EDIT: 9/23/22: PM BG 302 Should i raise U??

Do you want to give some HC treats if you are going to be asleep? Do you think you can set an alarm to test him in an hour or two?
 
Okay good. His nadir seems to move around but anywhere from +4 to even +8 bjt he doesn’t appear to dive down a lot so that’s good.
 
Would it be ok to wait for the +6 or should I check again at the +5...hes not to happy with the testing right now and i don't blame him but i want him safe so whatever you think is best ill do
 
Would it be ok to wait for the +6 or should I check again at the +5...hes not to happy with the testing right now and i don't blame him but i want him safe so whatever you think is best ill do
I “think” it will be okay but I don't “know” for sure. He could go down- but he’s been so flat - but if it were my cat, I know I would be testing because I doubt if I could stand the pressure.
 
Ill test him again at the +5 mark, my stress app on my watch is already yelling at me to calm down so this will help both him and I but he's doing soo good....eating, drinking and back to chasing his brother around...he still has wobbly back legs so he can do it for long but watching them wrestle makes me soooo happy!!
 
Why is he wobbly? Is ot diabetic neuropathy? Are you giving Zobaline?

Vet said it was neuropathy, it started before treatment. We were giving b12 shots with the vet (I made sure the ones for neuropathy I just don't remember what its called) but then we caught covid so he hasn't had the shot since.
 
Vet said it was neuropathy, it started before treatment. We were giving b12 shots with the vet (I made sure the ones for neuropathy I just don't remember what its called) but then we caught covid so he hasn't had the shot since.
Can you give small pills to him? If so, just order some Zobaline from Life Link. It’s a combination of methylcobalamin and folic acid and very effective for diabetic neuropathy. That’s the correct form of B-12 for helping to heal the nerve fibers.
 
He’s basically the same as this morning if you consider meter variance.

Hes a bit higher which is why i was think 1 would be good but then FB monitor/expert stated to go lower to be safe as i cant monitor as closely and I'm a bit more anxious now cause what i thought was a safe shot of 1u is now being told to go lower and i really don't know what to do :(
 
If you are super anxious then skip until tomorrow. He did great today, but you really did keep track of him for a long while.
 
A lot of cats do dip a bit lower at night so if you want to go even lower or skip it will be okay. I don’t know how tired you are right now. Better be safe than adventurous.
 
im going to retest his BG at 630 (PT) and go from there...if he's rising ill do .75 if he's the same ill lower.. i feel like missing just doesn't help him and he did so good today
 
I apologize for the cross-posting, I usually delete one right after one is answered first. thank you again for helping!!!
No worries! We technically can't give exact dose advice on Facebook, hence giving the range.

But Suzanne is right, he did beautifully today on 1U. You do have the option to customize the SLGS reduction point if you'd like, my only concern would be ability to monitor since you have COVID and medications.
 
im going to retest his BG at 630 (PT) and go from there...if he's rising ill do .75 if he's the same ill lower.. i feel like missing just doesn't help him and he did so good today
He sure did great today, but @FrostD is right- and as I mentioned earlier today - he’s technically not supposed to drop below 90 if we can help it! He was in safe numbers and had a good little surf in green, but the protocols are for their safety. You did gather some useful data today, too.
 
im going to retest his BG at 630 (PT) and go from there...if he's rising ill do .75 if he's the same ill lower.. i feel like missing just doesn't help him and he did so good today
Yes, try to avoid a skip if you can, but safety first.

I'd be very hesitant to go back up to his full dose at this point, something is going on and he doesn't need as much insulin.
 
I also think we should take the lower dose and we need to think about a new dose. He seems to suddenly need less insulin. Maybe it was the complete food switch but something is going on.
 
Thats what he was on in the beginning, I feel that's what was keeping him so high too which is why we switched to Zero YA
Well on 9/14 he had his first real blue streak and that is also when you noted you were working on transitioning him to YA. But I also feel like he started to show some improvement when he was bumped up to 3u, it’s just that was a huge bump from 2u so I think it maybe made him bouncy, maybe it skipped right past the ideal dose for him and was a little too high. My guess is that it is the YA but also that his pancreas is just starting to kick into action now that he is getting insulin. A week and a half ago he just started to really show that activity so he was bouncier, and now he is showing more stability.
 
Okay. I just looked at your spreadsheet and see he had a yellow amps. After yesterday though, I doubt if I would have given a full 2.25 (even with the yellow AMPS.) He's doing surprising things with the insulin lately and I don't trust it. I know you will take good care to monitor him this morning though. If he was in green yesterday on only one unit... then I have concerns about the 2.25
 
Back
Top