? Dosing Advise For Tonight Please - Big George

Hey! I’m not able to give dosing advice on this - but do you want to use the dropdown menu to put a “?” on your title and put (dosing advice) in the title? That way the moderators / mentors will know to prioritize your condo for responses. I’ll keep an eye out and bump the thread too throughout the day if no one responds.
 
Hey! I’m not able to give dosing advice on this - but do you want to use the dropdown menu to put a “?” on your title and put (dosing advice) in the title? That way the moderators / mentors will know to prioritize your condo for responses. I’ll keep an eye out and bump the thread too throughout the day if no one responds.
Thank you! 😊 Sorry still new to this!
 
So we dropped to 87@+6 from shot (at 10am due to stalling and was hoping to be back on a 7/7 schedule)! I read that I need to lower his dose by .25 and probably should have done that this morning due to the lower PS number! I think that this is enough but would like some guidance on if this is the correct thing to do! So instead of 2.5u, give 2.25u or should I go down to 2u?

He ate this morning but not as much as usual and has snacked every time I’ve tested so I’m sure that has influenced his numbers! His ketones were .2!

Just nervous for Monday as it will be my first day away and he’s not a very active cat in general and currently in my small bathroom so mostly just sleeping! I did read that if they go lower they will seek food so I try to keep him something to snack on up to two hours before PS! Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
 
So we dropped to 87@+6 from shot (at 10am due to stalling and was hoping to be back on a 7/7 schedule)! I read that I need to lower his dose by .25 and probably should have done that this morning due to the lower PS number! I think that this is enough but would like some guidance on if this is the correct thing to do! So instead of 2.5u, give 2.25u or should I go down to 2u?

He ate this morning but not as much as usual and has snacked every time I’ve tested so I’m sure that has influenced his numbers! His ketones were .2!

Just nervous for Monday as it will be my first day away and he’s not a very active cat in general and currently in my small bathroom so mostly just sleeping! I did read that if they go lower they will seek food so I try to keep him something to snack on up to two hours before PS! Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
No. You did great this morning to shoot the 2.5 units!
 
Since he is quite new to insulin and newly-diagnosed, you should reduce the dose by .25 units for tonight. This is NOT because his green number today was dangerous but because he is new and is still following SLGS protocol for now.
 
Regarding your nervousness about Monday, do you have an automated feeder to dispense snacks for him at certain points in the first half of the cycle? If he’s going to be alone a lot it would be a good idea. If not, leave some low carb wet food for him to snack on (best we can do.) How many hours into the cycle will it be when you come home?
 
He ate this morning but not as much as usual and has snacked every time I’ve tested so I’m sure that has influenced his numbers! His ketones were .2!
I feel good about those low ketones. Thank you for testing. That gives me confidence that we will not harm him with the .25 unit reduction down to 2.25 units. You are doing great!!
 
New dose going forward is 2.25 units, okay?
Yes, I will change to 2.25u going forward!

I’m about to test again and if his numbers are okay now (+10) and then above 200 at 9, which would be +11, could I shoot at +11 or should I just stay at +12 because of the green today?
 
Regarding your nervousness about Monday, do you have an automated feeder to dispense snacks for him at certain points in the first half of the cycle? If he’s going to be alone a lot it would be a good idea. If not, leave some low carb wet food for him to snack on (best we can do.) How many hours into the cycle will it be when you come home?
I don’t have an automatic feeder yet! I will be gone all day since I have to go back to work in the office! I wanted to be back to a 7/7 schedule but we are currently on a 10/10 schedule since I didn’t pick up food in time one time and then his numbers had been lower than I felt comfortable shooting early so I just waited! I can maybe try to see if for this week I could switch my days in the office. My Mom is going to stop by and check on him most days but it won’t be until +5.5/+6 (on a 7/7) schedule!
 
Yes, I will change to 2.25u going forward!

I’m about to test again and if his numbers are okay now (+10) and then above 200 at 9, which would be +11, could I shoot at +11 or should I just stay at +12 because of the green today?
I would move his shot by 30 minutes today and 30 minutes tomorrow— to get back on schedule. We usually recommend no more than 30 minutes per day, but there are exceptions and if the numbers are really high we can do a little more at times.
 
I don’t have an automatic feeder yet! I will be gone all day since I have to go back to work in the office! I wanted to be back to a 7/7 schedule but we are currently on a 10/10 schedule since I didn’t pick up food in time one time and then his numbers had been lower than I felt comfortable shooting early so I just waited! I can maybe try to see if for this week I could switch my days in the office. My Mom is going to stop by and check on him most days but it won’t be until +5.5/+6 (on a 7/7) schedule!
Can she get a BG test when she comes to check on him? That would be the most helpful information.
 
hey there! Big George’s AMPS is 201 and ketones .2! Do I need to continue with the 2.5u?
@Marje and Gracie
@Suzanne & Darcy
Sorry to just get to you. Saturday is one of my 🐘 days and I’m gone all day long.

Because we would suggest all new PZ members start with Start Low Go Slow, you would decrease his dose to 2.25u since he dropped below 90.

As long as his ketones remain so low, we can just follow SLGS as written. It’s great he’s gotten some green!

How about reading the dosing methods and letting me know if you have any questions. Just tag me.

Edited to add: you are posting in two separate threads so I’ll move today’s posts to the other one. Please just post in one thread at a time. Thank you.
 
Sorry to just get to you. Saturday is one of my 🐘 days and I’m gone all day long.

Because we would suggest all new PZ members start with Start Low Go Slow, you would decrease his dose to 2.25u since he dropped below 90.

As long as his ketones remain so low, we can just follow SLGS as written. It’s great he’s gotten some green!

How about reading the dosing methods and letting me know if you have any questions. Just tag me.

Edited to add: you are posting in two separate threads so I’ll move today’s posts to the other one. Please just post in one thread at a time. Thank you.
thank you for moving and will do!

I will just dose the 2.25 after I test and feed!
 
I took an early PMPS number and it was 186! I will check here again in around 10 minutes but do I still hold the 2.25u with the lower than normal PS number…or okay, if it continues to rise and gets over 200?
 
I think the excess stalling was not necessary and you could have shot the full dose. You could also try giving 10 percent carb food for dinner (still LC). One thing to note is that his BG was quite stable with the first two tests. He was not dropping. Also, notice how his BG was rising since his nadir earlier that day. So it would have been okay to shoot as long as you could monitor the cycle for a bit (like you already did 🙂) still, no worries and no harm done with the stalling (except maybe to your schedule 🤪

I hope today is going all right and your mom has checked up on him.
 
I think the excess stalling was not necessary and you could have shot the full dose. You could also try giving 10 percent carb food for dinner (still LC). One thing to note is that his BG was quite stable with the first two tests. He was not dropping. Also, notice how his BG was rising since his nadir earlier that day. So it would have been okay to shoot as long as you could monitor the cycle for a bit (like you already did 🙂) still, no worries and no harm done with the stalling (except maybe to your schedule 🤪

I hope today is going all right and your mom has checked up on him.
Thank you! He did well yesterday and Mom was able to check twice!

Today is different! He had a lower number this morning and I gave to 2.25u and just tested and he is 63@+3 so I gave him some HC food! I am working from home today and will retest in 15 min!
 
Congratulations! He has earned a reduction! Progress!

Usually it’s not recommended to use HC unless BG has dropped below 50. Generally, a little LC will help them surf in green (up to 10 percent carbs). Or, since he was low fairly early in the cycle some MC (11-15 percent) might be a good choice. Either way, you want to test in no more than 30 minutes because it’s early in the cycle. Then if you find he isn’t stabilizing, you can move to higher carb. What are you isolate for HC?

New dose going forward is 2 units. How are ketones? They should be low.
 
Oh goodness! I thought it was HC if it was below 65 and will add that to my notes! I just gave him 3/4 can (did not realize I gave that much) FF gravy lovers chicken feast in gravy (so I guess top side of MC)!

I need to get some LC 10% since I don’t current have that but made a list last night of options to get!

I wish I would have realized that before feeding MC/HC!

Ketones were .01! Thank you so much!

I also think the gravy lowers may be the highest carbs I have but I have Karo and honey
 
Oh goodness! I thought it was HC if it was below 65 and will add that to my notes! I just gave him 3/4 can (did not realize I gave that much) FF gravy lovers chicken feast in gravy (so I guess top side of MC)!

I need to get some LC 10% since I don’t current have that but made a list last night of options to get!

I wish I would have realized that before feeding MC/HC!

Ketones were .01! Thank you so much!

I also think the gravy lowers may be the highest carbs I have but I have Karo and honey
Since you are using the ReliOn human meter, we typically save HC for numbers under 50. If you were using an Alpha Trak meter it would be under 68.

Also, remember when you are managing lower numbers, you want to feed small amounts of food. A teaspoon of HC at a time will help support/raise BG. The reason is that you need to keep him eating/hungry because you may be managing low BG for several hours. Once he is full and won’t eat anymore, your job becomes much harder and your options are limited to karo if he won’t eat food.

You can also make a kind of medium carb by mixing LC and HC.
 
Since you are using the ReliOn human meter, we typically save HC for numbers under 50. If you were using an Alpha Trak meter it would be under 68.

Also, remember when you are managing lower numbers, you want to feed small amounts of food. A teaspoon of HC at a time will help support/raise BG. The reason is that you need to keep him eating/hungry because you may be managing low BG for several hours. Once he is full and won’t eat anymore, your job becomes much harder and your options are limited to karo if he won’t eat food.

You can also make a kind of medium carb by mixing LC and HC.
Thank you for all of your helpful responses!
 
Okay to keep at the 2u
I kept at the 2u after going back and reading! Was the 505 just due to the after effects of HC earlier today? I feel terrible, if so, but now know! I just thought it was going to be like that first night last week when I brought him home! Just hope I didn’t jeopardize the progress he’s made! Ketones tonight are .2!
 
Hey there! I’m about 1.5 hours away from PM shot! Big George’s numbers are rising and since he dropped below 90 I was going to reduce the dose by another .25 to be at 1.5! His AMPS number was lower this morning and then went down but I think it had been sometime since he had eaten so I went ahead with the 1.75 reduction since he dropped below 90 overnight! Is the 1.5 what I need to do if he is above 200 at PMPS? Ketones were LO this morning and his SS should be updated! Any guidance is appreciated!
 
Back
Top