Dosing help for switch from ProZinc to Lantus?

Courtnee P

Member Since 2022
Hey everyone,

I'm still pretty new to this forum so forgive me for any faux pas I make or information I omit. Would someone be willing to take a look at Penny's spreadsheet and advise me as to where to start her with the Lantus? Our vet wants us to start back at 1U, but I'm reluctant to do that. She's currently at 2.75U on the ProZinc.

If there's anything we've learned, it's that Penny is an incredibly bouncy kitty. She was diagnosed in September and to say it's been a roller coaster is an understatement... we are really hoping Lantus will help us to get her numbers under control. TIA!
 
Hello and welcome over to this side. Normally we take the dose of the current insulin in mind when switching, based on what numbers it's giving you. Your spreadsheet shows she's getting 2.5 units, not 2.75 units? You could take 0.25 units off the dose to start if you want a little margin, in case she decides she really likes Lantus to start. Especially since there has been green in there at 2.5 units. You definitely wouldn't go back to 1.0 units.
 
@Wendy&Neko Hello, wondering if I can get some quick input tonight before giving Penny her insulin. We upped her dose to 2.5U last night, and just now tested 136 for her PMPS, about 200 lower than her typical preshots. Vet is saying to dose 1.5U for tonight, but the SLGS portion on the sticky says not to give insulin. Not sure what I should do here?
 
Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes your cat and you dint have any curves or spot checks the last few days to know that. I suspect Penny has been bouncing. Her bg is much lower than ever before at pmps. I suspect a bounce has cleared. Have you fed her? If not get another bg to see if it’s going up. If you fed her I would skip.
 
Do you mind putting SLGS in your signature, so we know that's the dosing method you've decided to follow. Our suggestions would differ for people following Tight Regulation. A couple other housekeeping things. I see a couple spots on the spreadsheet where there is no dosing information. Since Lantus is a depot style insulin, we need to know back in history for a few cycles what dose has been given. If you skipped or missed the shot, put either "skip" or "NS" for no shot in the units cell.

And when you look at the SLGS section of the dosing sticky, you'll note that there's a second part of the shooting lower numbers section that starts "with experience". Eventually, once you've got some more data to tell you how Penny is doing on the doses, you'll be able to shoot lower numbers.
 
Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes your cat and you dint have any curves or spot checks the last few days to know that. I suspect Penny has been bouncing. Her bg is much lower than ever before at pmps. I suspect a bounce has cleared. Have you fed her? If not get another bg to see if it’s going up. If you fed her I would skip.
We went ahead and gave her 1.5U per the vet and will check her at +6. Just now she was 138 at +3. I figured the low preshot number was due to the .5 increase.
 
Do you mind putting SLGS in your signature, so we know that's the dosing method you've decided to follow. Our suggestions would differ for people following Tight Regulation. A couple other housekeeping things. I see a couple spots on the spreadsheet where there is no dosing information. Since Lantus is a depot style insulin, we need to know back in history for a few cycles what dose has been given. If you skipped or missed the shot, put either "skip" or "NS" for no shot in the units cell.

And when you look at the SLGS section of the dosing sticky, you'll note that there's a second part of the shooting lower numbers section that starts "with experience". Eventually, once you've got some more data to tell you how Penny is doing on the doses, you'll be able to shoot lower numbers.

Those missing numbers were all the same dose, 2. I just forgot to input it. Will fix my signature in the morning. Thanks!
 
That’s fine. If there isn’t a bounce the first half of the cycle he could go a lot lower as the depot will be in play. She’s flat. That’s good.
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko Can someone take a look at Penny's numbers and advise on what you think has been happening the past few days? I think I might need to decrease to 2.25U but I'm not sure. I will not be able to do a curve until next weekend. Does this warrant starting a new thread? Not sure if I should follow up with dosing questions on this same thread in the future. TIA
 
Back
Top