Duncan - thanks for the advice all set for now

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Well, at +11 he was at 87, and then I fed him quite a bit. I would expect to see quite a rise then, and I am getting very little this morning. AMPS or now +12 is only at 110 after feeding. So, to shoot or not to shoot. He's not a bad diver or a bouncer.

He has handled two slight reductions in dose over the past handful of cycles. The food I fed him is slightly lower carb than normal... FF Beef classic is what he's been eating, and this morning he's having the Turkey Classic.

So, my plan is to test again in 15. I would like to see something over 120 for a shot...? I have shot lower than this before, but the over all curve was higher back then, and it is lower now...?

help :) (good problems to have right)

Thanks
Sara M
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Not much change even after more food. Duncan is also saying he is very stuffed. :) Like, why do you want me to eat more??

Just tested again and he is at 113...so no real change at all...
I am going to hold the dose and test again in 20-30 mins... poor pokey kitty
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Sara
PM an experienced lantus user to look at this thread snd advise. That number is going to be food boosted and in the "normal" range. Most people in Health are not that well versed in lantus.
Carl
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Ok, thanks. Just not seeing many people on any boards at all right now.

It is definitely food boosted, and it's not boosting. :)
If I feed and boost I want to see that boost. So these numbers are very normal. And his curve is lower overall than it was when we first saw the blues and greens.

So with all that food if I don't see something over 120 I might be tempted to hold it or skip it all together. Moving a dosing time like this with lantus is equal to lowering the does because of the shed. but skipping altogether means that the next time I shoot may not have much effect at all because the shed needs to be filled first again....??
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Just looked at Duncan's spreadsheet...with numbers like that I'm not sure I would shoot if that is all the higher he is rising with food on board. I would say you really have 2 choices right now...skip it completely until tonight and yeah he may be a little high tonight, or shoot a very small token dose of either .5 if you are going to be around to test and monitor him all day, or if you aren't going to be around .25u. Well okay maybe three choices, the third would be to test him in a couple hours after his meal and see if he drops back down on his own.

I'm probably not the best person to give this advice as I have two atypical diabetics...lol But Duncan's SS looks a lot like Maxwell's a couple of weeks on 1u of Lantus, during his diet change and then Boom....OTJ. If I remember correctly you just switched him off kibble right? If you did there is a very good chance that like Maxwell, a little bit of insulin and a switch in diet has him already feeling the mist of the Falls on his whiskers.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

93!!!!!!!!!!!!
An hour after a huge meal!!! and NO SHOT! :RAHCAT :thumbup dancing_cat haha_smiley cat_pet_icon

I am skipping this shot people! skipping it! And now, I am on a major testing fest over here. If that number starts to zoom I'm gonna catch it and give a token and start his 12 hours from where ever that is. How does that sound?? Any objections? More advice? What a great treat for our 2week anniversary from dx.
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Sounds like a stellar plan to me...Maybe Mr. Duncan wants to head to the Falls for Christmas.. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

My only concern is if you end up shooting really late, it's going to mess with your sleep cycle. I'd encourage you to give serious thought to weighing the pros and cons of skipping vs. shooting. We generally don't suggest shooting a reduced dose if you're stalling -- it's a double hit on the Lantus shed. (Remember, a delay is like a dose reduction.)
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

The reason I need advice is kind of because I don't know what the pros and cons of skipping v. stalling are.
Should I just skip and give him his regular dose at the next regular shot time??

What are the pros/cons of skipping v stalling and how does the shed handle all of that??
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

That is where I can't help you...Like I said earlier I have an atypical diabetic....Musette is split-dosed because she loves to dive and bounce. And even with 6 months of data on her my cut off point is still 100 anything below that and I skip her dose because I can't trust her not to decide to dive into the 30s.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Just had a thought,
What if Duncan's nadir early, but later and these low numbers at +13 +14 are carry over from the other shot and the AM shot wouldn't have even started working yet....What if his nadir is at +10 +11??? is that even possible? I just assumed that it would be close to the +4-+6 like "normal" now I'm all worried. hmmmm Well,,, things to think about... I guess I will find out what happens now and that will be in the sheet for next time right? :)
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Yep just more data to add to the spreadsheet...better a little high for the day than too low for a few minutes.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top