Randi & Effy
Member Since 2017
Hey Everyone!
Effy just started lantus Last Tuesday. Since it's the holidays, I have been crazy busy working, so I haven't been able to test in between the AMPS and PMPS as much as I'd like to.. We're still so new to the frequent home testing and the shots that he's still a little finicky when it comes to me testing him whenever I can. Anyway, one morning (you'll see on my ss) his AMPS was 33. He has not been below 234 ever, and rarely ever not in the high 300's. I was taken aback. Needless to say I fed him and didn't shoot. But I want to say he tested so low because of two things: One, the morning the day before, my alarm was not set and I woke up on my own at 8am, and hurried and gave him his shot... That night, I proceeded to stay on time with his normal pm shot at 6pm, so those shots were closer together than usual. Two, he for some reason did not normally beg for food during the middle of the night, and went from 12am t0 7am without eating. But I'm so new to this I have no idea, these are just my predictions. Anyway, with my luck, I realized that morning that I was out of test strips, go figure. I thought I had enough to last me until later on that day around 3pm when I got the new package delivered, hence why I wasn't able to test him right after he tested that low on my ss. I now have stocked up on another set of strips because I cannot let this happen again. Sorry I'm ranting. Anyway, that morning I took to the feline diabetes group on facebook for faster responses, and when I told everyone my starting dose on Lantus they all seemed to agree on it being way to high of a starting dose. We started on 12/12, at 2.5u 2x a day. His numbers really have not seemed to go down much since starting, and now I'm worried it's too much insulin. Has anyone else started out on this high of a dose? Should I call and see what my vet thinks about going lower? I haven't had a free day this week to do his curve, so I was planning on 12/23 to do his curve since it's my first day off since we started. I'm just wondering if I should go ahead and do his curve on 2.5u or if I should do his first curve on a lower dose... Could his numbers be so high still because I am feeding him around every 4 hours? He's still in that stage of being crazy hungry, but is not drinking a lot of water like he was when he was first diagnosed. But I've also noticed the past few days that he is only hungry around the early afternoon and is barely asking for food overnight like he usually does.. He successfully switched to an all wet food diet the week he was diagnosed (10/14) and has been strictly eating ff classic pate's, but he probably eats around 3 full cans a day. I know it takes a little for the insulin to start making an impact but I just feel like I should see some changes by now at least.. Any opinions on what you would do if you were in my shoes? Any and all comments are appreciated! Thanks!
Oh yeah one more question, as I feel like I keep reading conflicting things... Do I not roll and semi warm up the insulin before shooting or what? My vet tech had me tip it once or twice and then rolled it in her hands a little bit when she brought me in to originally teach me how to shoot... I am reading around online and am seeing articles telling me not to roll or mix Lantus, and to keep it a little on the cold side.. I'm confused and worried I've been doing it wrong this whole time and that's why we aren't seeing results. I am also shooting in the fatty part of his back..
Effy just started lantus Last Tuesday. Since it's the holidays, I have been crazy busy working, so I haven't been able to test in between the AMPS and PMPS as much as I'd like to.. We're still so new to the frequent home testing and the shots that he's still a little finicky when it comes to me testing him whenever I can. Anyway, one morning (you'll see on my ss) his AMPS was 33. He has not been below 234 ever, and rarely ever not in the high 300's. I was taken aback. Needless to say I fed him and didn't shoot. But I want to say he tested so low because of two things: One, the morning the day before, my alarm was not set and I woke up on my own at 8am, and hurried and gave him his shot... That night, I proceeded to stay on time with his normal pm shot at 6pm, so those shots were closer together than usual. Two, he for some reason did not normally beg for food during the middle of the night, and went from 12am t0 7am without eating. But I'm so new to this I have no idea, these are just my predictions. Anyway, with my luck, I realized that morning that I was out of test strips, go figure. I thought I had enough to last me until later on that day around 3pm when I got the new package delivered, hence why I wasn't able to test him right after he tested that low on my ss. I now have stocked up on another set of strips because I cannot let this happen again. Sorry I'm ranting. Anyway, that morning I took to the feline diabetes group on facebook for faster responses, and when I told everyone my starting dose on Lantus they all seemed to agree on it being way to high of a starting dose. We started on 12/12, at 2.5u 2x a day. His numbers really have not seemed to go down much since starting, and now I'm worried it's too much insulin. Has anyone else started out on this high of a dose? Should I call and see what my vet thinks about going lower? I haven't had a free day this week to do his curve, so I was planning on 12/23 to do his curve since it's my first day off since we started. I'm just wondering if I should go ahead and do his curve on 2.5u or if I should do his first curve on a lower dose... Could his numbers be so high still because I am feeding him around every 4 hours? He's still in that stage of being crazy hungry, but is not drinking a lot of water like he was when he was first diagnosed. But I've also noticed the past few days that he is only hungry around the early afternoon and is barely asking for food overnight like he usually does.. He successfully switched to an all wet food diet the week he was diagnosed (10/14) and has been strictly eating ff classic pate's, but he probably eats around 3 full cans a day. I know it takes a little for the insulin to start making an impact but I just feel like I should see some changes by now at least.. Any opinions on what you would do if you were in my shoes? Any and all comments are appreciated! Thanks!
Oh yeah one more question, as I feel like I keep reading conflicting things... Do I not roll and semi warm up the insulin before shooting or what? My vet tech had me tip it once or twice and then rolled it in her hands a little bit when she brought me in to originally teach me how to shoot... I am reading around online and am seeing articles telling me not to roll or mix Lantus, and to keep it a little on the cold side.. I'm confused and worried I've been doing it wrong this whole time and that's why we aren't seeing results. I am also shooting in the fatty part of his back..
I’d say 2.5 u is too high of a starting dose.