Suzanne & Darcy
Very Active Member
Do you want to give some HC treats if you are going to be asleep? Do you think you can set an alarm to test him in an hour or two?
I “think” it will be okay but I don't “know” for sure. He could go down- but he’s been so flat - but if it were my cat, I know I would be testing because I doubt if I could stand the pressure.Would it be ok to wait for the +6 or should I check again at the +5...hes not to happy with the testing right now and i don't blame him but i want him safe so whatever you think is best ill do
Why is he wobbly? Is ot diabetic neuropathy? Are you giving Zobaline?
Can you give small pills to him? If so, just order some Zobaline from Life Link. It’s a combination of methylcobalamin and folic acid and very effective for diabetic neuropathy. That’s the correct form of B-12 for helping to heal the nerve fibers.Vet said it was neuropathy, it started before treatment. We were giving b12 shots with the vet (I made sure the ones for neuropathy I just don't remember what its called) but then we caught covid so he hasn't had the shot since.
Beautiful. Nice flat greens.we are at 80!!![]()
Beautiful. Nice flat greens.
I would not shoot if he’s green, no.For his PM dose, we agreed on 2.25....if he's still in the greens I don't shoot right... (I don't think he will be but I think hell be in the blues)
I would not shoot if he’s green, no.
Somone in the FB group is saying a skinny 1u which sound good..should I do that?I would not do the 2.25. His preshot isn’t far from this morning’s number
Want to try 1 unit again and see how he does?
He’s basically the same as this morning if you consider meter variance.
Your choice. I would not do only.25! He did very well today on 1 unit but many cats dip a little lower at night so .75 may be acceptable.Im getting told to do .75 or .25 cause I cant monitor as much at night with the meds I take.
Your choice. I would not do only.25! He did very well today on 1 unit but many cats dip a little lower at night so .75 may be acceptable.
Ah cross posting. On Facebook I said to do 0.25-0.75U based on ability to monitor. She follows SLGS so technically dipped a little too low today.
Yes. Listen to Melissa. She is an expert. Take her advice.Ah cross posting. On Facebook I said to do 0.25-0.75U based on ability to monitor. She follows SLGS so technically dipped a little too low today.
No worries! We technically can't give exact dose advice on Facebook, hence giving the range.I apologize for the cross-posting, I usually delete one right after one is answered first. thank you again for helping!!!
He sure did great today, but @FrostD is right- and as I mentioned earlier today - he’s technically not supposed to drop below 90 if we can help it! He was in safe numbers and had a good little surf in green, but the protocols are for their safety. You did gather some useful data today, too.im going to retest his BG at 630 (PT) and go from there...if he's rising ill do .75 if he's the same ill lower.. i feel like missing just doesn't help him and he did so good today
Yes, try to avoid a skip if you can, but safety first.im going to retest his BG at 630 (PT) and go from there...if he's rising ill do .75 if he's the same ill lower.. i feel like missing just doesn't help him and he did so good today
Yes, try to avoid a skip if you can, but safety first.
I'd be very hesitant to go back up to his full dose at this point, something is going on and he doesn't need as much insulin.
I don't think 0.25U would cut through enough and keep these nice numbers. I'd lean 0.5-0.75U, but as we say, you hold the syringe. Have to do what you're comfortable with and can manage.he's rising would .25 still be a good one...i feel that it would be safer
Did you try the Dr. Elsey’s Clean Protein food ?He is now just full zero YA..i think the Dr Elseys was keeping him super high....and Yes he's 6 am PT
Did you try the Dr. Elsey’s Clean Protein food ?
Well on 9/14 he had his first real blue streak and that is also when you noted you were working on transitioning him to YA. But I also feel like he started to show some improvement when he was bumped up to 3u, it’s just that was a huge bump from 2u so I think it maybe made him bouncy, maybe it skipped right past the ideal dose for him and was a little too high. My guess is that it is the YA but also that his pancreas is just starting to kick into action now that he is getting insulin. A week and a half ago he just started to really show that activity so he was bouncier, and now he is showing more stability.Thats what he was on in the beginning, I feel that's what was keeping him so high too which is why we switched to Zero YA
I'm hanging out for Rory's AMPS number this morning. Do you want to start a new thread and link this old one to it?