Effy, AMPS=404

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Effy

Member Since 2017
Hey Everyone!
Effy just started lantus Last Tuesday. Since it's the holidays, I have been crazy busy working, so I haven't been able to test in between the AMPS and PMPS as much as I'd like to.. We're still so new to the frequent home testing and the shots that he's still a little finicky when it comes to me testing him whenever I can. Anyway, one morning (you'll see on my ss) his AMPS was 33. He has not been below 234 ever, and rarely ever not in the high 300's. I was taken aback. Needless to say I fed him and didn't shoot. But I want to say he tested so low because of two things: One, the morning the day before, my alarm was not set and I woke up on my own at 8am, and hurried and gave him his shot... That night, I proceeded to stay on time with his normal pm shot at 6pm, so those shots were closer together than usual. Two, he for some reason did not normally beg for food during the middle of the night, and went from 12am t0 7am without eating. But I'm so new to this I have no idea, these are just my predictions. Anyway, with my luck, I realized that morning that I was out of test strips, go figure. I thought I had enough to last me until later on that day around 3pm when I got the new package delivered, hence why I wasn't able to test him right after he tested that low on my ss. I now have stocked up on another set of strips because I cannot let this happen again. Sorry I'm ranting. Anyway, that morning I took to the feline diabetes group on facebook for faster responses, and when I told everyone my starting dose on Lantus they all seemed to agree on it being way to high of a starting dose. We started on 12/12, at 2.5u 2x a day. His numbers really have not seemed to go down much since starting, and now I'm worried it's too much insulin. Has anyone else started out on this high of a dose? Should I call and see what my vet thinks about going lower? I haven't had a free day this week to do his curve, so I was planning on 12/23 to do his curve since it's my first day off since we started. I'm just wondering if I should go ahead and do his curve on 2.5u or if I should do his first curve on a lower dose... Could his numbers be so high still because I am feeding him around every 4 hours? He's still in that stage of being crazy hungry, but is not drinking a lot of water like he was when he was first diagnosed. But I've also noticed the past few days that he is only hungry around the early afternoon and is barely asking for food overnight like he usually does.. He successfully switched to an all wet food diet the week he was diagnosed (10/14) and has been strictly eating ff classic pate's, but he probably eats around 3 full cans a day. I know it takes a little for the insulin to start making an impact but I just feel like I should see some changes by now at least.. Any opinions on what you would do if you were in my shoes? Any and all comments are appreciated! Thanks!
Oh yeah one more question, as I feel like I keep reading conflicting things... Do I not roll and semi warm up the insulin before shooting or what? My vet tech had me tip it once or twice and then rolled it in her hands a little bit when she brought me in to originally teach me how to shoot... I am reading around online and am seeing articles telling me not to roll or mix Lantus, and to keep it a little on the cold side.. I'm confused and worried I've been doing it wrong this whole time and that's why we aren't seeing results. I am also shooting in the fatty part of his back..
 
My vet started me out on 2u bid and after two days called me in for a curve. He was low blues all day but black at night. Vet said to increase to 3u. I didn’t. After a couple weeks on 2u and high numbers I found this forum and dropped to 1u bid. Ten days later he was :otj: I’d say 2.5 u is too high of a starting dose.
 
Welcome Randi & Effy! Keep your Lantus *I'm assuming it's Lantus) in the fridge, but don't let it freeze. You can roll the barrel of the syringe between your fingers to warm up the dose you pull. I'm guessing you should start at 1U, but I'll let more experienced members address that. Most of us feed multiple small meals during the day. Congrats on the transition to all wet food! Just make sure not to feed him in the 2 hours before the pre=shot test.
I'd suggest you edit your title to indicate you have questions for a better response. In the upper right choose Thread Tools, Edit Title. Then choose the question mark prefix from the drop down menu on the far left. Then change your title to something like "12/22 Effy AMPS=404, new member questions."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top