Dosing for vacation tomorrow

Lisa and little

Member Since 2018
hi all. Little has been on 4 consecutive cycles of 1U. I plan to go ahead with 1U again tonight and again tomorrow AM then I am gone for 12 cycles. Assuming everything stays status quo on my next 2 cycles which I will monitor, do you think it’s safe/wise to keep her at 1U in my absence or reduce? I’m a bit nervous as she needed a reduction from fat2/2 to 1U in an instant when she went lime. Concerned that could happen again while I’m gone. Also wondering what you all think about today’s numbers particularly the jump form +8 to +10 where her BG doubled in 2 hrs... (150 to 319) could that be a bounce from her being blue and not really used to it?
 
Hmmm....I think 1 unit would probably be safe. Your pet sitter doesn't test, right? Looks like she is hanging out in fairly safe numbers...but if you're nervous, you could reduce to 0.75. That'd be lower and might make you feel more comfortable with being away. Why don't we wait and see what happens the next 2 cycles and make a final decision then, but I think 1 would be fine.

As for that jump to the pink, it does look like a bounce to me. Be interesting to see where she is at PMPS!
 
I agree with Rachel. Looks like 1u should be fine but I'd wait for the next couple of cycles before making a final decision.
 
Pmps was 399. Gave the 1u and will get +3 and probably a +5 tonight. I know final decision will be based on tomorrow. Just wondering why a bounce at 150. She’s been there before. Lol Her reactions have been so sporadic lately but I guess I should be happy she’s responding to less insulin. It’s just her timing... it’s like she knows!! I did show my sitter how to test but I don’t think he will be successful. We tried with me watching to no avail. He’s extremely nervous so even if he does try I imagine the testing will be sporadic.
 
Lisa usually there is no rhyme or reason behind bounces. Little hasn't been staying in lower numbers for long periods so while she's been at 150 before and lower, she still isn't used to it and thus the bounce. Bounces are one of those things we have no control over that lead to a lot of frustration for us human control freaks. Little will stop bouncing when she stops bouncing and nothing you do or don't do is likely to have any effect on it.

Fingers crossed your sitter is able to get some tests in your absence but even if he can't, as long as you are dosing conservatively, Little will be safe.
 
+3 is 314. As it sits right now would you stay with a true1U or reduce to a skinny 1 assuming testing will probably not occur and if it does it won’t be consistent?
 
As everyone else has said, see what happens in the morning, but at this point, I don't see anything that makes me worry about staying with 1u while you're gone.

A couple of things for the sitter:
- I would make sure the sitter knows exactly where the plunger sits for 1u since different people interpret that differently, and at lower doses like this, a smidge different can matter.
- Have the sitter monitor how much Little eats while you're gone. If she is eating less than normal, the sitter might need to skinny the dose a little. But the opposite is true as well -- if she is eating ravenously and licking the plate clean (unless that is normal for Little), that could also be a sign that something is going on.
- Encourage the sitter to try a test or two while you're gone. Maybe offer a bribe ;) Bottle of wine? T-shirt from your travel location? (haha)

Have a good trip! We'll miss you!!!
 
Well tonight’s numbers stink!!! Bounce from this afternoon or just bad numbers? Sitter he is willing to test he just doesn’t get blood before little dashes away because he’s too nervous. I WISH I could solve this one with a bottle of wine... or a t shirt for that matter. Lol
As for the plunger ... been thinking about that, hence the quandary to reduce a hair or not. This is all so scary. You’ll miss me? @Djamila C ‘mon you guys should be happy to get a break!!!:joyful:
 
Have a good time while you're away! Little will be fine...
His numbers were a little high through the night, but better high than low.
I'll be doing the same at the end of June - going away for two nights for my nephew's wedding and Jack's caregiver can shoot, but not test. I can feel your pain, but it seems like he's in good hands. You said that your sitter CAN test, but he can't get blood. But it's good to know that if he really feels the need, he knows how and is able to poke him.
 
It just makes me sad. Numbers were high and flat today before I left but in light of the limes last week I cannot raise her while I’m gone without tests. And yes while my sitter is willing to test, when I say he can’t get blood I mean all he gets is covered in hair and before he can even poke she darts... lol. I know it’s sitters nerves. It took me months to be able to test confidently. Now I can hold the phone with one hand and test with the other. Amazing!!
 
It just makes me sad. Numbers were high and flat today before I left but in light of the limes last week I cannot raise her while I’m gone without tests. And yes while my sitter is willing to test, when I say he can’t get blood I mean all he gets is covered in hair and before he can even poke she darts... lol. I know it’s sitters nerves. It took me months to be able to test confidently.
I do understand why you're sad, because this can be frustrating! I'm so new to this--it's only been 4 weeks since my first successful ear poke and insulin shot--but I can already see that there's no rhyme or reason to his numbers sometimes. And as far as your sitter NOT being able to poke him while she runs away... I can't even think about my cat sitter poking Jack. I'm afraid that if it's a bad experience for Jack he'll be afraid for me to do it when I come back. So I get that too.
 
Back
Top