 minutes but wanted to post this heads up now...:coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
Morning, Beth! I hope that you managed to get a few hours of refreshing and restorative sleep for yourself. :bighug:

Good job grabbing that extra test just now, Beth. Elmo seems to have held in the normal range for the night. I'm really glad for you because I know how worrying this is for you; I can relate completely. :bighug:

For info, the +138 (Alphatrak) is nearing the top end of the normoglycaemic range (approx 150 on the pet meter).

Will pop back in a while to see what your AMPS is like. Go have some :coffee:!


Mogs
.
 
Kwestions:

1. Does Elmo ever start sniffing around looking for a bit of grub BEFORE +2?

2. What was the carb % of the food you gave him for brekkie?

3. What have you got in the house in the way of moderate, medium, and high carb foods? (With percentages if possible, please!)

.
 
I'm sorry I had to abandon you eventually last night - my eyes were closing and I was brewing a headache. I think that given his slowly rising BG, you might try giving a drop of insulin. You've experimented counting drops in 0.25 u and Mogs gave you another micro dose technique last night. You'll be home to monitor today.
 
Another kwestion for you, Beth:

4. Do you think you could be able to measure up a 0.25IU dose and then squeeze out a small droplet?

.
 
I let him eat/graze for up to an hour after his shot...so he essentially grazes til +1.5........carb content for brekkie is 5( a combo of Wellness and FF chunky turkey, his best favorite)...gave 1/4 ( 1 oz ish) of each...he has eaten about 1/2 of each.....food on hand ranges from 2 carb, 3,4,5, 8, 10 and 12.... just bought friskier with gravey yesterday but not sure carb content
 
I'm sorry I had to abandon you eventually last night - my eyes were closing and I was brewing a headache. I think that given his slowly rising BG, you might try giving a drop of insulin. You've experimented counting drops in 0.25 u and Mogs gave you another micro dose technique last night. You'll be home to monitor today.
And you DID NOT abandon us :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top