Dosing for Lovey for Tomorrow after low blue numbers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Lovey has been on Lantus for days after 3 months on ProInc.

I was happy and surprised to see blue numbers today.
This is my second cycle of 1.75 after 6 cycles of 1.5. The drop from preshot to +4 was 266 points. Is that too much? I imagine
I will get a AMPS in the 200's. Should this be taken into consideration. will 1.75 bring the numbers to low is I am starting with a much lower preshot. Does lantus work that way? Tomorrow would be my third cycle of 1.75 so could it be more potent? I love these numbers, but I will be at work tomorrow. On 1.5 for 6 cycles, I got nadirs in the 200's and half of cycle in the 300's. Maybe, the insulin depot is more filled now?Any suggestions? I usually give the insulin at 6:30 in the morning. I better get to bed.

If I go back to 1.5, do I need to hold it for at least 6 cycles?


PMPS 368

+4 .25 102 food given at 4 hours


+5.5 135 gave more food at 5 since I couldn't get another reading right away.


+ 8 (almost) 162








Thank you Chris and Sienne.

I am still a bit sloppy with the ear testing. I tried to get my 30 minute test but after 3 pokes Lovey was hissing up a storm. I fed a few teaspoons of Weruva Funk in the Trunk. I did then get a test in at 5 hours and 30 minutes and Lovey's BG was 135.

It is funny I usually only give Lovey about three teaspoons at +3 or +4. Today I mistakenly gave her more.



OLd
Hi, this is Lovey's second cycle of a new dose of 1.75. I just changed to Lantus from ProZinc a week ago.


I haven't had a 102 since July. I use alpha track so your 50 is equivalent to my 80. Lovey had a nadir at +5 two times but I have no idea were it is tonight.

Lovey just ate her Low carb food about 15 minutes ago so I am not sure if the 102 is part food spike or not yet.

Any advice for me?

when should I retest and how often?

I have to work tomorrow. Should I drop down the dose to 1.50 for tomorrow while I am at work since this is only the 2nd cycle. If I have a low number at preamp. What is a good no shot or reduced shoot for someone new to Lantus. Maybe I am getting ahead of myself
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

I would test again in 30 minutes. If it is still 102 or lower, feed another couple of tsps of low carb food. 102 is still okay, but since you have to work tomorrow and I'm assuming get some sleep before then, you can help avoid lower numbers tonight by feeding.
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

Hi Carl, thanks for the quick reply.

I will check again in 30 minutes.

I can stay up and check. I don't want her going to low but I am happy to see a low number.

do you think I should reduce dose for tomorrow while I am at work?
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

Best to see where Lovey is later in the cycle before making a decision on tomorrow. I think I would have probably held the 1.5 dose a day longer instead of going up to 1.75 after only 6 doses, but I understand why you did and it's within the protocol.

You need to stick with the same dose for at least 6 cycles, so if you're uncomfortable with shooting 1.75 while you're working, you might want to go back to 1.5 until you have more data as to how Lovey is going to react, both with insulin and food. (but again, lets see how she does with it tonight)

Earlier today's condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105403

Catherine, we generally only post one condo per day. You can always go back and edit your original one's subject line and add the ? icon if you add a question to the daily condo. It just makes it easier for us to keep track of everything you've done through the day :-D
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

Catherine,
I agree with Chris. Tomorrow is a long way away (even if it isn't in hours). I've asked Chris to keep an eye out for your updates. I have to get up at 4:30am for work, although I'd rather skip that and just hang out here tonight! Chris has "done this" a few times, so you're in good hands.
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

Thanks again Carl. Have a good night. You will be up in no time.
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

In case you want to print out the instructions regarding handling low numbers, they are in this link. Please post your next test data and include it in your subject line.
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

Thank you Chris and Sienne.

I am still a bit sloppy with the ear testing. I tried to get my 30 minute test but after 3 pokes Lovey was hissing up a storm. I fed a few teaspoons of Weruva Funk in the Trunk. I did then get a test in at 5 hours and 30 minutes and Lovey's BG was 135.

It is funny I usually only give Lovey about three teaspoons at +3 or +4. Today I mistakenly gave her more.
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

As much as she came down, it probably wasn't a bad idea to give her a little more food anyway. You can "steer" her numbers with food to keep her from going too much further down

Now you'd want to not feed her any more and make sure she stays up without any more. It looks like her nadir is usually about +5 so if you can get a couple of tests over the next few hours that are coming up, you'll be good to go
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

Thanks so much Chris for all your help. I didn't realize that you had some late nights and drama of your own with some low greens. You are probably exhausted.
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25? Need some help?

yeah, it's been a stressful week, but China's doing great tonight. I just hope she holds the reduction. She's failed several times before, and this time she got 2 reductions almost back to back.

I love to see her in green, but a SAFE green...not quite as low as a 22

I guess being an insomniac is good for something :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25 +5.5 135

her spreadsheet looks beautiful with so many green numbers. due to your all your vigilance and testing, she looks like she is doing really well.

I will pray that she hold this reduction. Thanks again for your help
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25 +5.5 135

I'm just happy beyond belief at how much better she looks and acts! I went from having a cat that looked just awful..terribly skinny, dull and unkempt coat and drinking and peeing a LOT of water. I was thinking she was just suffering from "old cat", but she looks a good 8 years younger than her 12yrs now that she's better controlled.

Even the vet was a little astonished that she looked as good as she did after only 2 months. (of course he was totally shocked at how little her doses were)

And she's also acting like a much younger cat :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25 +5.5 135

That's amazing and encouraging. She has responded so well to on the insulin in a short period of time with only a low dose. She is probably
on her way to being diet controlled.
 
Re: Lovey just got a 102 at +4.25 +5.5 135

Catherine, if you have to go to work tomorrow, you might want to leave some extra food out for Lovie. Most of the time, when their blood glucose starts to go too low, they get hungry, so leaving some food out will help

If you add a little extra water to it, it'll stay fresher, or you can make catsicles by adding some water and then putting it into ice cube trays to freeze. You can then leave a catsicle or two out and as it defrosts, it'll be a bit fresher than if you left food out

The other option is to buy an automatic feeder that you can set to open and offer food while you're at work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top