Eliminating dry food today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tisha's_Person

Member Since 2014
AMPS was 366. I have added Tisha's spreadsheet to my signature, and picked up all dry food in the house about 6:30 this morning. Ironically, for some reason after 3 weeks of great shots, we had 2 in a row where her fur was wet after the shot, so I probably inadvertently reduced her dose prior to switching food. I was able to get a BG number this morning on the third try. The flashlight made it SO much easier to test!! I did get 26g lancets, but couldn't find ketone strips or low carb treats last night. I will try again at some point this morning and leave Tisha home with my husband. Crossing our fingers and paws for a great day and numbers in a great range!
 
You want to transition about 20-25% different food per day to reduce GI upset (vomiting, diarrhea, or inappetance).

You may want to cut the insulin dose by half.

Be prepared in case of low numbers:
High carb gravied food like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers
Karo syrup
Oral syringe
Extra lancets and test strips
Location, directions and phone of 24 hour emergency vets nearest you.

We hope you won't need any of this. Having these if you do need them? Pricelesss.
 
Best of luck! You might be sure to get a few tests in today. Some cats change in one cycle (our cat dropped 100 points from one preshot number to the next) some take several days. You just want to be prepared if the numbers drop.
 
BJM said:
You want to transition about 20-25% different food per day to reduce GI upset (vomiting, diarrhea, or inappetance).

She's been getting the canned food for about 3 weeks now as her main meals, with dry food available for free feeding. She does not transition well, so we have taken it very slow. So we're not introducing a new food at this point - just eliminating the old one.

We went shopping for emergency supplies last night. I sincerely hope that we don't need them! :mrgreen:
 
Great!

Maybe spend a bit of time in play and grooming today. The play reduces stress and improves your bond. The grooming is like being a mom cat. I like to use a warm, damp washcloth to wipe down the cat (No, I'm not going to use my tongue, LOL!)
 
BJM said:
Maybe spend a bit of time in play and grooming today. The play reduces stress and improves your bond. The grooming is like being a mom cat. I like to use a warm, damp washcloth to wipe down the cat (No, I'm not going to use my tongue, LOL!)
Have I been doing this wrong the whole time? KIDDING....I like to spend "quality time" with Skooter doing this....it calms him and he is more snuggly :)


Skooter also did a transition from dry to wet. He was at 5u insulin BID. If you take a look at his spreadsheet starting 07-04-14, we took him down 1u at each shot time once the wet food was introduced...then starting on 07-11-14 we cut his dose in half when we eliminated ALL dry food. At least in Skooter, it amazed me how much removing even a little bit of dry food was in his overall insulin need. You may want to consider reducing his dose even a little as BJM has suggested.

Skooter is now doing WONDERFULLY and for the first time it looks like being OTJ might actually be an option for him.....
 
I found low carb treats and tried to bribe method to get her BG. Cat nap on the carpet where we tested. Everything at hand. 3 different low carb treats to try. She hissed, yowled, and squirmed through the whole process. No dice on the BG, but I'm guessing from her activity level that she's not too low. On a positive note, she LOVES the treats. She looking around for them now. (Pure Bites freeze dried chicken, Simply Nourish freeze dried shrimp, Wellness Pure Delights turkey and salmon jerky). I will try again in about 30 minutes or so.
 
You give Lantus 5-7 days on the first dose (following the Tight Regulation protocol), then 3-5 days at later doses, to evaluate the nadir (lowest points between shots). The protocol guides you on adjusting the dose.
 
I have to admit that I'm a little bit disappointed. Her PMPS number was 355. Still way too high. She is doing well with the wet food though. And some of that may be due to the fact that her shots did not go well both last night and this morning. I suppose we shall have to see how things change over the next few days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top