That’s what I was thinking. I hate for her to be so high but she’s still got the anesthesia in her system so I guess she’s not predictable at this point.Sorry I can't offer advice, I'm not sure what the protocol would be for limited food, unless they recommend half dose? You don't want to be too off schedule though so maybe skipping?
How do you check for ketones? I would have to follow her around all day to see when she pees? Many years ago there was a way to check blood for ketones but I don’t think it was very reliable.Yeah perhaps the safe thing is to skip. Check for ketones to be on the safe side!
Glad her dental went well!
The 434 PMPS was as soon as we got home. The +11 was when we left this morning. They said her BG there was 404 but of course I don’t know how that was measured. She ate 1/2 can of FF and I can tell she wants more. Was wondering about letting her eat more after the anesthesia? At this point she seems fine other. She’s been to the water bowl several times. Now we are almost 3 hours late though.There are blood ketones meters, that people use and are reliable.
Some anaethesia induction drugs lower the BG some don't. If you had gotten a test when she got home, then another at preshot, you'd have an idea if she was dropping. Of course you could test again now and see the same effect. With no extractions, as long as she's willing to eat, there shouldn't be a problem with at least a half dose.
Today isn't a bounce, it's a lack of insulin plus probably some stress. Would be nice to bring her down a little.
As for limiting food, give small amounts at once and spread out over time. Anesthesia drugs can also impact the GI system.
We didn’t get home till an hour after normal shot time, which is the PMPS.There are blood ketones meters, that people use and are reliable.
Some anaethesia induction drugs lower the BG some don't. If you had gotten a test when she got home, then another at preshot, you'd have an idea if she was dropping. Of course you could test again now and see the same effect. With no extractions, as long as she's willing to eat, there shouldn't be a problem with at least a half dose.
Today isn't a bounce, it's a lack of insulin plus probably some stress. Would be nice to bring her down a little.
As for limiting food, give small amounts at once and spread out over time. Anesthesia drugs can also impact the GI system.